We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Save Saved
You added Londolozi Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Redondo Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I honestly don't know where my husband and I will travel to next that will even come close to our 4 night stay in the Granite Suites at Londolozi in June. We were in tears as our plane departed the runway. It is really that special. Tom, Jerry and Kirsty made our 10th anniversary celebration a trip of a lifetime. We miss the bush. We follow the Londolozi blog in a futile attempt to still stay connected. Yes, the accommodations are lush, the food is delicious and the staff goes above and beyond to cater to every detail of your stay. But it is the unspoken spirit of Londolozi that will stay in your heart forever. We count the days until we can return again. We miss you Tom, Jerry and Kirsty! Until our paths cross again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear StacyHashi,

What a phenomenal review! Thank you for visiting the Private Granite Suites and experiencing the spirit of Londolozi for yourself. Tom, Jerry, Kirsty and the rest of the Granite Suites team will be delighted to hear that your experience was so fabulous and that it was such a memorable 10th anniversary celebration for the two of you.

We cannot wait to have you back with us soon and hope that you will continue to stay connected to us on the Londolozi blog.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

5 stars - absolutely not!!! It's way way beyond that...the food, the lodging (stayed at the Granite Suite), the staff and of course the game drives...I believe the title of my review sums it all up. Thank you so very much Londolozi and a big shout out to sweet Kirsty for all the surprises, Johan - we miss your big smiles, James - our very knowledgeable Ranger (Michel misses your gin&T and won't stop bragging about the cigar) and Richard the tracker - thank you for tracking those animals. We MUST return....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear menchie07,

Thank you for writing such a great review, we are so pleased that your stay at Granite Suites was way beyond Heaven on Earth and that you enjoyed your time at the lodge and in the bush with our staff so much! We sincerely hope to see you back here again in the very near future.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

you know how they make the brochures up and they never live up to it? well, WRONG! this place is truly out of this world perfection. the food, the ambiance, the NON CROWDEDNESS, the staff, uh, duh, the ANIMALS! you never drive the same route twice. you will see ALL you came to see. something out of a fairytale holiday! thank you Londolozi for living up to the expectations. UNREAL!!!
dont bring hardly ANYTHING. even clothes. they do your laundry free. all you need is a toothbrush and a couple quick wash outfits and a swimsuit! ENJOY!

Room Tip: Granite Suites are divine BUT you are secluded from everyone else. so if you like that, great, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear audballa,

WOW! Thank you for such a great review. We are just so pleased that your time with us was so special and that you found everything from the staff to the food to the accommodation and wildlife to exceed your expectations.

We sincerely hope to see you back here in the very near future and look forward to seeing you on our blog until then.

Much love and thanks again,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We came with our 4 kids ages 4, 6, 8, 11 for a once in a lifetime trip. We had high expectations but everything exceeded them. We got lucky that there was a cancellation and we got rooms in the Pioneer camp. Which if travelling with extended family you could book the whole camp which is 3 rooms. We had 2 gorgeous rooms connected by a skywalk. Each room felt like a small house. Totally clean and gorgeous decor. We could have easily fit in 1 room. Windows overlooked the river where you could see hippos, monkeys, kudu, birds etc. The food was unbelievable. They made fabulous burgers and chicken strips and fries for kids. Each night they grilled and we ate outside by a campfire with lanterns lit everywhere for light. Truly magical. If I had any complaint there was too much food! Service was excellent but I so enjoyed that it was casual and friendly. Our Ranger was excellent and kept putting our vehicle where the Leopard and Lions could walk right past. Our Tracker had 35 yrs of experience and could spot animals so far away and in the dark!! We saw the Big 5 in our first 24 hrs there! This place is not cheap but I would highly recommend this place if you want a once in a lifetime luxury experience. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear TravelwithFourkids,

How wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a fantastic time with us at Pioneer Camp. We are so delighted that the game viewing, accommodation,food and Londolozi family were so enjoyable. Hopefully your 4 kids enjoyed it as much as you did!

We hope that this is not just a once in a lifetime experience for you and your family and that you do indeed return to visit us over and over.

Much love and thanks again for the review,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It's hard to add to all the 5 star reviews already listed for Londolozi. My family and I stayed in the Founders Camp for 4 days in the middle of July. From the minute we arrived until the moment we left, we just had the most amazing experience. Special thanks to the girls, Jess and Nadia, for all their kindness and to Rich and Ox for their superb company and opening our eyes to what a Londolozi safari has to offer. Thanks, too, for arranging such lovely surprises to help celebrate my birthday and make turning 40 so much more bearable! The rooms were beautiful and the food was amazing (and there was plenty of it!). We saw the Big Five and many other interesting animals - memories which will stay with us forever. Never has a holiday had such an impact on us. I cried like a 7 year old when it was time to leave and still tear up just looking at all my amazing photos. My husband promises that we can return for our 20th wedding anniversary - 3 years and counting. If you do one thing in life, then visit Londolozi, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Alex T,

Thank you so much for choosing Londolozi as the destination to celebrate your 40th birthday and for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed Founders camp so much, were looked after so well by Jess and Nadia and saw such good wildlife with Rich and Ox.

We can't wait for your return on your 20th anniversary and hope to see you on our blog in the build up to then.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabi Sands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am here now. The game is world, world class. My ranger Rex and tracker Life are super knowledgable about everything. Fun to be with. And are the tops professionally.And today we saw baby leopard, adult male leopard, tracked leopard on foot, saw white rhino, elephant and more. Lisa the camp manager is thorough and kind and really professional and friendly. And Triesta whom seems like an angel takes care of your food/beverage needs. She rocks. plus I got a massage that was as good as anything you can get in the world. Rooms are beyond gorgeous. And have everything.Plus They have a good gym on property. Food is really amazing all the time. And they are extremely flexible for accommodating special requests. If you want an out of this world complete experience...Stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Roger1211,

We are just delighted to hear that you are having such a great time with us on safari and that Rex and Life are providing you with such outstanding game viewing. We sincerely hope that you enjoy the rest of your time with the Tree Camp team and I will be sure to pass your review onto everybody here.

Thank you again for writing such a phenomenal review.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I know this sounds corny but words do not describe how incredibly amazing our stay at Londolzi Tree Camp was. We loved everything about it, in fact on returning home I felt guilty that I had never been before!

We found out about Londolozi and Singuitta from some South African friends who raved about both game reserves as being the best in South Africa and we were torn as to which reserve to stay on but in the end decided on Londolzi Tree Camp, given it was significantly cheaper than Singuitta.

From the dazzles of zebras we saw within 2 minutes of being on the reserve to the numerous lepoard sighting (and matings) to being a metre away when a coalition of lions who ruled the area started roaring this was the trip of our lives!

We stayed for 4 nights at tree camp lodge, the rooms were extremely impressive, very clean, modern, huge (you enter into a large lounge area, separate bedroom and beautiful bathroom larger than my bedroom at home) and we had lovely views from our deck and plunge pool (we had monkeys and waterboek come right up to our deck). We could ask for nothing more.

Lisa, our hostess, was wonderful and catered to our every whim, which included organising a special dinner in our room on the day that we were especially exhausted from game drives. James T, our ranger and Exon, our tracker, were AMAZING and very genuine people and we had some pretty special experiences all thanks to them. We were also lucky enough to have our own private game drive for the duration of our stay (through pure luck).

Londolozi and Singuitta allow access to each others reserves, and both have policies where no more than 3 vehicles are at a sighting at once. The only thing I would say about Singuitta as opposed Londolozi is that Londolozi has a better location, you really feel in the middle of nowhere whereas I could see the townships from some of Singuitta's roads.

If you are thinking of visiting Londolozi I would highly recommend visiting their blog http://blog.londolozi.com/ which I now follow religiously.

I was planning our return trip on the flight out of Londolozi (yes it has its own airstrip). I could not recommend Londolozi more highly and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear OTB001,

Wow thank you for such a fantastic review and how nice it is to hear that you had such a phenomenal stay at Londolozi Tree Camp. We are also pleased to hear that your game viewing was so good with James T and Exon.

I will be sure to pass on your review to the Tree Camp team and we look forward to seeing you on the Londolozi blog until your next visit.

Thanks again for the review.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Londolozi Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.