We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan. 2009-The best of the best - thank you Alpine-read for all the details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alpine Lodge & Hotel to your Saves list
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Watauga, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jan. 2009-The best of the best - thank you Alpine-read for all the details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

There was 4 of us - mother and 2 daughters - in their 20's and her friend. When we arrived they had yodaling (sp?) playing - that was cool. I had skied Red River about 10 years ago and wanted to take my girls. I was worred about the snow - when I was there before they had to make snow. We got 9" the first day and 10" the next. Check in was easy. OUR ROOM - #8 - 2 bedroom 1 bath condo. The balcony was huge and over looked the river running beside and the slope. The rooms were perfect. The kitchen and the living room was an open concept. VERY CLEAN. We had 2 blankets each on the beds and a cover. The second night we called and ask for more blankets because one of my daugghters wanted to sleep on the couch because her friend snores.........lol. They had blankets to us with in min. The TV was very clear. Every night they had a bomb fire (if you will) outside our room with 2 swinging chairs - (pics included) This hotel is a ski n ski out. As you know 25 year olds can get very loud at night - the way this is set up it was okay. I love you Alpine - keep in mind - if you are looking for chandeliers and crystal - go to Vail. Slopes - just great - what can I say - snow was powder like Colorada - hard to even make a snowman. Town - you can walk anywhere- LOT'S eateries everywhere and prices are good. We even walked to the grocery store 1/2 block away. We snow mobiled the 3rd day - They staff was great - and my girls thought the guides were HOT>>>>>lol (of course "I" was called down for running the mobil the wrong way on the meadow....lol) - I have NOTHING bad to say about the Alpine or the slopes or the snow mobil or the town. It was one of the best vacations I have had. I had skied Colorada, which is great, and the Catskills. They even had a liquor store....NOW HERE IT COMES..........We fly into Alb. and took Twin Hearts to Red River. This guy that drove us was Rude. We had us and 5 other people on the van. We were the last to get off. I think his name was John - not sure - wore a hat. We watched to see what the others tipped. As each one got off NO ONE TIPPED. He just got there bags and that was it - When we got out he turned to us and said "What? no tip?" I only had hundreds ad a few ones. I said - "You didn't ask any of them for a tip why us?" He replied - Yah, and wanted to punch them." Because I knew we had to be picked back up at 6:00 a.m. on the last day to get to the airport I tipped him. I wish you could hear from my girls - he drove like a maniac. It scared us to death. Now with that being said - it was a different driver who picked us up on time - drove safe in the snow and was kind. If you want any information - email me at ftwthgirl@charter.net - p.s. they do have clubs for you who want night life.................

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    36
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
71
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
College Station
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Christmas in Red River and at the Alpine Lodge - it just does not get any better!!!! We love Red River. It is just the most special and unique little town we had ever been to. It is so old fashioned and laid back and quaint and peaceful and beautiful. We just could not get enough of it and really hated to leave. We stayed in one of the Alpine's two bedroom condo units. It was very nice and all with new furniture, appliances, etc... but we would have preferred something a little more rustic and woodsy. They have some older cabin styled units but those were already booked when we made our reservations for this year. We peeked in some windows and really liked both #19 and #33 as far as having that 'mountain' feel to them. (The manager said these book up anywhere form eight months to a year out)
We did like being so close to the ski area and to Main St. We were able to walk everywhere which was nice and never had to get back in our car. The town was decorated to the hilt for Christmas, the snow could not have been any better and the people everywhere were just exceptional. We also especially enjoyed the nightly campfire and roasting marshmellows. It all made for very, very special Christmas and the Lord willing we will be back next year!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Ambiance, Cheerfull Staff and Location
  • Disliked — It would have been nice to have been able to bring our cat
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We had lost our room due to poor booking processes at Best Western there in Red RIver so I called Alpine Lodge in hopes of finding a room last minute. We got the last room however had to pay for 4 nights up front non-refundable when i only needed three nights. Rooms are simple and way overpriced but clean. Wireless internet works only in office from what we could tell from asking around as it did not work in our room. Hot tubs are hardly useable as they limit you to 30 minute time limit and close at 9pm. Location is great is you are basically within walking distance of everything.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

The Alpine Lodge has one of the best locations in Red River. It's right next to the red chair lift and within a block of the grocery store and several good restaurants. Just know that (the location) is what you're paying for. It's a $40 hotel room that they get $175 for (in the holidays---when I went) because of the location.

The lady running the front desk was super nice and helpful, as was pretty much everybody I encountered in Red River. It's a nice little mountain town and I plan to return. Just don't go there if you have to have a modern room with plush towels to enjoy your stay. Everything appears to have been built 20 years or more ago and in the case of the Alpine, not been updated since.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was overpriced.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandJWalker, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2008
I agree our Christmas prices are high - by far the highest of any other time of the year. Most of our guests understand that the demand on our inventory peaks around Christmas and that they are paying a premium because of this and because of our proximity to the mountain. We also try to provide more amenities and service, as well. (Our lobby is open 'til 9pm, our phones are manned 24 hours a day, we have two large hot tubs, daily housekeeping, nightly fire by the river, a location on Main St, etc...)

Also, because we are the largest lodge and hotel in Red River we are always updating our rooms and condos. We spend over twice the national average on remodeling and updating our units each year. But because we do have 46 units (soon to be 50) there are sttill a few we are working on. I do know we have remodeled over 36 of our bathrooms (new tile, new fixtures, refinished tubs, etc...)

Thank you again for the feedback and know that we will continue to improve our property to better serve both our great repeat customers and those new to the Alpine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband and I took a 2-night mini vacation to Red River and stayed at Alpine Lodge in one of their hotel-style rooms (i.e., not a condo room). We were given unit #15, which featured a king-sized bed, mini-fridge, and gas fireplace. The room was a bit small (although I've been in worse!) but clean and very well maintained. In fact, the bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated.

I enjoyed the profusion of hummingbirds indulging at the many feeders hung up by the Alpine Lodge staff.

The location was wonderful, too. The Red River main drag runs NW to SE and is only about 10 blocks long and 1-2 blocks deep on either side, so it would be hard to stay anywhere in Red River and have it be inconvenient. However, I did appreciate the fact that Alpine Lodge is toward the NW end of the main street while the majority of the bars and other late-night establishments are toward the other end, so it wasn't noisy at night.

The lady at the front desk (Kathy, I think her name was) was very efficient, friendly, helpful, and very patient with our dozens of questions.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness/general upkeep
  • Disliked — Price was a bit high (~$100/night)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We just held our family reunion at the Alpine Lodge in Red River, New Mexico. The property is situated right on the river and has a large open park setting with a covered pavilion, a lot of picnic tables and bbq pits, all of which were great for our cook-outs each evening. There were plenty of things to do right on the property like horseshoes, volleyball, playgrounds and fishing to keep everyone busy during the day. We would then all meet up for dinner and then later for smoors at the campfire - it was a wonderful set-up for a large group and made for a great family reunion.

Our cabins were all very clean and the staff was very courteous. We appreciated all the little things they did like bringing trash cans out to the pavilion for us, filling all the hummingbird feeders daily, cleaning out the bbq pits after we used them and making us a campfire each night. We really felt like they were glad we were there!

Red River is a very friendly little town and we had the best time meeting and talking to all the townspeople. We also enjoyed doing things and just being with each other. Some of our favorite activities were riding down Main Street in old fashioned surreys, riding up to the top of the ski mountain in the ski lift, hiking to the abandoned silver mine and just sitting around town eating ice cream.

We had an amazing time and will be back to Red River and to the Alpine very soon!

  • Liked — Park, Views and River
  • Disliked — Did not have any 'Smoking' rooms
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Thanks to the Alpine and to their staff for a fantastic getaway. We just left and are already missing Red River and are planning our return. We find ourselves spending more and more time in this little town and feel so relaxed when there. Our lodge room #14 was very spacious with a great view of both the ski slopes and the river - it had a king bed, a fireplace, a mini-fridge and a microwave. We spent a lot of time on our deck because the weather was so nice and enjoyed the park swing and actually cooked out one afternoon. We enjoyed getting to know Benny, the Alpine maintenance man, and he was very nice. He added a wood shelf he had made to our bathroom one day and was just very friendly. We also enjoyed talking to Janet, one of the housekeepers, each day. She was extremely nice. The room itself was very clean and comfortable and was decorated just as a mountain lodge should be. It just had a great feel to it. We really liked the fireplace and the table by the window. Our biggest surprise of the trip was looking out one afternoon and seeing a coyote in the park. Over the years visiting Red River we had seen plenty of deer, elk, raccoons, a couple of bears, etc... but that was our first coyoye!
As usual, we took advantage of all the Alpine's amenities each day. We enjoyed our private time in the Jacuzzis (We both appreciate that these are not open to everybody all at once - it is so much more relaxing to have the private time). The outdoor fire pit was enjoyable. It was a great place to socialize and get to know the other guests. We also used the lobby each night to check e-mail, relax by the fire and just visit. One night we had a little girl from Kansas City play the piano for us and it just made our night - she was that good!

Thank you again Alpine for another memorable stay and we cannot wait for our next one!

  • Liked — The absolute serenity and solitude (and the Bavarian music)
  • Disliked — It was just terrific in every way!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#1 of 1 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ryland
Hotel Ryland
#5 of 9 in Red River
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
13.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.