We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly beautiful way to see Red River!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red River Ski Area

Red River Ski Area
400 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
575-754-2223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Red River
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northern New Mexico's year-round destination for family-friendly fun in the Southwest Sun & Snow! The place for all-ages traditions, Red River Ski Area has something for everyone!At Red River Ski Area the attitude is laid back, the people are friendly. With an average of 18 feet of snow each winter and 75-degree average temperatures in the summer, conditions are great!Red River Ski Area is located at the top of the Enchanted Circle in Northern New Mexico. Making families smile since 1959, it is a full service ski & snowboard area with lessons, rentals, and lift tickets, all conveniently located in town.Some of our exciting activities include: skiing, snowboarding, winter tubing, snow coach dinner tours, torch light parades, summer scenic chairlift rides, summer mountain tubing, 18 hole mountain top disc golf, mountain biking, hiking, and fishing.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly beautiful way to see Red River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We rode this with our kids. Hubs is from up North so not a huge deal for him but the boys and I loved it. The view took my breath away! Highly recommend...it's worth the cost!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, General Manager at Red River Ski Area, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the nice review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our Scenic Chairlift Ride! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    70
    21
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Red River, New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

FABULOUS! That is what I think about Red River. I have been going to this little town since I was a kid. My husband and I go skiing every spring break. We are also going to start going in the summer too. Love the skiing, fishing, and community.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Guest Relations Manager at Red River Ski Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Tina!
Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted to have long term guests such as yourself and are pleased that you enjoy our winter activities. We hope you do get a chance to visit us in the summer time! This summer we have a lot of fun activities to offer and the temperatures are supposed to be extremely pleasant with daily high reaching an average of 75 degrees.
-Red River Ski Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tool, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ski area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have skiied here and it always has a good intermediate run because of the snow-making. But this trip in June, I went up the lift when all the runs were green and beautiful. Had lunch at the top, and was pleased with everything.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Guest Relations Manager at Red River Ski Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hello Bob!

Thank you for the thoughtful review. We are pleased that you have had positive year round experiences with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
-Red River Ski Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nicely groomed trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We enjoyed the skiing AND the snowmobile tour! Very friendly guides led us through beautiful scenery then served us a delicious meal of sandwiches and green chili stew.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Red River Ski”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Red River ski area has a large training area for small kids and older. If you want a little more solitude go up the mountain and take a green trail. They have a nice restaurant at the top of the mountain that smelled delicious as your getting off the lift. The town of Red River is a small mountain town , many nice shops and nice eateries but no fast food. Some mule deer were walking through the center of town...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red River Ski Area also viewed

Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 

Been to Red River Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red River Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.