We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roswell Museum & Art Center

Roswell Museum & Art Center
100 West Eleventh Street, Roswell, NM 88201
+1 575-624-6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Roswell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housing not only a fine art collection, the Roswell Museum & Art Center is also home to the Robert H. Goddard workshop and the Rogers Aston Collection of the American West.
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our visit was based on recommendations, which were right on target. Excellent collection and a wonderful museum shop.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    51
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Horseshoe Bay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Not a world class museum, but many interesting displays. Not worth a trip, but definitely see it if you are in town, or only a slight detour from your route.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wonderfull if you enjoy history, art and science. Especially enjoyed the moon information. There was nothing I disliked about it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great museum - on a par with major cities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great collections with plenty of available information on artists. The information on Goddard and his rocket work in Roswell was a total surprise to me. The 2 hours I was at the Museum flew by very quickly!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We came to Roswell to see the alien attractions but were disappointed and looking for more to do in this town. We found this museum and we were warmly welcomed when we entered. We were happily surprised at all the beautiful art and interesting mix of museum pieces. This is definitely a town treasure!
If you are visiting Roswell, know before you go that there are not many touristy activities in this town. You really could probably see everything you want to see in this town in a half day or less. The people here are very friendly and welcoming so we had an enjoyable visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roswell Museum & Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roswell Museum & Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.