We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper King Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper King Lodge
Save
You added Copper King Lodge to your Saves list
307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Copper King is a great location. You can walk to the shops and restaurants. An older property (like most are in Red River) but very clean. I was surprised at how clean everything was, even the shared outdoor hot tub. The deer will eat out of your hand. My kids loved feeding the deer and ducks. Everyone was very nice! We stayed in Unit 13. It is a 3 bedroom. My only complaint is the bed! Our queen size bed was horrible! Couldn't even sleep the night through because our backs hurt so much. But the twin size beds in the other room were nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed in the Copper King Lodge and could not have asked for a better place to stay in all of Red River. We stayed eslewhere in previous years and widh we had found Copper King first. The room was excellent, the service was excellent. When we checked in, I was pleasentely helped. The room had an ecellent view and we really enjoyed watching the deer that had a routine every day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel is very nice; we would stay here again. The location is great (although it appears that several other hotels/lodges are equally well located along the river and near the ski lifts). The hot tub is nice. The kitchen is well-stocked.
Having said that, the first floor rooms really suffer from the noise of people clomping up and down the stairs in their ski boots, as well as walking around overhead. I don't think the overhead thunder is from stomping, but rather, that there is not much padding/insulation between the ceiling of first-floor rooms and floors of second-floor rooms. (We've stayed in two different rooms, both first floor.) It would also be nice if the rooms had a few puzzles, board games, etc., for those post-skiing winter evenings. Based on experiences in similar places, we were surprised that there was nothing like this here.
In the area, we recommend Mountain Treasures for sandwiches--great pastrami Reuben!--and pastries.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copperkinglodge, Owner at Copper King Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Although we always request that our guests keep noise of any kind to a minimum, winter (due to ski boots) is an especially hard time to keep quiet on the walkways. Wooden walkways and ski boots don't always go well together! We do have numerous signs posted up and downstairs which ask our guests to keep noise to a minimum. We also ask our guests at check-in to call our after-hours emergency number if they are disturbed after 9:30 pm. We take disturbances after 9:30 pm very seriously. We understand that the peace and quiet of our setting is a major reason that our guests enjoy the Copper King, and we will continue to strive to keep it that way. Thank you again for your comments and high marks in other areas of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I lead a large group of 60 people to Red River every summer. We have stayed at the Copper King on all but 1 of these trips! We will be staying at the Copper King on all future trips! The Copper King Lodge is an absolutely magnificent place to stay! The owners and their team have done a great job creating a fantastic experience. They are fantastic to work with and treat you like family. The location is superb. The rooms are clean and the price is right! You can walk anywhere in town in just a few minutes. What a scenic lodge at the bottom of the mountain. Occasionally, I have had to use other properties in Red River to house some overflow from our group. Everyone always asks if there will be room for them at the Copper King because they LOVE the lodge, Clay & Michelle and their super team!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Cabins are right on the river with a ski lift next door. The view of the mountains and setting in town are perfect. Accommodations are down to earth and not too touristy. Everyone makes you feel like part of the town. My teenagers loved it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at this lodge during our honeymoon in Red River, and it will be the place we stay in from now on! The couple who run the Lodge are friendly, sweet, and very helpful, the rooms are VERY clean, and they are located so close to the Main Street. The housekeepers are also very friendly. It is like staying with FAMILY! Choose Copper King Lodge for your stay in Red River! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This place is the very best in Red River! (and we have stayed all over) It is the cleanest and most updated place there is there. It is located right at the edge of the mountain and river. The scenery in the back is incredible! They even have deer that walk around in the back which is amazing! If you ski, the lift is right there beside the lodge which is very convenient. After finding this place, we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Lodge

Address: 307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper King Lodge is your mountain home for skiing and winter fun, summer vacations, and spring/fall get-a-ways. We are on the river in the heart of town next to the Copper Chair Lift. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper King Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.