We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring River Park and Zoo

Spring River Park and Zoo
1306 E. College Blvd., Roswell, NM 88203
505-624-6760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Roswell
Type: Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Carlsbad, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was nice to get to walk through and it has a park for the kids to run even more energy off. The best thing about it is that it is free. The animals were very cute and fun.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent a lovely afternoon here--in fact, we stayed for so long that we barely had time to run through the Roswell Museum and Art Center before it closed (what little we saw looked great) and completely missed Alien Zone, which had sounded like fun. But our big kids still like animals and the outdoors best, and so the zoo won the day. It's not modern, it's not fancy, and it's almost certainly not a PC "biopark"--just an old-style, small zoo. But the staff were friendly, the animals are cared for and were easy to see and get close to, the variety was surprising, and the setting and atmosphere were relaxing and lowkey. It's obviously popular with local families; many children and parents appeared as soon as school let out. (The zoo is in a park which also has a pond and a playground.) What will you see? Prairie dogs, bison, llamas (hike to the far corner of the park to find them), goats, peacocks, ring-tailed lemurs, miniature horses, foxes, snakes, owls, eagles, bobcats ... and more. We went in winter so the concession stand, carousel, and mini train were closed, but the bathrooms were open so we were fine.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A fantastic park in an unexpected place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I have been going to this park for thirty years. My parents and I would eat lunch when the visited me at NMMI. Now we visit with our kids. The Zoo is free and well maintained by a dedicated staff. This non-profit park highlights what can be done locally my good citizens!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo and playground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We visited the zoo one afternoon in Roswell. The concession stand and the train ride weren't open, but I think it was because we went in the middle of the week and school may have already been in session. The animals are easy to see and very easy to photograph. One of the deer came right up to the fence and let me pet it. We had an enjoyable time. It's not a big city zoo by any means, but it's definitely a nice, free way to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
2 reviews
“Although it is free, it's still lacking in many areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The train ride is cool but there needs to be more animals and more attractions at this zoo.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spring River Park and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring River Park and Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.