We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice in Red River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper King Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper King Lodge
Save
You added Copper King Lodge to your Saves list
307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice in Red River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Copper King Lodge is a very nice facility located in just about as perfect location as you can find in Red River. It is just a s rustic as you would expect in this "wild western" town, but very comfortable.

Room Tip: Call and talk to them when making you reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
89
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hart, TX
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Copper King Lodge. Everything was clean and the beds very comfortable. Love sitting on the back porch, feeding the ducks and chipmunks. Easy walking to restaurants, shopping, etc. We will definitely be back next September! Thank you for making our stay outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Copper King Lodge. Making our reservation with Liz was an easy experience and she was extremely accommodating. Richard and the girls, who we also visited with, were very nice and helpful with any questions we had on where to eat and what to see. They kept our room #16 spotless and we lacked for nothing. We fed the deer and ducks right off the back porch, used the grills and walked the river right out the back door. Great value and convenient to everything within walking distance away. We would return to Copper King Lodge without question.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found the Copper King to be a very comfortable and well priced accommodation. It is located in the heart of Red River within walking distance of many good watering holes and restaurants, this together with the bountiful attractions nearby make this an ideal venue for couples or families alike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from spending Labor Day weekend in Red River. We Stayed at the Copper King Lodge for the first time. It is located right on the river just a short block from the main street. It is truly a wonderful place to stay because they value your stay by being very upfront about keeping your noice level way down and walking quietly. There are "reminder" signs everywhere. The quietness along with the friendly staff made this a great place to stay in a great town. There are benches and tables along the river to sit and relax watching the deer and ducks and watching the fishermen as they fished the river. We found out they book out fairly early so don't wait too long!

Room Tip: If you a river view room...book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turpin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful experience and plan to return. We had a lower 1 bedroom unit with full kitchen, fireplace and 1 bath. The room and the grounds surrounding were very clean and well kept. The river runs just steps away with deer and ducks and there is a nice sidewalk and benches to enjoy the quiet and beauty. Wonderful hosts, shared information of the area and there was also a notebook in our room that listed phone numbers for restaurants, shops and buisness that have rental equipment for activities very useful. This was our first stay but for sure not our last. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We make this an annual summer trip, and come with 4-5 other couples. The river facing cabins are super nice - you can sit in your "back yard" and feed the deer or drop a line in the stream that runs alongside the base of the mountain. If you are a light sleeper (we are not), you may want to request a 2nd floor unit, or a unit that doesn't have anyone above you. Great, well equipped kitchens - we like to cook and usually designate one unit for group dinners, and enjoy cocktails outdoors on the picnic tables near the river. Lots to do here!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an upstairs room or a room in the back that doesn't have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper King Lodge

Address: 307 E. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper King Lodge is your mountain home for skiing and winter fun, summer vacations, and spring/fall get-a-ways. We are on the river in the heart of town next to the Copper Chair Lift. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copper King Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper King Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.