We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpine Lodge & Hotel to your Saves list
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keller, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Yes there is a place to spend one night in Red River and a nice one at that! After numerous calls we found that the Alpine Lodge is one of very few places that take one night reservations. We stopped through on our way back from Colorado based on a friends recommendation. We arrived to find a fire going in the park with guests having a fun time. We joined in and found another couple from our hometown also staying there. The grounds are well kept and our room was clean and comfortable. We plan to return next summer and stay longer in a room with a kit hen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    33
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
70
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and 2 days and were impressed! The only negative was probably the price. There were similarly or better priced places nearby that also seemed nice (although we didn't see the inside of any of them). We stayed in a 1 bedroom place with a kitchen and living room. It was very functional. They had a new flatscreen on the wall (which was great). We also got to catch and cook some fish from Alpine's private part of the river (only for Alpine Lodge guests to fish at). I loved that they had fresh coffee up front for most of the day. They also had a book in every room with things to do while in Red River. We would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimmitt, Texas, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We thought that Alpine Lodge was wonderful. The room was clean and nice, and the people and the service was spectacular!!! We won't hesitate to stay there again next year!!!
The grounds are beautiful too with the river just behind the lodge within walking distance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stinnett, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Alpine Lodge twice this year. We could never dream of staying anywhere else because we have fallen in love with not only the lodge itself but with the friendly staff as well. We have stayed in the Honeymoon suite (which is by far our FAVORITE place to stay) and in a queen room which is also quite cozy. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony at night with the town all lit up making memories that will forever last a lifetime. We were new to visiting the Red River area and the amazing staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was nothing short of perfect. We got engaged on the Alpine Lodge bridge which is a memory we will cherish forever. We loved staying at the Alpine Lodge so much that we decided to stay there again for our honeymoon. Both stays were so wonderful and the rooms are clean, cozy and in my opinion a great value. The grounds are very beautiful and quiet. They have two hot tubs and a fire pit that is usually lit up at night time. We plan to return to the Alpine Lodge for our third stay later this year to hopefully hit the slopes and the Alpine Lodge is the perfect location as it sits right in front of the ski lift. We have never been disappointed by the Alpine Lodge and I have all the confidence that we never will. They seem to take great pride in making each individuals stay the best that they possibly can and for that we will be life long guests of the Alpine Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We are a group of 10 friends who were on a motorcycle trip through the area. This is the first motel/hotel I have ever stayed that didn't have air conditioning! The area is usually in the mid 70's during the day so it is not a problem but as soon as the sun went down it cooled off nicely! Before morning we were pulling up covers! Nice clean rooms with good beds. It is in a beautiful, clean little town with lots to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I had a relaxing visit to the Alpine Lodge. The town was quiet since it was between seasons but that is exactly what we needed this trip. We awoke in the morning to a beautiful sunrise and enjoyed coffee outside on the deck while watching deer graze on the mountain. Besides the outstanding view, the room was comfortable and very clean and included a king bed, the coffee maker, refrigerator, and fireplace (Yes we did use the fireplace in May. The temps dropped into the 30's.)

Several restaurants are located right by the hotel and the office staff gave excellent recommendations for dinner and breakfast. Timbers restaurant is a steak house just across the street and provided a nice evening meal. In the morning, we went to Shotgun Willie's for breakfast which was also located at the Alpine Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask if the town is between seasons. If you want quiet, go then. If you want more going on, wait unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Berkshires, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Lodge. It's within walking distance of the lift (but there's only a ticket kiosk at this lift, so if you have special ticket needs, get one first). We stayed in a small one bedroom cabin which was perfect for our needs. It was quiet, clean and nicely decorated. It needs a light over the dining room table, but otherwise was well outfitted. A dvd player would be a nice addition, too.

The price was quite reasonable.

There is no food here though restaurants are close by. We brought food for breakfast as the store has limited offerings. The service was gracious and the quite hours made sure we had a nice night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.