We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Rio Colorado” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Colorado Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Colorado Lodge
Save
You added Rio Colorado Lodge to your Saves list
Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Love Rio Colorado”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We came in early June, and were delighted with the rustic cabin. It brought back memories of our childhoods in the mountains. We had all we needed to be comfortable and warm. The hosts were charming. We loved sitting on the porch watching the children play on the playground, the hummingbirds, and the sunset on the fish pond. We enjoyed fishing in the well stocked pond, and ate fish for supper each night. A wonderful, relaxing weekend. We will return as often as possible. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mikeivan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed at the Rio Colorado Lodge in September, 2008. Nice, old timey, rustic cabin with a great rock fireplace (which we needed, froze most nights). The fishing pond was freshly stocked, the Red River is right there and had trout. The cabin was roomy and the kitchen worked well. Bathroom small and pretty old, they were remodeling some cabins, which looked to be well deserved. We would like to return.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX, OK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My family has been traveling to this part of NM and staying here for 39 years. We enjoy the change of pace and location within Red River.
Santa Fe: If you think this place is "worn out", take your laced panties to somewhere that charges $500/night and you will still find something you don't like!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We decided to give this place a try from the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were really disappointed. The fact that this resort is very old isn't the issue.....rustic is great, but lack of care isn't! The first thing we noticed when we came to the little deck of the cabin were 2 very old metal chairs - one of them was so bent and badly lopsided we couldn't sit in it comfortably! There was no table. Right at the entry, the carpet was severely shredded with several sharp nails sticking up from the exposed carpet tacking! Because this was obviously dangerous (especially if there were a child staying there) I mentioned this to the manager who was working on the cabin next door - he said he would look at it - but nothing was done and we did not see him in the 2 days we were there!! We ended up putting a towel over it so we wouldn't get hurt!

The sliding door for the bathroom wouldn't open all the way so it was difficult to get in and out (my husband is 6'2"). The cabin smelled like cigarettes and there were cigarette burns on some of the very old and tacky 'thrift store' type furniture. The only newer furniture was the little dining table and 2 chairs. We had to bring one of these chairs outside in order to enjoy the deck because we couldn't sit on the bent metal chair.

These are issues that would not take much in time or money to repair, especially with a major safety issue involved but they just don't seem to want to do anything extra to make the place comfortable or safe!

This was unfortunate because the setting is lovely. There is a nice little pond for fishing and Red River is close by. If you decide to stay here, ask for a newer cabin if they have one - this was cabin #24. There are other nice places to stay in Red River that are fairly comparable in price that I think offer more value.

  • Liked — lovely setting
  • Disliked — lack of care general tackiness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

This is a great cabin. We have been coming here for 15 years. We always stay in the same group of cabins & have loved them. In the summer there is a stocked pond 40 feet from your cabin for guests only. Also there is a creek cutting through the middle of the property. There are grills outside of each cabin & a full kitchen. The cabins are backed into the national forest so there is plenty of hiking for anyone. Winter is always a good place there are large fireplaces in the cabins we've used. The managers are a wonderful family with 2 adorable kids. They help make this a family experience. Last summer we even had a bear clinb our tree. After 1 hour & 3 rangers they convinced him it was not a good place to hang out. The cabins are old but well maintained. If your looking for the Ritz & room service try some place else. But if you want an incredible family adventure give Rio Colorado a chance.

  • Liked — Secluded nature of Cabin
  • Disliked — Lack of phones in cabin
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

This is a great value. You rent your own cabin. Each equiped with a kitchen so you can cook at home if you'd rather not pay to eat out. There is a river running through the property as well as a lake stocked with trout. Across the river there are more cabins as well as an entry to the Red River nature trail. You are within an easy walk to nearly everything in town. The cabins are rustic but very clean. If you are looking for privacy at a great value I would recommend Rio Colorado Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2005

Our cabin was extremely old, but we were delighted to have a new coffee pot and microwave. The best thing about our stay was being able to bring our pets.I would not bring crawling babies to this place. It is reasonable for skiers who only want a place to stay. I think this place would be a blast in the summer months. The living area furniture was nasty. I think slip covers would help in this area. I think the summer months would be fun because you could sit out on the porches and read, go fishing in their private pond, etc. I think you have to weigh out the reasonable rate versus the newness of other accomodations. We would return again and actually look forward to spending time in the summer here.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Colorado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Colorado Lodge

Address: Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Rio Colorado Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Colorado Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.