We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous! Aliens and Humans- BEWARE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio
2205 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Roswell
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous! Aliens and Humans- BEWARE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

What a nightmare! Service despicable- teenager at front desk inattentive and down right rude with a foul attitude. People in parking lot partying loudly in the back of the pick-up truck at midnight. Grounds dirty and disgusting. Room filthy, small, cramped, and stunk of cigarette smoke, and worst of all, this dump charged my CC before arrival a couple of times without my authorization. It took WEEKS to get it back. This place is a 1 star DIVE in the middle of nowhere. Do not stay here, or for that matter do yourself a favor and just visit Roswell and leave! There are other hotels in cities about 80-90 miles away that are MUCH better with service that surpasses this trashy place any day of the week!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
We are sorry you found your stay less than pleasant, however, we do not have a teenager that was employed here. If there is anything I can help you with please contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    73
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
61
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Nest, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here with our two boys last week and we found our room nice and clean. It was comfortable and the pool was refreshing. They served a hot breakfast with omelettes and found that to be an added plus and something different than the expected.
All of the staff we came into contact with at this property was extremely helpful and very friendly, we will be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I paid a little more than I normally do thinking it would get me a much better room - wrong. The room was roomy but the a/c was loud and ran all night. The neighboring room was an all night party and the grounds were filthy: stains and spills on the stairway, cigarette butts and paper debris littering the grounds and just a generally unkempt look about the place. I would try somewhere else next visit to Roswell, but never had much luck here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice hotel. The staff were friendly and the upgrades to the room were surprising. I'd been there 5 years earlier and found the improvements to the rooms to welcome and improved my stay. The flat-screen TV were nice, but I was most impressed by the redesigned bathrooms. New tile and I think new tubs made the bathroom seem very clean. One feature of my room I liked was the high vaulted ceilings - not necessary, but certainly looked good.
In my opinion this is the better of the two Best Westerns in Roswell.

Room Tip: Use your AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was our first trip to Roswell, NM. We were on our way to Colorado but we wanted our kids to experience the UFO Festival in Roswell. The trip was wonderful from beginning to end. We were fortunate to find a room at Best Western since rooms were filling up fast. Everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We arrived early and the clerk was able to get us a room early. Unfortunately the room was next to a very loud yapping dog but the clerk found me a different room without any problem. Beds were comfortable, shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. Free breakfast was powdered eggs, cereal, toast and fruit. No frills but a good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Although the room was clean albeit small and cramped, the building itself is rather old. Walls were in need of painting to cover mold stains, etc. Window in the shower let in quite a bit of air although hearing the birds in the morning while showering was pleasant. The breakfast room was too small, and once something was gone, it wasn't restocked.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio

Address: 2205 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Roswell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roswell
#3 Family Hotel in Roswell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roswell
#7 Business Hotel in Roswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Roswell
Roswell Best Western
Best Western Roswell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.