We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week of skiing and snowboarding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red River Ski Area

Red River Ski Area
400 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
575-754-2223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Red River
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northern New Mexico's year-round destination for family-friendly fun in the Southwest Sun & Snow! The place for all-ages traditions, Red River Ski Area has something for everyone!At Red River Ski Area the attitude is laid back, the people are friendly. With an average of 18 feet of snow each winter and 75-degree average temperatures in the summer, conditions are great!Red River Ski Area is located at the top of the Enchanted Circle in Northern New Mexico. Making families smile since 1959, it is a full service ski & snowboard area with lessons, rentals, and lift tickets, all conveniently located in town.Some of our exciting activities include: skiing, snowboarding, winter tubing, snow coach dinner tours, torch light parades, summer scenic chairlift rides, summer mountain tubing, 18 hole mountain top disc golf, mountain biking, hiking, and fishing.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great week of skiing and snowboarding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Another fantastic family ski vacation to Red River is in the books! Snow was great and the terrain parks were awesome!!! My youngest had private snowboard lessons with Tom and he was great as usual :-)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    70
    21
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice Small Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Even witout much snow the ski runs were well taken care of. All of the employees were friendly and helpful. Great value for the money.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great place for families and good skiing. This is an ideal location for families to take kids and learn to ski.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful small town and gorgeous scenery! One Main Street with lots of cute shops. Perfect for families - skiing, snowmobiling, tubing and the fireworks and luminaries at the mountain on Christmas Eve was amazing! We will definitely be back!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent for beginners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My daughter and I went to Red River for our skiing experience. This was a great choice. Everyone there was VERY nice and helpful. At the main ski chalet, we were greeted immediately by someone who guided us to the computer kiosks and helped us set up accounts. We bought the "Never Ever Ski School" package, which was a morning and afternoon group lesson, lift ticket, and ski rental. The ski instructors were equally helpful and pleasant. My daughter and I skied for two days and stayed only on the two easiest hills, but we had fun and felt like we learned quite a bit. It was a busy time (the week after Christmas), but not overwhelmingly so. I'd recommend Red River Ski Area!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red River Ski Area also viewed

Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 

Been to Red River Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red River Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.