We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The River Ranch is a wonderful place to stay in Red River, New Mexico.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Ranch
Save
You added River Ranch to your Saves list
1501 West Main, Red River, NM 87558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
CANADIAN, TEXAS
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The River Ranch is a wonderful place to stay in Red River, New Mexico.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Great Fishing pond. Rustic Camp facilities just like we love. We were parked parallel to the flowing river with door of our fifthwheel opening to the river. We opted for this site because we only stayed for 5 days & knew we did not need sewer or tv cable because we have camped so much we knew our black water tank would be sufficient for this amount of stay. The River Ranch has sites with sewer & cable hookups. They also have cabins to rent for your stay. They are much more children friendly than the Roadrunner RV Resort down the street that we stayed at the year before. Much more friendly too. There were no hidden fees like we encountered at the Roadrunner RV Resort the previous year. We DEFINITELY recommend River Ranch. Thank you. Ron & Tammye ONeal from Canadian, Texas

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    4
    5
    11
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

my friend and I stayed in one of the cabins. Very relaxing. Yes, the cabins are a bit rustic if you are use to modern appliances. The cabins were very clean as well as the campsite.

Yes, you could not find your own firewood, but besides that, it was very peaceful and quiet. I would not suggest to bring children, since there is not much for the children to do at the camp site. This is also not a place for 'techies'.

There is a free shuttle that would take you into town, if you got to bored with mother nature.

I enjoyed my stay -- the staff was friendly as long as you showed proper manners and respecting the campsite. If you don't have proper manners (expect everything now..now...now attitude) you will not enjoy your stay.

This is a campsite to slow down and enjoy your surroundings and leave all the technology behind.

I will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This campground is not the most luxurious in Red River, but does provide a comfortable and relaxed experience for visitors at unbeatable prices. The staff was very attentive and worked hard to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The campground accommodates families well and presents a casual atmosphere. The cabins were older, but clean and had all necessary convienences (hot shower, comfortable bed, stove, and refrigerator). I would be aware of proper food storage as we did spot a large black bear rummaging through the dumpster during the night. The one drawback to River Ranch is that the lawns and river area were in need of mowing and lawn maintenence. Overall, we would stay in the cabins at River Ranch again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

What else can I say, the campsites are overgrown, unlevel, very rocky and small. Firewood wasn't available and it is against park policy to find your own, The people there are more than happy to take your money but then have nothing to say to you unless your spending more money. The maintenance personnel was especially hateful, not far from a few four letter words. We paid for 6 nights and left after one and was denied our money back for the other five nights as they didn't have it. I will never stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible.. Smelly old cabins and rude, rude, rude owners. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. Do Not Stay There........

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

We LOVED River Ranch so much this is they only place we will stay when we go to Red River! We have been to Red River about 20 times we've stayed in cabins, we've stayed in rooms. When we went to River Ranch we stayed in our pop up next to the river. We have 2 children and they loved it. Our favorite thing is they have very nice showers and restrooms! They also have washers & dryers very nice when your camping out and your children have to change clothes 2 or 3 times a day. We recommend this place to everyone we know. We really enjoyed it!!

  • Liked — The restrooms and showers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEREFORD, TX
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We do not recommend the River Ranch Campground. When we first called to reserve. They told us to mail check they did not accept credit cards. I guess that was the first sign of outdated! When we arrived the people there came out to meet us at our vehicles. We went in to check in. We were four families together. He had us wait in the office and came back and in a rude manner told us of everything we could not do. There was nothing I guess we could do but use there facility. Kids could not walk around campground, could not be on bridge to watch river, could not sit near river. When we first called we said we were not sure how many would be with us. They said it was fine that they would refund the rest. When we got there we informed them we did not bring dog and 1 child. In a rude manner just said NO REFUNDS. Do not pay for everyone unless you are 100% they are going. We would sit around the campfire and just visit. He would constantly tell us to put it out because it was after dark. I always thought that was when you had campfires. At least at other campsites we would. I saw at least 3 mice. We were afraid to walk to the restroom at night because they would come out from under the dumpsters. We had to ask them for a weed eater. Our campsites had grass up to our knees. They sent someone to do it. We raked the grass out of the way. This place was dirty, dirty, dirty. Do not recommend for tents or pop up trailers, or anyone with children. We had a bad experience. Employees were not friendly at all. We will not ever return to this place. We have learned our lesson. The best campgrounds with activities for kids are the KOA but there was not one near Red River.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Ranch

Address: 1501 West Main, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern part of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and completely surrounded by the Carson National Forest. River Ranch is at the West end, and a nice stroll from Red River a mountain town with quaint shops and relaxed dinning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Ranch Hotel Red River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.