We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only channel was Foxnews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Roswell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only channel was Foxnews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The decor of the hotel was nice and all of our stay was pleasant except that Foxnews was the only channel on in the breakfast room. I asked to have this offensive channel changed to a more neutral one but was told that it was the only news channel available. For that reason, I would never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We appreciate your patronage. I have investigated your comments and have taken step to but half the lobby TV's on CNN. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Travel Safe. Robert Lee/General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    76
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
92
51
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Mo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place was just ok. I got a good deal on priceline. The restaurant and bar are closed due to renovation. The bathroom was not quite clean when we checked in. The towels were cheap not soft and fluffy. I will say the beds were comfortable also the hotel had a nice pool area. There is an Applebees in easy walking distance as well. So if you can get a good price book this place. I would not pay full price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
"Thank You" We look forward to seving you again next time you find yourself in Roswell, NM. Your business is very important to us at the Best western Sally Port Inn. Happy Holidays. Robert Lee/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

On our way from Albuquerque to Carlsbad Caverns we decided to stay over in Roswell because hotel cost is a lot more reasonable in Roswell. Carlsbad Caverns is incredible, but I didn’t realize the draw for tourists was so strong that it doubled the cost of hotel rooms. About 53 years after my last visit to the caverns, I found them just as majestic as I remembered them…no young boy exaggeration of my memories.

We are really happy we stopped in Roswell and discovered the Sally Port Inn & Suites. It is one of, if not the best Best Western Plus hotel I’ve stayed at. There are some that have fancier trimmings and are equally nice in all the common aspects, but this one rises above. At the time I felt that this is the Best Western Plus that I wish was the model everywhere, but there are still things it could learn from other properties. See my personal hotel preferences. Still, look at the small photos and try to imagine how nice it is inside. I like space, freedom, lack of clutter. This hotel exudes freedom of movement.

Room Comforts:

Open space

The great “Best Western Plus” bed, comfortable, three-sheeted, restful…obviously the key issue in a hotel

Central a/c. Yay! This is almost unheard of at other Best Western Plus hotels which almost universally sport noisy wall units that invariably blow right across the bed

The side tables on each side of the bed have lamps with power outlets in the base. Convenient power access is surprisingly lacking at many hotels, even high end brands. I read from bed using my Android mobile phone in Kindle mode and set it on the side table before falling asleep (sometimes) and it’s still charged in the morning.

The workspace works. Good height (rare) for working at a computer, a comfortable office chair, dual power outlets on the base of the lamp desk lamp, Ethernet wall jack, unsecure Wi-fi
Restroom: there is generous sink counter space placed at normal height (too many hotels are now installing restroom counters designed for people who are 6’4″ and a sink that protrudes into my gut when brushing my teeth). I was glad to see the coffee maker and fridge in their own well-lit alcove. However, like too many hotels, the TP holder is placed so that the guest has to do a contortionist act to get to it. Why?

Hotel Comforts:

Friendly staff
Convenient business center with computers and printer
Clean and well maintained throughout.
Attractive and spacious indoor atrium and reception area with very nice pool and Jacuzzi (that actually works and is, unusually, not over-chlorinated).
A rare and very nice (and clean) sauna (though for one person at a time since it has a lock)
Fitness center in the same area, accessible from the second floor.
A wonderful absence of the typical Best Western smoke detectors that have a light that periodically flashes all night long. A hotel room is supposed to be restful. Very happily, this hotel does not have this problem.
The free breakfast is a step up from many BW Plus hotels. A larger than usual breakfast area, a somewhat better selection of food. But when it is busy there is a lot of congestion around the coffee machine which blocks access to other items. The young lady who manages the breakfast area does a very good job of staying on top of what is needed and generally being helpful.

We very much enjoyed our stay here.

For a complete report please visit frictionfactor.com/422

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
"Thank You" for your response regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn and I am pleased that our team was able to provide you with excellent service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Travel Safe. Robert Lee/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Was very pleasantly surprised to see the hotel as it exceeded my expectations. The lobby was impressive and the swimming pool area was very spacious and nice. The room was large and very comfortable. The location was excellent and was within a mile or two of all places on interest within the city of Roswell.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"Thank You" for your response regarding your recent stay with us. We hope you can return soon for another pleasant stay. Travel Safe. Robert Lee/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had not stayed at the Sally Port in a number of years because we were living in Roswell. Now we went to pick up some belongings in a UHaul and chose to stay overnight at the Sally Port. The service is still good and they have done a nice job updating the building. The bed was VERY comfortable. Too bad the restaurant and bar was closed for renovations, but we were aware of this at the time of booking which kept it from being a bad shock.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
"Thank You" I am pleased to learn you found your time at the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn enjoyable. We hope you can return soon for another pleasant stay. Have A Fun Trip. Robert Lee/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel has some really good points such as the large, spacious rooms, comfortable bed and unlike some other reviewers, we found it to be very clean. The breakfast was pretty average and the location OK but some things were annoying such as the ridiculously loud sound coming from the vent in the bathroom. It was unbearably loud and was going off all night. Also the drains smelled bad in the bathroom which ultimately made the room smell by the second day. It's a shame really as it's very close to being a lovely hotel. I think having a restaurant on site will help too when that gets finished.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again next time you find yourself in the Roswell area. Travel Safe. Robert Lee/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roswell
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

this is a nice hotel and the accomodations are family friendly. The breakfast bar was outstanding and had something for everyone. the staff works hard to ensure your stay will be a happy one. It will be even better once the hotel restaurant is finished with the remodeling project. Remember to park in the front though because of golf balls from the driving range out back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
"Thank You" We look forward to serving you again next time you find yourself in the Roswell area. Travel Safe and have a fun trip. Robert Lee/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites

Address: 2000 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Roswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roswell
#6 Family Hotel in Roswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit this Roswell, New Mexico hotel and enjoy contemporary accommodations conveniently located near many of Roswell's most popular attractions.The BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites offers exemplary services and accommodations that will make guests feel right at home. Hotel guests will enjoy such elegant touches as oversized guest rooms and suites, complimentary breakfast, morning paper and cable satellite television with HBO®. Additional hotel conveniences include high-speed Internet access, indoor pool, fitness center and a hot tub/spa. With over 5,000 square feet of Banquet and Meeting space, the Sally Port Inn & Suites can accommodate functions of varied sizes.The BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites is just ten miles from the Roswell Airport and an airport shuttle is provided. Popular Roswell attractions such as the UFO International Research Museum and the Roswell Museum and Art Center are just a few minutes away. For guests wishing to venture a little farther, this hotel's staff can assist with trips to visit the Old West at Billy the Kid Country, Living Desert State Park or the natural wonders of the world at Carlsbad Caverns.Come visit the BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites where the attentive staff is anxious to welcome guests to the "All American City" of Roswell, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roswell
Roswell Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.