We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sabi Sabi Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

An exceptional resort fantastic location, great accommodation and staff that had high levels of customer experience. Our ranger Richard had an exceptional a wealth of knowledge and ensured that our safari experience was first class. A must visit place to enjoy an intimate experience with the African wildlife. Amazing ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
71
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A great stay. We were there for 2 nights and could not extend as The Lodge was sold out. The ~6,800+ hectares of reserve are a great place to effectively see all animals (except the Hippos & Crocs, but they are easy to see if you do a day drive thru Kruger Park). Our guides Jonas and Evans were exceptional in tracking and making sure that the list of animals my kids (8 & 7) had were all checked off. We even managed to follow 3 Cheetahs for 30/40 minutes thru the reserve. (Becoming a rarer sighting we are told). The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous. We even managed to a Bush walk with Jonas, as the kids were well entertained at the Elefun Centre. Food and the lodge are great but it is the 2 daily safari rides in the Land Rover that is the icing on the cake. Would definitely recommend the Bush Lodge for the kids and safari.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the stay. Friendly staff and a very natural setting. The game drives were exciting and punctual. I liked the concept of your ranger and safari group having dinner at the same table. Our ranger was Mr Jonas who went out of his way to keep our trip exciting. The concept of open bathrooms freaked us out but it was essential to give the jungle feel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tucked away in the quiet of a game reserve, Sabi Sabi is more than we could have wished for! The rooms were big, clean and well lit. The best bit were the big bathroom and open to the sky shower area. Meals would have been ample, but if it wasn't for the head chef who understood our special vegetarian needs and doled out a five star spread each meal time, right in the middle of the jungle. The safari drivers were also big enthusiasts and very experienced. A truly memorable experience. Just fantastic

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The lodge's rooms are not extravagant but are very nice, clean, and have all of the comforts of home. The bathrooms are large and spacious. The common areas are very nice and inviting. The one thing that is lacking is a fitness center. You obviously can't go for a jog so I had to do a dvd in my room. There isn't wifi in the rooms so luckily I had thought ahead.The game drives were amazing. Our ranger was Mike. He was very informative, friendly, and made sure that we saw the big 5 and many more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Ten years ago my husband and I travelled to Sabi Sands and stayed at Singita. We recently returned with our family and friends (including our five children) and stayed at Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge. Our stay was wonderful! The rooms and the common areas were nice, clean, simple yet ample. The lodge has two pools however they are not heated and it has wifi in the common areas however not in the rooms. The food was really good. The service and the personnel at Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge took the cake as they were truly fantastic. The Elefun Center for the kids was engaging and our rangers, Steve and Mike were amazingly
insightful, fun and extremely attentive! We all had an incredible time on safari and had some very cool sightings (including a leopard, elephants, lions, zebra, impala, water bucks, kudu, wart hogs, wildebeest, water buffalo, hyenas, jackals, and more). What Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge lacks in elegance and sophistication it makes up for in warmth and camaraderie.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Bush Lodge for 3 Nights with family and friends. What a fantastic experience!! The entire staff,the cottages,the food,the wild life sightings,the hospitality,the weather - all outstanding.We were fortunate to have Josh and Zyw has our rangers.Both ensured that we saw the big 5 and all the other exotic and beautiful wild creatrures.They also shared a lot of information with us about the animals,the flora and fauna and wild life in general.The chef Wilfred went out of his way to serve us excellent cuisine(a lot of it at our special request).Overall a memorable African experience which i would strongly recommend.

Reena Nayak Panda.Bhubaneswar.INDIA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge

Address: Sabi Sabi Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge is celebrated the world over for its warmth, vibrancy, 5-Star luxury and exceptional safaris. Huge wooden viewing decks overlook a busy waterhole; and each suite features sumptuous linens and fabrics, beautiful leather and wood furnishings, and an en-suite glass fronted bathroom with indoor and al-fresco shower leading onto a private patio. The lounge, bar, pool area and boma are all relaxing meeting places where stories are shared and friends made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi Sabi Bush Hotel Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.