We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing lodge I've ever been!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Save
You added Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge to your Saves list
Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most amazing lodge I've ever been!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Blends nature with a modern concept.The Lodge is completely breathtaking!
Amazing staff, perfect food,it is just perfect!
Suites with outside pool are gorgeous! Half ostrich shell bathtub was a nature/sophistication touch.
When you wake-up with an elephant in front of your window you say:"life is perfect"! This place doesn't exist.
We had the most amazing massage ever!

Room Tip: Don't stay too far from the main building, Games start early in the morning and you may be the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
77
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bereguardo, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

wonderful stay, wonderful place.
Ah, staff was extremely nice and the food was fantastic. But the most important fact is that the place is really wonderful. I've never been in a place like this one before.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I almost cannot put into words how completely perfect a stay at Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge is. I was brought to tears on several occasions during our stay, just from the sheer emotion of trying to describe/explain how magnificent the experience was. (Yes, I know how extreme that sounds ... and trust me, I surprised MYSELF with my tears)

The Lodge is completely breathtaking. Literally. Every view, every vista ... will take your breath away ... jaw-droppingly gorgeous. The individual suites are simply luxurious. Every picture you see on the website cannot do justice to the experience in person. Meals, high tea, snacks, hospitality and housekeeping service -- all absolutely top notch.

As soon as I can plan a return visit, that's exactly what I'll be doing. Thank you so much to Justin and Pedro for the safari experiences of a lifetime! (Thank you Laura for such delicious desserts!) Thank you so much to George for taking such good care of us during every one of our dining experiences. And thank you so very much to Nadia and Stefan and each and every member of the staff for making us feel like welcomed and cherished family members for the few days we were there.

Don't hesitate to book your stay at Earth Lodge. You will not be disappointed. You will NOT want to leave .... ever!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night(Selati for 2 days prior) The premises are gorgeous, one is treated like royalty, and the staff is eager to please. The vibe is quite similar to an Arizona resort which is always great. delicious meals, enjoyable game rides.
We treated ourselves to a massage. I don't recall ever having had a better treatment than the one I had with Joanne, and my husband said the exact same thing about Crystal! Really worth it!!
The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and over the top, the outdoor shower and private plunge pool so inviting. The couple who mange the lodge, Nadia and Stefan are professional, warm and most welcoming. I definitely will recommend the earth lodge, not to be missed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My family and I will never find a better way to disconnect fully and appreciate the pleasure of being taken into a daily adventure with all the comfort you could think of. 2 private games per day, amazing service, private pool in the suites, animals getting close to your suites at different times of the day, fantastic breakfasts and some really nice events now and then to make your stay more special.
Go there if you love being looked after.
N.B.: Keep in mind you will be sleeping in the middle of the bush, don't be surprised to be welcomed at evening by giant wall spiders in your room or some kind of insects... My wife wasn't as comfortable with that as I thought she would be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It's unusual for me to write a review, but I felt compelled after an exceptional experience at Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge. We enjoyed 3 days at the property and can say that the staff did an outstanding job anticipating our needs and wants. But it was way beyond the staff's control of the density and quality of the animal viewing. We had such productive game drives every time we went out that it was impossible to keep up with the photo editing. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: it can be exciting returning to your room at night. Bring your camera to dinner, we had hyenas, gian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This Lodge is very uniquely designed and just an amazing property. It is truly luxury in the bush. The rooms are earthly, plush, comfortable and private. We had our own private pool and patio and could watch the animals right from there. The guides and tracker, Mike and Patrick were very good and we really enjoyed spending time with them. We saw the Big 5 and they made sure we did!! They were a wealth of information while we were out on safaris. We really enjoyed the format they use for evening meals. Everyone dined at the same time, the chef would come out and explain the menu. It was a very friendly, fun environment. We truly enjoyed our experience at Earth Lodge and would highly recommend! Thank you to all the staff at Earth Lodge in making this such a memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge

Address: Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sculpted deep into the natural landscape, Earth Lodge takes its cue from nature – textures, colours, light, space all reflecting the lodge’s surrounding bushveld. Thirteen magnificent suites break with traditional safari style to showcase hand-carved furniture sculptures, rich linens and earthy colours. Enormous en-suite bathrooms feature natural stone baths and indoor and outdoor showers; and each suite has a private plunge pool and patio. The lodge has a wine cellar, spa, boma, library and pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sabi Sabi Earth Hotel Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.