We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what I saw in National Geography Channels ( Wild) is what I saw at CHEETAH PLAINS!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheetah Plains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheetah Plains
Save
You added Cheetah Plains to your Saves list
Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“what I saw in National Geography Channels ( Wild) is what I saw at CHEETAH PLAINS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What an amazing experience at Cheeta plains!! Unforgettable!!
What I saw at Cheetah plain, is exactly what I use to see at National Geography channel.
Lion fighting with other group, Lion Hunting live, Leopard and Cheetah at well.

Staff, accommodation, food and Ranger ( Doctor) are Super Super!!!

Regards
Zaid
shekhzaid@hotmail.com
Oman

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good Day Zaid



Thank you so much for your great review. It is a huge honour for us that you compare your experience with us at Cheetah Plains, to the footage that you saw on National Geographic. The game viewing here is amazing and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon and I will certainly pass your compliments on to the team and Doc, who will also be very pleased!

Wild wishes,

Willem du Toit
General Manager - Cheetah Plains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from 3 nights stay at cheetah plains, spent in luxury and standard rooms there is not much difference but luxury felt more private especially the in-suit bathroom and a deck viewing the bush, over service was very good, game viewing was excellent and thanks to Doctor the guide who know where to find the leopards.
saw all the big 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good Day Khalil

Thank you for your review, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our service levels, and are very happy to hear you appreciated it. The game viewing at Cheetah Plains is exceptional, but it is also exclusive, and we do have fantastic leopard sightings. Our guides are all extremely passionate and i will share your kind review with them.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Wild Wishes,
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We really enjoyed this trip, i went with two friends and we had two separate rooms. Our travel agent had timed it perfectly so we arrived and then went nearly immediately to look for game. We had an amazing time, saw tons of animals, loved the food, pretty flawless.

There is not a lot of activities between game drives so bring a book, or something to do in the down time.

I really can't think of any cons at all, but try to think through your flights to ensure you maximize the drives..ie try to arrive so you get the afternoon drive in before dinner.


3 nights was the perfect length, by the end we felt like we'd seen most of the stuff and could do something different..

100% recommended.

Room Tip: review based on december 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is a very good tip that you gave, regarding the Safaris. To get the most out of your safaris and ensure that you get the best chance to see everything on your list, it is good to arrive in the early afternoon, just in time for the high tea and afternoon Game drives, just remember to pre-book lunch if you plan to arrive early, as it is not provided if not booked and we do provide a substantial afternoon tea.
Then plan your departure on the last day, for just after the last morning game drive. We do not recommend missing any of the game drives, as it has been our experience that the one game drive you did not go on, is usually the one were the other guests saw everything…
During the middle of the day, guests can relax around the swimming pool, enjoy a book in our comfortable lounge or even have a relaxing treatment with our therapist… although we find many guests prefer just to have a lazy siesta.
Please do stay in touch with us on Facebook, and you are also very welcome to share some of your pictures with us, we would love to see them.
We hope to welcome you back to Cheetah Plains again soon.
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Cheetah Plains and had one of our best safari experiences ever.

The food, accommodation and service were all excellent. Each night we had dinner at a different venue – the dining room, boma and around the pool. (The pool overlooks a dam that has crocs and hippos in it). On the game drives we didn’t have the normal boring peanuts and biltong snacks – we also had fresh fruit, Snacker chocolate bars and Amarula coffees!

Anyway, back to the important stuff – the reason why most people come on an African safari – the animals. Our first sighting on our first game drive was a cheetah mother with three cubs (most appropriate for a stay at cheetah plains!)

Thereafter the sightings came fast and furious on the remaining 5 game drives. We had a pride of lions, four leopards, an African wild cat (very rare sighting), two male waterbuck having a huge fight, a white rhino mother with calf and numerous buffalo and elephant sightings.

Our field guide, Justin, was great – he knew his animals and he knew how to please his guests. Normally the requests from guests are to see the big-five animals but he had a few unusual requests such a giraffe (may sound like an easy request but we had not seen any for the first two days), a bark spider plus hippos and he found them all.

On our last game drive Justin got a call to return to the lodge as a leopard had killed a warthog right in front of the lodge and was in the process of dragging it to a suitable bush. We arrived in time to find the leopard with the warthog still kicking! (Yes, Justin was ‘just-in’ time for all these great sightings!)

What else made our stay special? Well the Sabi Sand game reserve basically has three parts, the southern, western and northern areas. Cheetah Plains is situated in the less crowded north so we had nearly all the sightings to ourselves! In addition the field guides worked together – at the lion pride sighting, which was at night, the other field guide (Doctor) positioned his vehicle behind the male lion and shone his spotlight so that we could get some backlit photos – that’s teamwork.

We returned home with many quality images, so for photo safaris this lodge has to be one of the top destinations.

Cheetah Plains is definitely a lodge that we would visit again – one stay isn’t enough!

Room Tip: We found the standard rooms were great but if you need a bit more space (or an outside shower) then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mario and Jenny,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it, and the whole team, was very pleased to read your excellent feedback on your stay with us. We are certainly pleased and honored that you rate your visit to Cheetah Plains as one of your best Safari experience ever, especially considering that you both, as seasoned wildlife photographers, have experienced some of the best safari spots in Southern Africa.
Your wildlife images that you took at Cheetah Plains are fantastic, thanks for sharing them.
The game viewing at Cheetah Plains is truly special, not just in quantity, but also always in the quality and uniqueness of the sightings. We are very blessed that we can share this with our valued guests. We are also already looking forward to your next visit. Please stay in touch.
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 nights and 4 safari excursions--saw "the big 5 animals" during the first 2 outings. "Doctor" our guide was amazing and a great tracker. We saw a pride of lions with 2 very small cubs just resting in the grass after a big meal very close to our vehicle; many Cape buffalo, rhino, elephants, giraffe, zebra, hippo, leopard, different antelope.
Hard to name them all, plus beautiful birds.
The staff was so very helpful--we thought it a great value too. We planned the safari the day after our arrival flight from the US and it worked out great because we could rest a bit in between excursions and the staff had everything else thought out for us.
Thank you all
Jane &Jim

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Jane & Jim,

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. I have shared your message with Doc, he was very pleased about your kind words on his guiding and tracking skills. Doc, like all our guides are really passionate about the bush, and fully enjoy sharing their knowledge with our guests. We are very pleased that you enjoyed such an incredible wildlife experience.
Please stay in touch, and you are welcome to share some of your favorite pictures on our Cheetah Plains Facebook page, we would love to see them. Till we meet again,

Wild wishes
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well worth the dirt track drive to get there (we self drove from jo'burg with no problems). We were welcomed & made to feel very relaxed & at home. We stayed in a deluxe room which had possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on! The outside shower was also great & made for a great experience. The food was plentiful & delicious, served in different places each evening. The wine was reasonably priced too.
The safaris was fabulous. What a spot they have. We were lucky enough to have a safari on our own one afternoon! About 8 or 9 hours per day seemed incredible value. We saw the big five & plenty more. Felt like we were in the wild, watching lions eat buffalo & then try (unsuccessfully) to defend that kill from a new male lion. Leopard & babies was a treat too.
Unfortunately, because of recent heavy rain, there were no cheetahs (but the manager was actively searching each day) but that gives me a reason to return!
I went with my sister, it was mainly couples - of all ages - but I would happily travel in any sort of group here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
“Amazing lodge, friendly staff & great food (not forgetting the animals!)”
Thank you for your great review, we really enjoyed reading about your amazing experiences at Cheetah Plains and are happy that we could do our part to assist in creating your special safari memories. We are fortunate in the fact that Cheetah Plains is in a very magical part of the Sabi Sands Game Reserve where it is still very wild, with not much “traffic” and spectacular game viewing all year round, especially of the big cats. It definitely is the best spot for wild life enthusiasts, who would like to have a true bush lodge experience. We are already looking forward to welcoming you and you sister back!

PS: we finally found the cheetah last week, a female with her cubs, very special to see.

Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first trip to South Africa and this was our first camp & safari experience. The staff was extremely welcoming. The greeted you upon arrival and after each and every safari. They really went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and see to it that our experience was the best it could be.

The chalets are adorable, each with their own name. They are clean and perfect for two. The amenities were also very nice.

I didn't have any expectations re how the food would be and the chefs at Cheetah Plains are incredible. I looked forward to every meal because not only was the food delicious but the staff and service was also top notch. Hats off to the chefs. Also, they provided you with lots of yummy snacks on your safari trips as well as high tea in the afternoon.

And, Doctor. He's simply the best. He's incredibly knowledgeable and an amazing guide/tracker as well as a great host. We gave him some challenges and he always delivered. Each experience was different (you go on 2 safari's a day). I don't think there was a time he wasn't first to find the game and others to follow. He's careful to make sure everyone is getting the best safari experience possible. I learned so much and he provided us with unforgettable memories that make us want to go back as soon as possible. ;-)

It was truly incredible experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Allinnis,
Thank you for your great review. The team and I are really pleased to read your feedback on your safari at Cheetah Plains, Doc was especially appreciative of your kind words.
We are delighted that we could play our part to ensure that your first safari experience to South Africa was an unforgettable experience.
Please stay in touch, if you have some great pictures of your safari, please share them with us on our Facebook page, it would be great to see.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheetah Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complimenting the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheetah Plains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.