We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, not spectacular but not bad either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East 19th St, Roswell, NM 88201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Roswell
Washington
1 review
“Decent hotel, not spectacular but not bad either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The lobby of the hotel is very clean and modern, and the desk staff are very friendly, efficient, and do their jobs well. The same can be said for the housekeeping staff - They consistently clean and restocked my room to my satisfaction.

Upon check-in, I noticed that my room was not marked as "no smoking". I opened my door, and while the room stank SLIGHTLY of stale cigarette smoke, it wasn't bad enough that I couldn't stay there. I find it odd that in 2011 there are still hotels that allow smoking, but if that's important to you, this hotel has it.

The lay-out of my room was quite odd. The bathroom consists only of toilet + shower/tub, and the sink is outside the bathroom in front of the door of the room, next to the mini-fridge and microwave. Towels for the sink are located in the bathroom, which repeatedly annoyed me when I needed to dry my hands or my face. Speaking of towels, if you have your own towels, I would recommend bringing them. I have rarely felt hotel towels that were rougher or in worse shape. The only other thing I would mention about the room is that it appeared VERY shoddily constructed. The wardrobe door appeared to be an afterthought, the toilet paper dispenser wasn't properly installed in the wall, the tile work in the bathroom was very poorly installed, the tub was chipped, etc. The fine finishing touches or nicer hotels are lacking here.

The wireless internet was very tough to use, but if you have an Ethernet cable, the wired internet was 10x as fast and works very well. It really exceeded my expectations for "high speed".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    56
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
70
41
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Room was very nice, though our room was hot. Like the fact that we could actually open the window and cool it off. Nice/clean bathroom. Mini-fridge & micro were nice. Beds were clean and comfortable and no fear of walking around barefoot. Night desk clerk was extremely personable, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was probably better earlier. We didn't make it down until 9:00 or so and it was pretty picked over (ran out of fruit). Egg/cheese omlet was ok. Pool area was clean and the pool/spa looked clean to go in, though we didnt because we didn't feel like it. Exercise room was small but ok, more cardio equip than anything and all was working properly. Be sure to stop by Roswell Landing, which was open late even on a week day. Seeing the owner's comb over is worth the trip alone as he looks like something from a UFO....

We just stayed overnight while traveling and it served us very well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I believe I stayed here on 3 separate occasions. I would rate it better except for a few things. I'm probably being too picky. The first time I checked in, the clerk(Phillip?) was very nice and professional and the room better than adequate. The second time I checked in, I was not greeted warmly and was treated even colder once the clerk saw I used Priceline to book. This time I was required to leave a credit card for incidentals. I'm not sure why as they do not offer anything that you would have to pay for i.e. room service, restaurant, spa etc. The room not as clean as the first time. There was a feminine hygiene product wrapper in the closet. The third time I checked in was better than the second but not as good as the first. The room: same. They do offer a free hot breakfast that is pretty decent and the lady who runs it is quite nice. Internet is free but insanely slow. Rooms have usual amenities: fridge, micro, coffee, iron etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I've been to many free breakfast buffets and this one was one of the best. Not only was the make-it-your-self waffles very, very tasty, but I loved the the strawberry topping and nonfat whipped cream! Plenty of fruit and granola bars too. The room was fine with refridgerator.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQmanager, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
We Thank You so much for the wonderful comments regarding your stay here at La Quinta Inn and Suites in Roswell NM. I will pass your comments on to my staff. We hope to see you in the near future and we plan to enhance our existing breakfast even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed here for one night and found it to be nice. It is newer and conveniently located a block or so off of the main street in Roswell with plenty of restaurants and such around. Staff is friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is good. Strong WiFi. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Ample parking. 3 floors, interior corridors with elevator. I do have to subtract a point or so for the small room and awkwardness of the bathroom layout. The shower/toilet is located in a tiny little room and the vanity is in the bedroom area, which is odd for a newer place and awkward with several people. But, otherwise I would recommend the place if rates are in the $70s or less. If higher, i'd probably check out the Marriott property on Main.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon,TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked with pricline sitting in the parking lot and got the room for 59.00 a night plus tax.When we made it to the room we went inside and it smelled like someone smoked a carton of cigarattes in there.I called the front desk and asked for another room and they said no promblem and even offered to help move my luggage.The mgr. on duty was very professiional and handled the promblem super fast.I would stay here again in a heartbeat.The breakfst lady(Debra) was very polite and cooks a mean breakfast.......Try it out if you stay in Roswell.....................

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We made a mistake and had two rooms paid for at this hotel when we only needed one. When we checked in, the hotel manager gave us our first experience of the great customer service at this property by voluntarily cancelling one of the reservations. It set the stage for a very pleasant overnight stay - the rooms were clean and comfortable, the decor in the rooms and throughout the property is lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful. The inn appears to be brand new. General Manager Bob Gutzman helped us when we checked in and was there to greet us again when we checked out - clearly setting a standard of excellence that is reflected throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQmanager, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank You for your review. I was glad to help you out and we look forward to your next visit. I will pass your review on to my staff. I hope you had a safe trip back and please feel free to contact me if we I help in any way with your lodging needs. Bob Gutman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell

Address: 200 East 19th St, Roswell, NM 88201
Location: United States > New Mexico > Roswell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roswell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roswell
#5 Business Hotel in Roswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roswell Hotel Roswell
La Quinta Roswell
Roswell La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.