We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Those magic touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sabi Sabi Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Those magic touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

In a very competitive market segment it is tough to decide what makes the difference... At Sabi Sabi it is the small touches and passion of a great team of hosts.. From the hearty welcome to the passionate head chef... But the team spirit between ranger and tracker made it real special - the reason every game drive was WOW and the reason I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
62
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our second time to Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge, and it didn't disappoint. The lodge looked the same as it did 3 years ago. The food was excellent, with plenty of choice. The highlight is always the safari drives, and our ranger, Grant, was fantastic. He ensured we saw everything we wanted to, and some really special moments too - lion mating, leopard right around the vehicle, and lion playing on a tree only meters from us. All the staff were great. One of the premier destinations in Sabi Sands and while expensive, not so much so that South Africans can't enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was lucky enough to be treated to 3 nights at Sabi Sabi to celebrate my parents-in-laws 40th wedding anniversary. I can truly say it was the experience of a life time.

From the first moment I arrived until the time I left, I felt I was living in a dream.

We were woken at 6am each day to meet on the deck overlooking a watering hole for coffee and rusks before our morning game drive. Then we hopped into the car with hot water bottles and blankets for a three hour game drive with Josh our ranger and Phios our tracker. Between the two of them, they ensured that we not only saw the big five but also my very first leopard - (which was a definite highlight), wild dogs, giraffe, many buck and countless birds. All the sightings were really close up, even the lions! Josh was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained with interesting facts about the wildlife.

We stopped for coffee (with a shot of amarula!) and biscuits soaking up the warmth of the early rising sun. Then we headed back for breakfast. The food was amazing and as a vegetarian I was very impressed with the variety.

After breakfast we went on a walk with Josh, this was great as he could tell us about the plants and insects, which tends to get overlooked when driving in the vehicle. It was also pretty exciting wandering around the bush and Josh had a rifle just in case!

Then its back for lunch, another delicious spread of salads, local cheeses and desserts.

In the afternoon we met again for more coffee and scrumptious looking cakes (now I was regretting eating so much at lunch!) for another drive, where we stopped and enjoyed an ice cold glass of wine and snacks while the sun sets. Real luxury! Each game drive was as exciting as the last and we always saw something new.

On our last morning we were driving through the bush when I noticed a table set up under a tree with white tablecloths. Wow, those people are lucky I thought, and then Josh pulled in and we realised it was for us! I almost started crying with happiness- I mean this is what happens in the movies! Our wonderful waitress Thuli was there with fresh coffee and we could even choose how we wanted our eggs done!

Having the same tracker, guide and waitress throughout our stay really made us feel looked after every minute. The care and attention to detail at the lodge was amazing, this was truly 5 star service!

Thank you Sabi Sabi and especially to Rod and Lauren for spoiling us. And thank you to my in laws for taking us on such a special holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were fantastic. The food was really good with plenty of choice. Our room was huge with a massive bathroom, comfortable bed and had an open area at the back where we often saw animals grazing. The safaris were incredible. Our Ranger Solomon and Tracker Ronald had a wealth of knowledge and we learned so much. We spent time observing animal behaviour and we saw all the big 5 more than once as well as warthogs, zebra, giraffe and many more. We even saw wild dogs and serval! It was truly amazing and we will never forget it.

Room Tip: Room 14 was large and very conveniently situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

An exceptional resort fantastic location, great accommodation and staff that had high levels of customer experience. Our ranger Richard had an exceptional a wealth of knowledge and ensured that our safari experience was first class. A must visit place to enjoy an intimate experience with the African wildlife. Amazing ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A great stay. We were there for 2 nights and could not extend as The Lodge was sold out. The ~6,800+ hectares of reserve are a great place to effectively see all animals (except the Hippos & Crocs, but they are easy to see if you do a day drive thru Kruger Park). Our guides Jonas and Evans were exceptional in tracking and making sure that the list of animals my kids (8 & 7) had were all checked off. We even managed to follow 3 Cheetahs for 30/40 minutes thru the reserve. (Becoming a rarer sighting we are told). The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous. We even managed to a Bush walk with Jonas, as the kids were well entertained at the Elefun Centre. Food and the lodge are great but it is the 2 daily safari rides in the Land Rover that is the icing on the cake. Would definitely recommend the Bush Lodge for the kids and safari.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the stay. Friendly staff and a very natural setting. The game drives were exciting and punctual. I liked the concept of your ranger and safari group having dinner at the same table. Our ranger was Mr Jonas who went out of his way to keep our trip exciting. The concept of open bathrooms freaked us out but it was essential to give the jungle feel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge

Address: Sabi Sabi Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge is celebrated the world over for its warmth, vibrancy, 5-Star luxury and exceptional safaris. Huge wooden viewing decks overlook a busy waterhole; and each suite features sumptuous linens and fabrics, beautiful leather and wood furnishings, and an en-suite glass fronted bathroom with indoor and al-fresco shower leading onto a private patio. The lounge, bar, pool area and boma are all relaxing meeting places where stories are shared and friends made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi Sabi Bush Hotel Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.