We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like visiting family members!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Notten's Bush Camp
Save
You added Notten's Bush Camp to your Saves list
622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just like visiting family members!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I do no need to reiterate what all people said about the quality of the stay, food, staff, safari, what's not to like? But for us, the history of the place, 3rd generation bushman! (You can see the picture on the wall of the main living room/bar), and the kindness of the Notten's who invited us to watch Rugby at their home, makes it unforgettable. You do not have many places in the world where you feel that you visited old family friends, but this place for sure will give you the same feeling, because the Notten's are treating their guests as family! Some may say much better than family :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
162
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Velsen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our first trip to South-Africa. We visited many places, from Capetow to Port Elizabeth, from Jo'burg to Krugerpark, but our stay in Notten's bush camp was unforgetable. Game drives, appartment, food and staff, all were of great quality. We hardly could leave, but we had to....We were realy spoiled. The atmosphere was intimate and friendly and very very cooperative.
We have planned to go back next year.
Kika and Jaap
The Netherlands

Room Tip: All appartments were situated on a good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived at a local airstrip to be picked up by one of Nottens friendly guides for the forty minute drive to the camp where we were warmly greeted and offered refreshing drinks. We arrived early afternoon and were shown to our suite and told that High Tea would be served at 2:45pm prior to the departure of our afternoon game drive. We were expecting a light snack but what appeared in front of us was merely a taste of things to come. A wide range of cheeses,meats,pastries salad and many other things all very tasty and extremely well presented. The game drive was incredible as were all game drives we did during our two night stay. The guide and tracker were brilliant. Dale the manager made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. On the second night we were treated to a fantastic dinner of steak cooked by the owner David. Now that's what I call personal service. Everything about Nottens is five star and we had a very relaxing stay despite the early starts for the morning game drives. We would return to Nottens without a second thought if the chance presented itself again. Thanks to everyone especially all the hardworking staff who are always smiling and happy to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had no idea what to expect and we were more than pleasantly surprised. The staff was so friendly and helpful from the moment you arrive till you leave. I really can’t explain how nice everyone was. The lodges themselves are great! Every night they do an incredible job of lighting the camp with candles (as there is no electric light). It really is something you should experience.

The meals are great and so much fun chatting with fellow travelers. Always a lot of great food and they were very accommodating to my vegetarian wife. The guides are so much fun and make every moment enjoyable. We saw more animals than we could have hoped for. Definitely do the bush walk at least one day! Can’t recommend this place enough! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are seasoned travelers who prefer the smaller more personal experiences wherever we go.
Nottens was recommended to us by an airline work colleague and we thank him.
From the moment we arrived at Nottens Bush Camp, our experience was just amazing.
If you can combine an amazing safari experience, five star accommodation not to mention the dining experiences, and lounging by the pool with a book and beer, you have the perfect holiday.

This is a family run Bush Camp (don't be fooled by the name) with generations of staff working there....a true testament to a great place.

There was a powerpoint in your room to charge your phones and camera batteries, a hot spot in the office to get your mail and we found the experience of the candlelight and lanterns in keeping with the ambience needed to attract the passing by of the animals.

I have never given anywhere more than 12 out of 10 in our 40 years of travel but I give Nottens 15/10.
We were lucky we had perfect weather, great mix of people and we got so see the big 5 and 4/5 of the ugly 5.

There were always a few little surprises for the guests along the way which made the experience even more special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon as a first safari trip for both of us. This was the first of two safari lodges we stayed in, and Nottens was my lodge of the two. Every meal here was absolutely delicious and all of the staff and other guests were so friendly and helpful. It felt like we were just a part of a big family. The first morning one of the guests realized we didn't have any hats or gloves and lent us spares that she had packed! (We didn't realize just how cold it would be driving around in an open top car at 6:30 in the morning on a winter's day in July. We bought our own hats at the gift shop later that day.) I realized by the second morning that Thomas had figured out exactly how I liked my tea, so he knew automatically how much sugar and milk to add for me. Its these little details that make your trip feel so special.

On the second night, we drove into this open Savannah kind of area when our guide, Thomas, pointed out, "Look, there's a dead lion over there!" Sure enough, we looked to the right of the car, and there was this dead lion sprawled out on its back. Of course, the other girl in the car and I were really upset, wondering what killed these two healthy looking lions and why we drove over to see this sight. And then Thomas pointed out that there was another dead lion on the other side of the car. The other girl and I were on the verge of tears when we saw the tail of one lion flip from one side to the other! We started yelling like we just witnessed a miracle as Thomas just cracked up laughing. Apparently the lions were just sleeping after a big meal, and the guide didn't expect us to be so gullible. We had a good time laughing at ourselves. On that same drive, our tracker and guide spotted a leopard eating a steenbok in a tree! A hyena took a little nap right in front of our vehicle while waiting for the leopard to drop remnants onto the ground. It was just an amazing experience.

FYI, if you're traveling in the wintertime, be sure to pack a ton of layers (think skiing or hiking kind of layers). When the lows are 40 degrees, it doesn't sound cold, but you're sitting on top of an open-top vehicle driving about 30-40 MPH, and its COLD early in the morning/late at night. Of course, the days increase up so that you can run around in short sleeves, so layers are a must. If going in the wintertime, be sure to ask for a hot water bottle before you go to bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht/ the Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

'A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance' implicates there's no place where you can read a book, you'll have your shower with candlelight. You should really know this before going to Notten's where they have passioned and dedicated staff and the best breakfast of our trip; the drives are exciting and exteremely pleasantly run by Mr. T and Gideon. It's simply a pleasure to be at Notten's, but there's one more observation: if the conditions are "right" you'll have all the beetles of the jungle around and in (sometimes) your food; if you bother you may consider another camp where they eat in a more protected room.
If you have 187 excellent reviews out of 201 (today) you probably change nothing; but Notten's management (David) should re-think their proposition, we think.
Peter van Minderhout

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Address: 622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notten's Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.