We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sabi Sabi Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is perfect for a safari stay - great food, service, the rangers are extremely knowledgeable and will go out of their way to please everyone. We did see the big 5 and our ranger got us very very close to most of them whenever he could.
There are morning drives, night drives and walks, the lodge is big on safety (ranger will escort you to the room at night) and generally there is a very friendly vibe in the hotel.
Rooms are spacious and we had baboons in our balcony, impalas running around the lodge and baboons on the balcony during lunch; great combo of luxury and wildlife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
62
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge is a truly amazing experience. The rooms are large and beautiful. The grounds are kept natural but elegant and within a safe environment. There are a number of open viewing decks that overlook a large pond where we watched a large herd of elephants and baboons. The staff is amazing and truly cared about our comfort. We all enjoyed the buffets at breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as the high tea at 4pm. The chef should be comended for the amazing food! We LOVED our ranger Steve and tracker Heaviness! They were extremely knowledgeable, making sure we saw all of the animals we were looking for, and they were loads of fun! On Christmas day, they both dressed in Santa gear entertaining all of the people out on safari that day. They made sure every safari (two three- hour safaris a day) were a great experience for us. Words can't express how special this vacation was for our family. We would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

There are many aspects to a stay at Sabi Sabi. First, the game drives, which are beautifully orchestrated in large Land Rovers with expert rangers and trackers. You are almost certain to see as many animals as you want. We did two three-hour game drives each day, one at 6am and one at 4pm. Second, the accommodations, which were exquisite. Huge suites with very comfortable beds. Third, the food, which was exceptionally good. Meals are served buffet-style, with a wide choice of dishes. Most liquor is included in your room rate. A stay at Sabi Sabi will definitely affect your weight. We were served seven meals a day! A glutton's delight.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights this week at the bush lodge.Our ranger, Charles, picked us up from the air strip and from that moment our safaris experience started. The room, food quality and service staff at the lodge was great! Everyone ensuring that you were well taken care of throughout the period. Jenna the GM came and checked in with us now and then to ensure that we are having a great time.

Our ranger patiently answered every question my inquisitive 9 year old son had on animals, insects, birds and animal dungs;). Now we are in capetown to continue on my holidays, yet my 2 kids were still talking about how much they missed the safari trip. Charles and Dog, our tracker, were amazing, tracked down all the big fives and 2 elusive leopards, one whom was in the midst of finishing his kill, a poor impala. We were really amazed how close we got to all the animals, with lioness walking next to the the vehicle to a huge bull elephant, pacing behind us.

Tanya the person in charge of the elephfun, were really good in keeping my 2 kids occupied while 2 of us went for our bush walk. And every free time they had, they want to head to the elephfun to learn new things from her, from tying beads to making elephant dung paper. They just loved her..

In the night, they got a campfire going and dinner is set around it which is a great treat for our city kids. After dinner, ranger will need to escort you back to your rooms and yes you need it as we saw 2 hyenas running along when we heads back to our rooms on one of the night.

We also did the 2 hr optional community tour on a nearby township to allow us, esp our kids, to see how the local folks lived at this part of Africa. The trip also included a visit to the traditional healer, which was great fun for the kids and us as he prophesied their future using animal bones. The fee we paid for the trip was donated by the lodge to the kindergarten they sponsored, which made the trip even more worthwhile.

This is one of those wonderful trip with great experience and memories for all in the family, all made possible by everyone at the lodge!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Like many have noted, one best thing ( among so many other best things) is that you can be right next to the animals, and great chance to spot animals playing together, eating their captures, things as such. Our ranger is Solomon. You have got to love Solomon. He is very knowledgable, humors ( most important thing to me), and confident. You can pretty much expect to see all 5 fives and small things with him - even he never says so, he is working very hard to make it happen for you.
The hotel itself is amazing. I have stayed other places with comparable prices, but the luxury service you will receive is not to be confused with other pretentious Five Star lodges. You can tell the owner has very high pride in running their place, everything is highest standard in the most nature way.

Room Tip: #6 and #7 's backyard has open view , sometimes you can spot animals afar. Other numbers have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane, wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time the staff is fantastic and very professional. We were so fortunate to have Lawrence as our Ranger, being a local, his knowledge and understanding of the animals, their habitat and surroundings were truly amazing. Would highly recommend Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge. Thank you again to all for a wonderful safari.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This reserve is an absolute must upon your visit to Kruger National Park. Not only is the facility itself perfectly sited in the park - the ambiance, food, and service are exceptional – and would be anywhere in the world, not only here in the South Africa game reserves. The personal attention and service made us feel that we were so special.

The daily rides (early morning and late afternoon) with rangers and guides in the special four wheel drive vehicles brought us up close and personal with the beautiful animals – seeing and learning in their environment and not in confinement - creates an entire new world for our understanding and appreciation of their natural habitats.

If you are fortunate to have the opportunity to holiday in this area, do not miss Sabi Sabi…

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge

Address: Sabi Sabi Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge is celebrated the world over for its warmth, vibrancy, 5-Star luxury and exceptional safaris. Huge wooden viewing decks overlook a busy waterhole; and each suite features sumptuous linens and fabrics, beautiful leather and wood furnishings, and an en-suite glass fronted bathroom with indoor and al-fresco shower leading onto a private patio. The lounge, bar, pool area and boma are all relaxing meeting places where stories are shared and friends made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi Sabi Bush Hotel Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.