We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk staff, but hotel showing its age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Rio Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Rio Rancho to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Rio Rancho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4081 High Resort Boulevard, Rio Rancho, NM 87124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Rancho
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff, but hotel showing its age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We've stayed a few times over the past 5 years, and the hotel is definitely showing its age. The rooms are still okay but with a few signs of mildew, recaulking, paint blemishes. However, beware of the pool area. The ceiling has multiple large spots of sheetrock and paint hanging down from moisture damage, as if at any moment a big chunk could fall into the pool. Also, the pool water was not heated well--very cold.
That said, the front desk staff is remarkably professional.
Other good things of note: warm cookie upon check-in, free WIFI, mini-fridge in the room, 2 complimentary bottles of water in the room, comfortable queen beds, loudish cooler/fan; standard continental breakfast; no elevator, just 2 floors and stairs (which we didn't mind).
Would probably rate it 4 if it weren't for the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
19
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Junction, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

great price and value. very clean. staff was very nice. manager on duty was so nice he went out of his way and bought us flowers. thanks for the great memorable trip

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here for one night after arriving late at night from Ireland to Albuquerque after a very long day and 2 flights.

Hotel staff were very helpful in the days before when we had to delay our flights and needed to cancel our booking and re-book for 3 days later.

On arrival we were all given a freshly baked cookie. Room was fine a little small but that could have been due to 5 of us sharing and alot of baggage.
Internet service was free and was great to have to let everyone back home know we were arrived safe and sound
Breakfast room was a good size and very busy that morning. But my family and I managed to get some cereal and juice..waffles, eggs,fruit and yogurt were also available.
There is also an indoor pool.
Hotel is close to a few restaurants and shops
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach City, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I called to confirm my reservation and was told they changed me to second floor. I explained I was recuping from a broken foot and Craig got my room changed back. Stayed two nights to see grandchildren in Albuquerque. Restaurants within walking. Parking for our trailer was in back and unlit. Nice indoor pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed here during a gymnastics event that was being held in Rio Rancho. The price of the hotel was good and the remodel was fine, but the hotel was completely under staffed. The line to check-in was litterally out the door. The solitary person at the front desk was completely overwhelmed. Granted the hotel was booked to capacity but you would think that mgmt would have planned for the crowds. Breakfast was a mess. Yes lots of kids in the breakfast area but there was no one from the hotel maintaining the breakfast area. We had two rooms, both non-smoking. The room on the second floor was fine but the room on the first floor was in a smoking hall. When you went to the room you could see the smoke hanging in the hall, gross. This made the room have a slight smell. TV in one of the rooms was broken so the front desk handed me a new remote and instruction book.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corning
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Outstanding in every way. The Breakfast was amazing and the customer service was so outstanding that I sought out the general manager to ask how they achieved that level of customer service from every employee. Our rooms were out of this world. The beds and pillows were like sleeping on clouds.We are already looking forward to our next trip there.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is a very nice hotel. The service at the front desk was outstanding!! I went for a concert at the Santa Ana Star Center and the front desk already had maps ready and a list of places to go afterwards!!! AMAZING!! You could tell that the hotel was recently renovated (by reading other reviews, it seems it used to be a ramada) but now it is a wonderful place and rooms are very clean and accessible.Love the LCD TV. Would have liked HD, but its ok. Now for some bad comments. The A/C didnt work very well, but after a while it cooled the room down. Bathroom area was TINY and there was a HUGE heat lamp in the shower area that made me sweat just looking at it. The hotel is in an odd location, very beautiful city of Rio Rancho, but it is 10 miles from any highway!! we got lost for an hour trying to find it! turns out you can only go 10 miles north or 10 miles south to get to a highway. kinda inconvenient, but not too bad.

Overall this hotel is fantastic! i would stay here again in a heartbeat and the service was great!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Rio Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Rio Rancho

Address: 4081 High Resort Boulevard, Rio Rancho, NM 87124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Rio Rancho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Rancho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Rio Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Rio Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Rancho Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Rio Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.