We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery and rough ride” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Adventure Company

New Mexico Adventure Company
220 E Main St., Red River, NM 87558
575 754 2721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 activities in Red River
Type: Tours, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and rough ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff are great and the prices are reasonable. Our Driver/guide (Trey) was good. The Pickups used were well travelled and worn. The trail to Goose lake was very rough but the scenery on the way and the lake were wonderful. not much you can do 'bout a very rough road.; We saw mountain goats and deer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved the trip to Goose Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our driver, Nick, took us up a very rugged road up to Goose Lake. On the way up, we were really jostled around-- and my six year old son loved the adventure. Nick offered ponchos and blankets and shared a little history of the area. We had a great time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Fun and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family and group of seven range in age from teens to 81 years young. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 1/2 hour thrill adventure of spectacular views and the stop for panning for gold in a stream. Our guide was flexible and knowledgeable of the area, sharing old stories, jokes and history on our stops. Wish I could remember his name but all the girls remember he had the prettiest eyes. We had a great time and saw areas we could not have seen without a tour such as this. We all fell in love with the Newfoundland that hangs out on the porch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Goose Lake Jeep Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Also known as BigHorn Sports & Rentals. We took a tour up to Goose Lake. It was a nice tour and very beautiful up at Goose Lake. The wife, granddaughter and I had a very nice time. Staff was very nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great water adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were visiting Santa Fe, and after hiking and climbing in the National Parks, decided to try a day on the river. With so many companies to pick from, we chose New Mexico Adventure Company. What a good choice. The equipment they gave us was clean and new, and their staff was professional and extremely through in preparing us for our trip down the river. We had two children, 7 & 8, with us. They made the trip both safe and fun, taking us down class three rapids on a fast moving part of the Rio Grande. I would highly recommend our guide Sean. He was knowledgable about the river, the geology and history of the area and was more than willing to share it all with us. A fun, exciting way to spend your day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Adventure Company also viewed

 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to New Mexico Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico Adventure Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Mexico Adventure Company to your Saves list