We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Fun experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of old tymers cafe

old tymers cafe
210 e main st, Red River, NM
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Red River
Cuisines: American
Description: best pizza in town breakfast is fast and really good
Restaurant details
Description: best pizza in town breakfast is fast and really good
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food! Fun experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

During our four day stay in Red River we ended up eating the majority of our meals at Olde Tymers Cafe. All our meals were very reasonably priced and food portions were well above normal size servings. Every meal was very tasty. We enjoyed visiting with the owners, all of the waiters/waitresses and cooks. They helped make our stay in Red River very enjoyable and FULL-filling. A person has to have an Olde Tymers pancake while in Red River or your stay will not be complete! Looking forward to our next trip to Red River and the Olde Tymers Cafe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke,Tx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Breakfast is wonderful here and they give huge portions so bring your appetite! No matter what you order it is excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic all around Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wonderful little cafe with excellent diner food. The staff is very friendly (our server was from Irving TX and we shared a laugh over Dallas) and has excellent portions of food. Very fun atmosphere.

Food:
Philly Cheesesteak - excellent
French Dip - excellent
Big Breakfast platter w/ chocolate chip pancake - excellent
Buttermilk pancake - excellent

***The pancakes are about 8-12 inches around...they are HUGE!!! You only need to order one for a meal! They are awesome!!!***

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, terrible service at breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not a great experience, the servers did not have a very good attitude and the wait for a half full restaurant was 30 mins. Pancakes and chicken fajita omlete were the best parts of the meal. Cheese omelet was very small, hashbrowns were cold, and the bacon was over cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic and genuine "old tyme" restaurant. Try here for breakfast, I can eat and I mean eat but their pancakes beat me I ended up taking one half away with me in a go box. Great service and wait staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed old tymers cafe also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to old tymers cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage old tymers cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.