We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives you a creepy feeling..... In a good way. Lol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International UFO Museum and Research Center

International UFO Museum and Research Center
114 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88203
505-625-9495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Attractions in Roswell
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum contains a diorama and a film of the "official" autopsy of the alien bodies after the 1947 crash.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gives you a creepy feeling..... In a good way. Lol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by and looks a little cheesy from outside but once you get inside reading all the clippings, reports, affidavits of concerned parties, kind of makes you feel a little strange thinking about what happened and the big coverup that was done trying to
end all the talk. Never realized but at the end they showed a poster for a movie that was done which makes me now want to see it just to put a better perspective on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    255
    213
    66
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It does make you wonder .... worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Yes, the Museum is a little dated but it is definitely worth a visit. The Museum is very reasonably priced and provides a lot of information [pictures, newspaper clippings, witness statements etc] that really does make you think about the 'crash' and whether or not it happened. There's also a gift shop attached to the Museum that has a good range of souvenirs for those so inclined. It's a good place to go if you're looking for a bit of light-hearted alien fun ... that also leaves you wondering.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I found this attraction to have pros and cons attached to it. I had done quite alot of research on the Roswell incident myself, and the pro is the fact that there is so much documented evidence that I did not know. I was very surprised that there was so much evidence available and they certainly put forth an extremely strong case suggesting an alien craft. The con is, a couple of displays were obviously set up for tourists. They have a main display of aliens standing under a space craft which makes noise and blows out smoke. Comeon guys and girls...how can you go to such great lengths to prove extraterrestial life and then cheapen it with a tacky display. How about a life size model of the crash itself based on accounts??? A little more appropriate I would think

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too Cheesy...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The museum is more for children. Nothing is serious. There are a lot of green cartoon aliens... Also, the gift shop had nothing interesting to purchase.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“DRIVE PAST IT!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

On my way to Colorado i thought it might be fun to take a look at the UFO museum. Boy, was I ever soooooooooo wrong. They have a center piece with a mock-up space ship and aliens. The rest of the "museum" consists of newspaper clippings and pictures detailing some of the controversy involved with the Roswell incident. While the five dollar entrance fee was reasonable, the fifteen minutes I spent inside was a total waste of time. It can't even be categorized as a museum, and I think I've seen third graders put out a better presentation of history than this place. If morbid curiosity lures you to its entrance, step right on it. Otherwise, pass pass pass pass pass.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International UFO Museum and Research Center also viewed

 

Been to International UFO Museum and Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International UFO Museum and Research Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.