We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodeo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park
Save Saved
You added Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park to your Saves list
US Hwy 80 #223, Rodeo, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had no idea where we were going to stay when I googled motels for that area. Fortunately the other places I called were to expensive or did not pick up. Mountain Valley Lodge's owner Di Ann was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable and the view incredible. I would love to go back sometime and visit. It was a fun visit.

Room Tip: The cowboy room has a nice porch with a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtvalley, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I own and operate Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park in Rodeo, N.M. and want to say thank you for staying at MVL and leaving such a nice review on TripAdvisor! I have enjoyed meeting you. DiAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have found our winter home away from home! We stayed in the Rv park for roughly three monthes. Didn't want to move on it was so wonderful! Very friendly quiet town. Diann our hostess was great! Joined the hiking group on several hikes and Diann also took us on some great ones. Laundry faculties are on site which was really handy for us. Beautiful landscaping and the back drop of mountains in front and back were just terrific. In town within walking distance of two restaurants and tavern. Art galleries too. We will definately return this year! Diann was so helpful and the place is clean warm and comfortable. Yes we have found the great southwest at.its best!

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms by a personal tour. They all look comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in the Cowboy Room, which was decorated accordingly. The room and bath were nicely updated. There was also a small kitchen area with a refrigerator and microwave. It sits close to a road, but there is little traffic, so it wasn't an issue. The owner was very helpful and friendly. It was our favorite of the places we stayed during our visit to southeastern Arizona. The others were chain motels and this was a pleasant change. It is in a remote area but was convenient to Cave Creek Canyon.

Room Tip: No fitness center or kid's activities. This is an area known for bird watching. Nice place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here a week and were so comfy we could have stayed longer. We had originally booked the La Casita but Di Ann knew there was going to be a checkout the day we were checking in so she offered to upgrade us for free to the La Paloma so she wouldn't be rushed to clean. We took the upgrade and we were glad we did. It was a bigger unit, perfect for being 'park central' to my father-in-law in the Cowboy unit and a friend who parked his trailer in the rv space. We cooked every night, which turned out to be a good strategy given the low diversity of restaurants in the area. I communicated quite a bit with Di Ann while meal planning at home to make sure I knew what was present to cook with, and anything that wasn't already there Di Ann graciously stocked from her own kitchen if necessary to make it easy on me. She even had briquettes for the barbecue grill that were leftover from a previous guest so we didn't need to bring them. Not only was the kitchen convenient, but the whole place was set up great for an extended stay. It was truly like having our own house. We slept in only one of the beds and it was pretty comfy. We used the second bedroom for our luggage so we could spread out more (both bedrooms were pretty small). The bathroom (in between the two bedrooms) was really spacious with lots of room to put out cosmetics, etc, and it was well stocked with shampoo, soap and towels. All in all, a great home away from home.

I also checked out the Cowboy room -- it was adorable! I didn't spend much time in there but my father in law said it was comfortable.

This place has a lot to offer for a great price. About the only drawback is that it is not right in the canyon, but if you can live with that you can definitely save money and probably be more comfortable in every other way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeo, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Quiet peaceful and warm and cozy! Stay and see all the local birds, as well as a wonderful hostess, DiAnn! We will stay here whenever we come to little Rodeo, New Mexico! I love the the old fashion stuff that she has reconditioned and it adds a nice home type feeling to the rooms with good memories of the old days.Very Clean and equipped kitchen that is very nice to cook in. I loved are stay and give it a Five Star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The price is so reasonable that even those on a fixed income can afford to stay. The views and landscaping are awesome. This place was a wonderful surprise. Due to my job I am frequently in Rodeo AT least once a month I rent a room from DiAnn. These rooms are great. They each have a theme and the rooms are decorated according to the theme. The smallest room is the size of an efficiency apartment and furnished accordingly..

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I use The Mountain Valley Lodge frequently, both as a place to park myself if I've just gotten to town and can't get my place up and running right away, and as a place to stash family and friends who come to visit. The accomodations are excellent and DiAnn is a fun and gracious hostess. Over the years, both myself and friends and family have stayed in all of the rooms and casitas and can safely say that if you are looking for great lodging in the Bootheel Country, DiAnn's is the place to go.

Room Tip: Call first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park

Address: US Hwy 80 #223, Rodeo, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Rodeo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Rodeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 cabin is a 1 bedroom, 1 cabin is a 2 bedroom,both with full kitchens, Cowboy room has a ref. and mic.& DVD player,Indian room has a ref.& mic.dish tv.,coffee makers with coffee in all rooms,Verizon cell coverage, free WiFi available, Laundry room, bath house, RV Park with 50 & 30 amp, Koi pond, Lots of free parking. Small pet allowed in 1 room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Valley Lodge & RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.