We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for the whole family! Loved this place and the staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Red River
Cuero, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience for the whole family! Loved this place and the staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first trip to see snow with all our kiddos...needless to say, we are going back and staying with the same people, same place. Felt like home. Mike was a great host and was always willing to give advice, making our trip more enjoyable and very hassle free! Can't wait 'til next year! Location is great ~ walk out your door and your on the slopes. The breakfasts cooked in the lobby were just perfect before heading out on the slopes and mighty tasty! The kids were able to sled down the mountain beside the hotel in front of Lift House Bar in the late afternoon and this is a real highlight! Great memories were made and we look forward to many more!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    35
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
87
78
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Mike is the best host EVER!!! We only stayed 1 night on our way to Colorado, but it was a great night. Would definetly stay for awhile if we could. Hotel is beautiful, clean, & right on the river. I give it a 5+!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very courteous staff, including housekeeping. We were pleasantly allowed an early check in. The room was very clean and had huge lcd tv and clean remote. Hot breakfast waffle, eggs, with juice was a nice touch. A/C was nice in the afternoon.

Motel has decks with table and chairs to enjoy the Red River. You can easily fish while just a few steps from your room. You can watch the chair lift run or take a short walk to the grocery store or Community House. Huge gravel parking area next door with plenty of room to park a trailer or oversize vehicle.

No pool and I did not see a fitness area. No restaurant but I ate twice at Capo's Italian Restaurant across the street. mmmm. They give hotel guests 10% off.

This is not a cheap room but it is very clean and nice. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I would want a room on the ground floor facing the river. Better access to everything and who wants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just left Red River a week ago and we want to go back so bad. This was our first trip to this wonderful community and we enjoyed every second of it... even the days it rained! We were there a full week and the service we got from Mike and Mark was outstanding. They were very informative about the area and really helped us while we were there (their eggs were pretty good too). The room was clean and smelled wonderful (when we got home the smell was still on our blankets we took). When it rained we could watch TV with our door open, hear the river right outside our back door. When they had the fire pit going we went down and just looked up at the stars and enjoyed the warmth of the fire. We cannot wait to go back there again. If you can get a room on the back side of the hotel...get it! It's truly beautiful to walk out the door and be at the river's edge within just a few steps!

Room Tip: Any room on the back side of the hotel are the best... especial
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our 3rd year in a row to stay at this hotel. We love it. Mike and Courtney really know how to make your stay the best. Rooms are very clean. Fire pit in the evenings and even free entertainment and beverages on our last night there. Everyone was great. The rooms on the back side overlook the creek. We WILL be back for sure. Thanks for 4 great nights!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Never been in Red River before. Very impressed with our one night stay! Room was very clean and the hotel is right next to the Red River. What ambiance! Mike, the host, was very welcoming and even prepared breakfast in the morning. Hope to be back!

Room Tip: Room was quiet. No problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the river - lovely. At night, the fire pit was delightful - families toasted marshmallows and guests warmed their feet. People were catching trout right outside the motel. Our room was fine. Service was fine. The hotel was clean. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge

Address: 301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only franchised lodge in town, the River's Edge Lodge provides several amenities found nowhere else in Red River, such as air conditioning, free hot breakfast each morning, 42" HDTV's & HBO/SHO/250+ HD channels, and the assurance that we are meeting all of Best Western's increasingly stringent standards. We have the best location in town, with the Red River wrapping around the property's quiet, park-like setting (coming within 20 feet of some of the rooms). The Carson National Forest and a nature trail stretching for miles lie just across the river, and the Red River Ski Area's main Platinum chair lift is literally a few dozen steps away from our lobby's front door. The town's only grocery store and most of the best restaurants are similarly located within a very short walk. Come stay with the River's Edge and we will go the extra distance to make sure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River`s Edge Hotel Red River
Best Western Red River
Red River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.