We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Raton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Raton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Raton
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Card Avenue, I-25 Exit 450, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Duncan, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Rooms were very clean and updated. Staff very helpful. Lots of parking that is easily accessible. Very busy in the summer as many folks stop here during their trips to Colorado so book ahead or you are not likely to get a room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your very kind comments, the staff was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are honored to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    45
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
69
52
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel on my way to Colorado. It was a nice hotel, but pretty pricey for what it offered, I ended up paying $163 for just one night! And there were hairs in my soap dish which was pretty gross... The best part about this hotel was the kitchen - they had a buffet from 5-7 which had some snacks and then the breakfast had lots of choices. I especially enjoyed the older lady who has worked there for many years. She was extremely nice and helpful, but I can't remember her name.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We were very happy to see how much you enjoyed the free hot breakfast as well as the evening manager's reception, thank you for sharing your experience with others. We hope to continue to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stopped here for the evening. The property had good reviews and was in an area we wanted to stay. When we checked in, noticed sign to "ask" about free movie. When I did, I was told that if I reviewed the hotel on "Tripadvisor", printed the review and brought it to the front desk, I would be eligible for the movie. WHAT? Isn't that backwards. Don't I complete my stay and then review!
I decided to skip the movie and review AFTER I had completed my stay! The room was clean and pleasant and the staff courteous. The coffee at breakfast was watery with no taste and did not even smell like coffee. Half of the toaster worked. Breakfast was not a home run!!
This hotel was highly overpriced and I would not return because of the price and coffee. I just love a cup of good coffee in the morning! If I was on this route again, probably would stop in Trinidad CO and skip This high priced area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I thank this guest for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all reviews. We need the feedback to know how we're doing.

We get a lot of compliments on the condition of our rooms and I'm sorry the cleanliness described did not meet our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My kids and I stayed at this Holiday Inn on our way to Colorado last summer, and we loved it so much that we stayed here again this summer. Beautiful property, friendly staff, fun putting green for the kids outside, delicious snacks served in the late afternoon/early evening, and a comfortable night's sleep. We couldn't ask for anything more. The rooms are spacious, and the hotel is quiet. We will definitely stay here anytime we are driving to Colorado.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our hotel, and thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. It was rewarding to read how much you and your family enjoy the clean, comfortable accommodations, as well as the service that you received.
We look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before.... This was an EXCELLENT hotel!
Prices was right, front desk was cheerful... the Handicap room was HUGE and had all the amenities an ADA room should have (but usually miss)!
Rooms were spotless and well designed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your glowing comments, and thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others. We were happy to see that our accessible room had everything you needed and more, as we strive to exceed our guest's expectations.
We hope to see you again when you travel to the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

While passing through the area, my daughter and I needed a place to stay. I had seen the billboards for the Holiday Inn Express and thought why not. I had no reservation and was on no discount or reward program with Holiday Inn. I was greeted with a warm welcome and pretty impressed by just the lobby. They had a suite available and the nice young man at the counter was able to give me a discounted rate for signing up for the rewards program. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. This hotel is past the main exit in Raton by the hospital and well worth going past all the conveniences. We left quite early in the morning and once again i was greeted with friendly staff offering me the free breakfast they serve. I don't normally write reviews for a place i just happened to stop at for the night but this hotel was worth mentioning due to the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We thank you very much for choosing our hotel as you passed through the area. We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your upgraded suite, and happy to see you signed up for the IHG rewards program. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with others.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We come here on occasion to visit New Mexico, and this hotel is very convenient. The service was great, a lady named Anaya helped me in every way needed. The rooms are very quiet and big enough for a family and it is very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We were pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay, that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable, and that you appreciated the service that you received. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Raton

Address: 101 Card Avenue, I-25 Exit 450, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Raton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#3 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Raton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great Hotel in Raton? Enjoy a western experience in Raton, New Mexico at the Award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton. Located in the mountains of Northeastern New Mexico the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton offers exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable lodging to travelers on I-25 and Highway 87. We now have 34 new luxury suites including two-room Kid's Suites and private spa suites. Our guests are welcomed with a complimentary evening Priority Club social and our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are open 24 hours for play and relaxation at any time. Enjoy the new Express Start complimentary breakfast bar featuring the famous cinnamon roll. Our new meeting/banquet room comfortably seats 40-75 people and we would love to host your next retreat meeting or seminar. Conveniently located equidistant (220 miles) from Denver, Albuquerque, and Amarillo. We are just one and a half hour from some of the finest snow skiing in the world, and the outdoor enthusiasts will love the viewing opportunities for deer, elk, bear, mountain lion and other species. Trout fishing at Lake Maloya in Sugarite State Park is only 8 miles away. Famous Vermejo Park Ranch is only 34 miles west of our hotel. While in Raton it is well worth a stop at our new Visitor's Center and Chamber office located one mile north of our Hotel.Come and enjoy the pure Enchantment of our Hotel and our wonderful community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Raton Hotel Raton
Holiday Inn Raton
Raton Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.