We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some carpet cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1771 Rio Rancho Blvd., Rio Rancho, NM 87124   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Rancho
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Needs some carpet cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice people doing a good job. No Garden in sight so plan on a view of a parking lot or of a busy street and factory. Otherwise very generic and forget-able The very young staff are eager to please Broken hair-dryer holder in room wasn't a big deal but was reflective of the lack of attention to service details often seen in a mediocre hotel. Maybe Hilton could pay someone to walk through the rooms periodically, mimicking the moves of a guest and realizing how many small broken bits are accumulating without guest comment? Next time, I think I'll try the other hotel option, but for some reason don't expect much difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent post regarding our Hilton Garden Inn in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. Yes the name Hilton Garden Inn would lead you to believe that a garden would be located within the grounds of every Garden Inn. Unfortunately there are many Hilton Garden Inn across the globe that do not have gardens. There are many factors such as geographic location and space that determines if a garden will be placed or not. Thank for for your mention of our staff being eager to please our guests. We believe customer service is crucial and provide an atmosphere of customer service. The hotel was built in 1998 so aging is occuring but we do our best to keep it up to date and fresh. Our housekeeping staff actually does a second check on all rooms for any miscellanous items that need repair. We are excited that our lobby will be going under renovations shortly to provide a modern atmosphere. All HIlton Gardens will have similar lobbies within the next year. We do hope you stop by in the future to see our new upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    92
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
88
60
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful and breakfast was first rate. Property is starting to show it's age but the service from the staff more than made up for it. If your in Rio Rancho for family or business it is certainly worth your consideration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Wow thank you for the positve feedback from your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho. It is good to hear that our strong focus on customer service from our entire team is shining through.
The good news is we are expecting to have some upgrades and renovations completed by mid-2014. Please come back and see us next time you are in Albuquerque or Rio Rancho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn has no well mannered costumer service representatives. Lots of eye rolling when I made valid complaints. Overall just checking in was annoying. Was given a smoking room and when asked for a new room on the same floor I had a lot of negativity and was told no from staff. That nothing was available on the same floor. We guess what, about 20 mins later I got a call from the front desk and magically a room came available. Why put me through the stress (and sneezing) and not just give me a new room in the first place. Also, since I made payment through 'hotels.com' the only thing I was given was an apology. Unaccepted. You know why? Because it was a 'I'm sorry if you felt like you were mistreated' apology. Not 'I'm sorry for rude staff, eye rolling, a smokey room, and closing down the pool while the kids were in it, rattling ac that distrusted your sleep, hiding the hot cocoa from kids' apology. It should have been the latter! I will never stay here again! What a stressed out stay for us! I'm very upset that because I booked with hotels.com I received no refund which is what their guarantee stated!!! Lesson learned!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We appreciate your post regarding our HIlton Garden Inn Rio Rancho. We value and appreciate the feedback from all our guests weather it be positive or negative. Sorry to hear that you feel that the service you received was not what you anticipated. Our staff is put through training for customer service so it surprises us that we were not consistent with our servcie during your stay. We will review our training and guidelines especially with large groups and ensure our entire staff is fully trained. Again we appreciate your feedback and regret that you do not inted to stay with us again. We guarantee that customer service is our top priority and hope you give us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overall Excellent. Large Rooms. Quiet. Comfortable bed. Nice TV, large desk. Coffee pot & ice container. Also a small refrigerator which kept "everything" cold. Cleanliness of the room and hallways were remarkably well kept by custodians. Location of the hotel in Albuquerque was easily accessible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. It makes us happy to hear that we are doing a good job in providing excellent service and a quality product to our guests. We agree that our location is convenient to both Albuquerque and Rio Rancho.
We sincerely hope you come back and stay with us if you are ever in town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here while having a home repair that kept us out of our home for 11 days. The staff was wonderful and the room was very comforable. The fitness area is small but nice with all the equipment you need while away from home. The pool and hot tub were clean and enjoyable. We have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor post regarding our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. We are happy to hear that your 11 day stay with us was enjoyable for you. Glad to hear that you took advantage of our fitness room. We do try to keep various types of exercise equipment available for our guests.
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate hearing back from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Let me start off by saying we are seasoned Hilton hotel guests. We stayed here for a soccer tournament and to say this hotel is NOT kid friendly is an understatement. This hotel is not like other Hilton Garden Inn hotels. The interior is out dated and looks like a motel 6. Day one problems: Indoor pool is not kept up, room has no ventilation and therefore hard to breathe. It is VERY small and needs a paint job. Front office staff didn't want to deal with complaints of rooms smelling like smoke and the eye rolling started soon after. We were told fresh baked cookies would be out at 5, and kids being kids were excited about it! They were told in a rude manner to "come back in 20 minutes" about 3 times. Finally, the cookies came out and the patient kids were then told in a rude manner they could only have one! Later that evening our team of kids were swimming and were yelled at by front office staff that only 4 people could be in the hot tub. The sign posting that is not visible unless you turn the corner and sit in the back. Day two problems: after a long day at the soccer fields we returned to the hotel and promised the kids they could swim one last time together. Front office staff were not welcoming on our return, not even a "hi" or smile. Ten minutes into our swim, the "chief engineer" came in and said he had to check the pool chlorine levels. He then advised us that we must all get out of the pool because the levels were off. While I understand safety of guests comes first, why were the levels so conveniently checked right as the kids wanted to swim? They should have been checked in the morning or afternoon, not 2 hours before the pool closes. It almost felt like they didn't want the kids swimming and closed the pool. Kids then wanted to have some hot chocolate and watch a movie together
Since they couldn't swim. The hot chocolate packets ran out and they asked for some more. Rosalie told them there was no more, so they asked another employee and he told them he would get some. She then told him not to and that they could not have any. Once again! Another reason why this hotel is not kid friendly. Why did she feel the need to lie to these kids? After I went down to complain and ask for more hot chocolate packets, she reluctantly told that other employee to bring more out. No apologies were given. Day three: we broke down and decided to purchase the over priced "breakfast buffet" needless to say, they ran out of most of the items and after 30 minutes of waiting for more bacon and eggs, it was time to leave for our soccer game. So we basically paid $30 for boxed cereal, fruit and waffles. All in all, this is BY FAR THE WORST hotel stay we have had! We are so happy to be leaving today and not having to fight with the front staff about every little thing. So much for an anticipated fun, relaxing weekend. We should have just kept our Embassy Suites reservation and drove the extra 20 miles to the soccer fiends. I find it funny that in the elevator, a satisfaction guarantee promise is posted stating Hilton will do whatever it takes to ensure you're satisfied or you don't pay. I'm contacting Hilton corporate about this horrible service and the mistreatment by Rosalie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent post regarding our Hilton Garden Inn hotel located in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We do strive to provide excellent service to each and everyone of our guests. And we apologize if you feel that you did not receive courteous service from our staff. We will address the issue with our entire staff. We are a focused service hotel which means we have limited staffing therefore less staff available upon demand. We do consider ourselves Kid friendly and even have coloring books for our children guests. It is unfortunate we had to close the pool during your stay but one of our guests questioned the levels in the pool so we rechecked them per their request and we found them to be high (even though we do check our pool every morning and night) so we closed it for the safety of our guests.
Again, we apologize for any inconveniences you may have incurred during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

It's my first stayingat this hotel. I never got so much as a smile from the front staff. Any question I had was answered with a generous amountof eye rolling. EYE ROLLING! Apparently some women shared in my disgust of the staff but were much more vocal about it. How do I know this? Because the staff was gossiping about them two feet in front of me like a couple of teenage high school girls. Servicewas so bad I was beginningto think I was on a hidden camera show. So sorry to have given this hotel any of my business. I'll be sure it doesn't happen again, and I'll let everyone in my comm tree know not to come here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent post regarding our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. We greatly value your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during the check in process of your stay. We do provide training to all of our staff as well as expect courteous professionalism from every one of our employees. We will follow up with our front desk to ensure they are following the proper etiquette when checking in and welcoming our guests.
Again we do apologize for discomfort you may have felt.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho

Address: 1771 Rio Rancho Blvd., Rio Rancho, NM 87124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Rio Rancho
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Rancho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho Hotel Rio Rancho
Hilton Rio Rancho
Rio Rancho Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Rio Rancho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.