We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Roswell
Soldotna, Alaska
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“HOT Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I attended a recent HS class reunion which used the facilities at the Salley Port as well as offered rooms at fixed and reasonable rates. I had one of the listed suites. These rooms are large rooms that were remodeled, having a separate sleeping area from the living area. I found them to be quite nice, clean, and well equiped, but very warm. I believe that this was once a Holiday Inn, and though there have been some very nice upgrades, most of the rooms still have the old AC units.

I called down and informed the desk that when I had arrived the AC was off, and after 4 hours of on, it was still about 80 degrees. I was told that was the way the suites were. I asked for a fan and was told that there were none. So I requested someone to look at the AC unit. The maintenance man repeated the basics I had already heard and added that the suites were extra warm as the separate sleeping area did not get much of the cooled air into them. I told him that I had asked for a fan but there were none. He told me to hold on and he soon returned with a 'box' fan. Between that and a break in the weather, the room was soon cool and comfortable.

Other than that, I found the location to be very convienient, the service excellent, and the breakfast very good, with waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, and all the usual rolls, doughnuts. bagels, etc. Great coffee and juice.

Room Tip: If visiting Roswell during hot weather, choose an inside room, perferably on the ground floor. Much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for completing the tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn & Suites. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We have addressed your concerns with your room A/C with are engineering department team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. R.Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    76
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
92
51
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The place was clean, the staff was nice, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good except they keep the breakfast rooms VERY cold and you have to ask for water if you want it. The swimming pool is also VERY cold- we went to the Raquet Club instead. We had a room where the window faced the pool and event area and we really missed having the sun shine in in the mornings.

Room Tip: Request exterior
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your tripadvior reponse regarding your visit at the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn & Suites. I pleased your stay was comfortable and clean and please call me ahead next time your in Roswell and I will get you a exterior room on the west side for the sunrise. Robert Lee/General Manager #575-622-6430
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The room was nice, clean, and well equipped with working electronics. However, the morning shift staff were rude and not willing to assist. When asked for some extra towels she stated, "I can only give you two." During breakfast time we had three people in the room and when we gave the staff member the ticket we asked were we able to take the third person something back. She said yes; however, when we got ready to make there plate another staff member walked over and asked the other staff member, "Didn't they already go through the line?" That is rude and very unprofessional. As a visitor from another state and knowing that will be coming back to Roswell due to a family members education I don't think I will chose this motel again. No matter what things look like CUSTOMER SERVICE goes a long way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn & Suites. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Robert Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I am in town a few times for business and the stay has been wonderful. Full breakfast, clean rooms, nice location and wonderful staff! I would like to mention an experience that I had early in August. I was so busy in the business center, got a call, walked out, went to a meeting in Roswell, drove to Albuquerque to stay the night so I could fly out the next morning. I HAD NO LUGGAGE! In a panic I called the Best Western and they said they had it, asked if I could call in the morning when the manager Robert got in. While I was at the airport the following morning I called Robert and he was the BEST! Great customer service and went over and beyond. He mailed me my small luggage that same day to my house and I had it within a few days. What service! Thank you Robert, I will for sure stay at your hotel when I am in town again!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you do not want to take the stairs. There is no elevator, this did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn & Suites. Thank you for sharing your story. Travel safe. Robert Lee, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The room was clean,neat and quiet. It was nice to have a bar right in the hotel after a long drive to get an adult beverage. We both slept well which is normally rough for the first night in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am delighted to learn you had a wonderful stay with us and our staff was able to provide you with excellent service. We thank you for being a loyal guest of the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn & Suites and look forward to you next stay with us. Respectfully, Robert Lee, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived in Roswell after spending several hours at Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We were hot and tired and ready to relax. At check in we were given a room on the second floor (NO ELEVATOR) and quickly had it changed to a room on the ground floor. We were not yet ready to kick back and relax. The AC in that room was out, so, it was changed again. The one plus for this check-in experience was that the desk clerk readily accommodated our needed changes promptly and with a smile.
The pool felt great, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was good. We were happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your visit to the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn & Suites. I am so glad it work out and I have addressed the A/C problem with are engineering team. Have a fun trip and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Respectfully, Robert Lee, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is older; however, older hotels typically have larger rooms as this one does. So, roominess is a plus. The beds and decor are good and comfortable. Full breakfast is a plus with eggs & meat. They need more chairs in the breakfast area; our group had a table, but chairs were taken by others. My kids enjoyed the pool. The place is fine.

The hotel is conveniently located to everything in town just north of NM Military Accademy on Main street. The price was reasonable considering other hotels in Roswell. I've stayed before and will again.

Room Tip: Rooms in Roswell and SE NM tend to be pricey; oil business and oil field service companies book a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We appreciate your patronage and thank you for your comments concerning your stay. We pride ourselves on being a fun and unique stop in Roswell, NM. "Tell we meet again". Respectfully, Robert Lee, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites

Address: 2000 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Roswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roswell
#7 Business Hotel in Roswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit this Roswell, New Mexico hotel and enjoy contemporary accommodations conveniently located near many of Roswell's most popular attractions.The BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites offers exemplary services and accommodations that will make guests feel right at home. Hotel guests will enjoy such elegant touches as oversized guest rooms and suites, complimentary breakfast, morning paper and cable satellite television with HBO®. Additional hotel conveniences include high-speed Internet access, indoor pool, fitness center and a hot tub/spa. With over 5,000 square feet of Banquet and Meeting space, the Sally Port Inn & Suites can accommodate functions of varied sizes.The BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites is just ten miles from the Roswell Airport and an airport shuttle is provided. Popular Roswell attractions such as the UFO International Research Museum and the Roswell Museum and Art Center are just a few minutes away. For guests wishing to venture a little farther, this hotel's staff can assist with trips to visit the Old West at Billy the Kid Country, Living Desert State Park or the natural wonders of the world at Carlsbad Caverns.Come visit the BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites where the attentive staff is anxious to welcome guests to the "All American City" of Roswell, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roswell
Roswell Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sally Port Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.