We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice in general” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice in general”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice in general, clean, friendly staff. We were on bikes and they accommodated us. They have an arrangement with the Capo restaurant, an unexciting place next door that gives 10% off for BW clients. As I write we are waiting for the office to open for breakfast so we can get back on our bikes for our 55 mile trip. It is posted to open at 7 and that's what staff said yesterday. It is 7.45

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    45
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
123
108
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falcon, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Last minute decision to leave a day early and book a room, glad we did. The guys at the front desk were really nice and welcoming! We did arrive a little late like around 8 or 830 pm, so absolutely nothing was open in town for food or a snack, the hotel does have drink vending machines but not snack. After driving through town searching for something husband had indigestion and one of the front desk guys helped him out (thank you!!). Room was very clean and at the back so the sound of the running river was awesome! Slept great on comfy beds and awoke to a beautiful view of the mountain directly across from river with ski lift, nice decking on back with seating to enjoy the sights and sounds (need to return for longer stay). Appeared to be in a great location with short walk to many shops, stores, and activities.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an interesting little hotel. Feels almost like a B&B more than a chain. I think the staff is good (one guy definitely better than the other during the several days of our stay). The rooms are clean and the public area is well kept. It is probably one of the better places to stay in the area if you are a skier (one of the lifts is within a hundred yards).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the Platinum lift and Lift Haus. It is extremely clean, has very comfortable beds and nice decor, and the complimentary breakfast includes made-to-order eggs, waffles, and bacon. There is a good selection of toasts, bagels, fruit, and cereals with juice, milk and hot coffees. The management is superior. We wanted a clean hotel with a great location and this was absolutely perfect for my daugher and I for a fun spring break. The only thing I would improve is the free Wi-Fi. We could get connected, but the band width was not enough to really stay connected. But, we had our cell phone service for necessary contacts.
We had a river-side room, and loved this part. We could sit outside the room on outdoor furniture and enjoy the view while resting after a day of skiing. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower-level, river-side room....excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent hotel for skiing Red River within walking distance of lifts. The hotel was clean, the service was exceptional, breakfast was good. The hotel is in the middle of town so no car is needed to go anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family of four stayed at the BW Rivers Edge for a Spring Break ski trip. The location is perfect - next door to the lift and the Lift House and a very short walk to a number of stores and restaurants. The staff made us feel like we were guests in their home! They made a great hot breakfast every morning and were always extremely friendly and accomodating. The room, especially the bathroom, was a little small but it was very clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. The outside area of the hotel was very nice -- a babbling stream, picnic tables, grills, etc. I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mike Patel runs an awesome place. The hotel is clean, full of friendly staff, updated with great furnishings and a killer TV. The computer in the lobby actually works and the breakfast is the best deal in town. The best part about this place is that it is dog friendly and walking distance to the lift.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge

Address: 301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only franchised lodge in town, the River's Edge Lodge provides several amenities found nowhere else in Red River, such as air conditioning, free hot breakfast each morning, 42" HDTV's & HBO/SHO/250+ HD channels, and the assurance that we are meeting all of Best Western's increasingly stringent standards. We have the best location in town, with the Red River wrapping around the property's quiet, park-like setting (coming within 20 feet of some of the rooms). The Carson National Forest and a nature trail stretching for miles lie just across the river, and the Red River Ski Area's main Platinum chair lift is literally a few dozen steps away from our lobby's front door. The town's only grocery store and most of the best restaurants are similarly located within a very short walk. Come stay with the River's Edge and we will go the extra distance to make sure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River`s Edge Hotel Red River
Best Western Red River
Red River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.