We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location in Red River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alpine Lodge & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Edmond, OK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best location in Red River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. This is by far the best location in Red River. You have a great view, and you are just a few steps from the lift. The lodge is located right on the creek and it has a bridge that runs over it. We stayed in room 303, the honeymoon suite. It had an amazing view which was what we were hoping for. It has a very large balcony with chairs. You have a perfect view of "The Face" which is a black trail on the mountain. We really enjoyed watching everyone fall down that trail. We had a problem with the heater, we didn't realize that it was heated by water so it takes a little while to get it to heat the room so you should turn it on before you leave for the day to give it time to heat up. We called the front desk because we thought it was broken and they sent someone up within minutes. He was very polite and checked out the heater for us. These rooms are very clean, slightly outdated though. Nothing too bad. Yes, the rooms do smell a little, my husband didn't notice though. I don't care where you stay, if you are on a mountain the room will smell. There's no way around it with people bringing their wet clothes and boots in. You are within walking distance of pretty much everywhere in Red River and you are I think 3 buildings down from the grocery store. The staff is all very friendly. I highly recommend you try Shotgun Willie's. The chili cheese fries are ridiculous. If we go back to Red River, we will definately stay here again, in room 303.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    31
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
67
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

OK 1st things first - The hotel lived up to its billing - Room was very clean, bed was comfortable, pillows were new, fireplace was a bonus. We had use of the private hot tubs for as long as we wanted. They were clean and hot and we used twice each day so that was good. Our room had a great view of the mountains and park. We had a lot of deer in the park each evening and even fed the ducks a couple of times. We burned a couple of campfires on the nights it was not too windy and thoroughly enjoyed those. Place was great and staff was all very nice. They do offer free Wi-Fi but my room did not pick it up consistently so had to use computer in the lobby. Our biggest gripe was that town was so slow - we only had a couple of choices for dinner both next to the Alpine - Capos and Timbers. Also, we wanted to rent a Jeep but no one was open and we could not buy a fishing license anywhere in town - had to go twelve miles to Questa? Still had a great time but just know that April in Red River is their slow time!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We just got back from a 3 week trek through Arizona, Utah, Colorado and New Mexico. We stayed at six different hotels/lodges/B&Bs during the trip and our stay at the Alpine Lodge was by far the nicest, most relaxing and memorable of them all. We had researched where to stay in Red River thoroughly online and decided on the Alpine after seeing the overwhelming number of positive reveiws. Thanks Trip Advisor. We had a great time, room was terrific, staff could not have been nicer and you can not beat the location next to the ski area. We could not get over how great the views were and that is something that the hotel and Red River need to market more - the mountains just come right down into town! Unbelievable!!! We were a little concerned about the snow conditions but the skiing ended up being great - we had some fresh powder and about 90% of the mountain was open. Not too bad for 'spring' skiing in New Mexico.

Some input to company owning the property - nice attention to detail with just the overall feel of the property: the music, the river, the campfire, the great lobby, the park, the serenity, the friendly staff, etc... The front desk lady was exceptionally nice and polite, our room was very clean, and they had the heat on when we 1st arrived so first impressions were out of sight and we knew we were staying at a 'nice' place. The Housekeeping staff did a good job servicing us each day with clean towels, making the beds, getting the trash out, etc... so that was nice. We really enjoyed having the fireplace and getting to use real wood made the evenings pretty special. Our kitchen had all new appliances and the whole room had that 'new' feel to it so that was much appreciated. We really liked how peaceful the property was and enjoyed our walks each evening.

Two suggestions: Parking could be more clearly defined. We were a little confused by where/how to park. We had a small trailer and were not allowed to park it in front of our room. The property also has a 'Quiet' time policy from 10pm until 8am. We were on Texas time so our kids were up by 6am "Red River" time. We sent them out to play and they got a little rowdy and were asked to calm down some because they were bothering some other guests. I think 7am would be a better time - most guests are up by then anyway. Anyway, just some imput to whomever it may concern.

Overall, we had a tremendous experience at the Alpine and would give it a 9.8 out of 10 and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandJWalker, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Alpine and in our little town of Red River. We are so appreciative of all of our repeat customers and all of our new guests (like yourself) who are just discovering us! Thanks for the feedback - we will try to better convey our location and our views in all of our future marketing efforts. We do restrict the parking of trailers to our east lot. This is to prevent congestion in our main lot and to protect our guests' views and overall access. I will try and get some better signage before the summer season. We do periodically have guests question our 'Quiet' time but we hear predominately positive feedback on this policy.Our guests have really come to expect the peacefulness and serenity that exists on the property and we would be hard pressed to change this.
Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Where do I start? It is obvious when you first enter your room that the owner does not spend anything on maintenance or upkeep. Carpets are filthy, the shower heads have so much build-up on them, shower curtains and hooks were filthy, soap was provided but no shampoo, very cheap furniture and bedding, in the room I was in, there was a 3/8' gap around the door that allowed the cold air inside, the paint was peeling and cracking from the interior doors, frames, and walls, no coffee pot in room, no iron or board, hangers and hanger rod was rusted. I mean come on! At least invest in a little paint! And don't even look at the plumbing going to the sinks! No internet in the rooms either.I have stayed in other hotels that have many more amenities and are cleaner and have better prices.
I usually can understand a few items and am not hard to please, but when you are overwhelmed by all of this, anybody would notice and never stay here again. Not to mention...if you want a cup of coffee in the morning, you have to wait until 8 am. What's up with that? Can we at least get a pot of coffee going at 7 am for the earlier risers?
Do yourself a favor, don't make the mistake I did and stay here.....if there is nothing else available in town, drive to Angel Fire or even Taos to get a room. It's worth the drive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed in the main building at the Alpine on the 3rd floor. Walking up the staircase we were struck by the smell of the carpet - evidently heavy carpet cleaner used but the smell was overpowering. Dim/dark hallway. Room was spacious & clean, but has not been updated in a long time...couch old as were the bedspreads and items in the bedroom. The lighting was so poor that we couldn't see the things we were attempting to put in the cubbies (only clothes storage in the room) by the closet. A little up-dating would go a long way. TV had poor picture. They advertised free wireless wi-fi but not all the rooms got wi-fi. I also didn't like the way they worked the hot tub use...they used a "first come first serve" and they limit it to 30 minutes at a time. Guess that is fair with only two hot tubs, but the facility is so large that they certainly need more than that if they are going to advertise them. Would have liked a coffee pot in the room and towels which were not paper thin. Maybe there is an up-dated part of the lodge and we were just not put there? Staff was friendly - it's close and a cute place...just needs some investment to make it stellar.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandJWalker, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Thank you for the feedback. We did experiment with a new 'environmentally friendly' cleanser this past season and did have a few complaints about the smell. We have discontinued the use of this product. We have purchased new fixtures for the entire third level but have been waiting for our 'slow' period to install them (This should improve the lighting in the Main Chalet building) We will replace the couch in your room before the summer season. We are tiling your bathroom and entry way currently (it should be completed by Friday) We had several complaints about our hot tub use policy this past winter. I don't have a solution other than just keeping them both open and letting it be a 'free for all' type situation. I know there would be security and safety issues with this. We also would have the problem of guests staying at other hotels (which do not have hot tubs) attempting to use ours and keeping our guests from using them. I am not sure what the answer is but we did have some complaints so it might be time to try something else.
Thank you again for your input and we will continue to work hard each day to both improve the property and better serve each and every one of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

There was 4 of us - mother and 2 daughters - in their 20's and her friend. When we arrived they had yodaling (sp?) playing - that was cool. I had skied Red River about 10 years ago and wanted to take my girls. I was worred about the snow - when I was there before they had to make snow. We got 9" the first day and 10" the next. Check in was easy. OUR ROOM - #8 - 2 bedroom 1 bath condo. The balcony was huge and over looked the river running beside and the slope. The rooms were perfect. The kitchen and the living room was an open concept. VERY CLEAN. We had 2 blankets each on the beds and a cover. The second night we called and ask for more blankets because one of my daugghters wanted to sleep on the couch because her friend snores.........lol. They had blankets to us with in min. The TV was very clear. Every night they had a bomb fire (if you will) outside our room with 2 swinging chairs - (pics included) This hotel is a ski n ski out. As you know 25 year olds can get very loud at night - the way this is set up it was okay. I love you Alpine - keep in mind - if you are looking for chandeliers and crystal - go to Vail. Slopes - just great - what can I say - snow was powder like Colorada - hard to even make a snowman. Town - you can walk anywhere- LOT'S eateries everywhere and prices are good. We even walked to the grocery store 1/2 block away. We snow mobiled the 3rd day - They staff was great - and my girls thought the guides were HOT>>>>>lol (of course "I" was called down for running the mobil the wrong way on the meadow....lol) - I have NOTHING bad to say about the Alpine or the slopes or the snow mobil or the town. It was one of the best vacations I have had. I had skied Colorada, which is great, and the Catskills. They even had a liquor store....NOW HERE IT COMES..........We fly into Alb. and took Twin Hearts to Red River. This guy that drove us was Rude. We had us and 5 other people on the van. We were the last to get off. I think his name was John - not sure - wore a hat. We watched to see what the others tipped. As each one got off NO ONE TIPPED. He just got there bags and that was it - When we got out he turned to us and said "What? no tip?" I only had hundreds ad a few ones. I said - "You didn't ask any of them for a tip why us?" He replied - Yah, and wanted to punch them." Because I knew we had to be picked back up at 6:00 a.m. on the last day to get to the airport I tipped him. I wish you could hear from my girls - he drove like a maniac. It scared us to death. Now with that being said - it was a different driver who picked us up on time - drove safe in the snow and was kind. If you want any information - email me at ftwthgirl@charter.net - p.s. they do have clubs for you who want night life.................

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Christmas in Red River and at the Alpine Lodge - it just does not get any better!!!! We love Red River. It is just the most special and unique little town we had ever been to. It is so old fashioned and laid back and quaint and peaceful and beautiful. We just could not get enough of it and really hated to leave. We stayed in one of the Alpine's two bedroom condo units. It was very nice and all with new furniture, appliances, etc... but we would have preferred something a little more rustic and woodsy. They have some older cabin styled units but those were already booked when we made our reservations for this year. We peeked in some windows and really liked both #19 and #33 as far as having that 'mountain' feel to them. (The manager said these book up anywhere form eight months to a year out)
We did like being so close to the ski area and to Main St. We were able to walk everywhere which was nice and never had to get back in our car. The town was decorated to the hilt for Christmas, the snow could not have been any better and the people everywhere were just exceptional. We also especially enjoyed the nightly campfire and roasting marshmellows. It all made for very, very special Christmas and the Lord willing we will be back next year!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Ambiance, Cheerfull Staff and Location
  • Disliked — It would have been nice to have been able to bring our cat
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;