We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to have an enjoyable meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TIA Juana's Restaurant

TIA Juana's Restaurant
3601 N Main St, Roswell, NM 88201-9774
15756276113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 121 Restaurants in Roswell
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to have an enjoyable meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

After driving the Roswell strip and even stopping into what appeared to be a very popular large restaurant (which we left), we found Tia Juana's. The atmosphere is old world Mexico with punched tin lighting, a quiet, grown-up atmosphere, good service and tasty food. If their chef/cooks put just a tad more knowledge into the food prep (not overcooking seafood), they would be a real standout. Over all I would recommend Tia Juana's.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    35
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Beer was cold, glasses frosty. Otherwise, nothing positive to say. Richly deserves it's near last ranking.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Tx.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A short walk from our Hotel brought us to this restaurant. What a disappointment as we were hungry after travelling for so many hours. Our waiter obviuosly hated his job as did the cook! The food was of poor quality, thrown together and then thrown on our table. Over priced is another good descriptive word here. The only good thing about this place is the cool old truck they have sitting outside playing music.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast food has better service than this.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Food was overpriced by a large margin. Had fish tacos, they had no toppings at all. Literally Charged me for cheese. One of other meals was not made at the same time as everyone else's so that person had to wait while the others ate. No manager involvement or apology, no complimentary anything for the inconvenience, just additional charges for items that most places include in the meal. Would not recommend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good option - best choice in town if you can walk from your hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Tia Juana's is OK, bordering on good. The chips, salsa, margaritas, enchiladas are all decent. As a side, try the charro beans, which are smoky and have bits of pork.

Many of Roswell's big chain lodgings are close by. If your hotel is within a mile or so, consider walking there, enjoying the evening sky and having an extra margarita or two knowing you're not driving.

Great patio, if the weather's good.

Service was friendly and fast. I recommend it to you, fellow traveler.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TIA Juana's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TIA Juana's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TIA Juana's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.