We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Raton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Raton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Raton
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Card Avenue, I-25 Exit 450, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hughesville
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The one night stay was very comfortable and pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was great with plenty to pick from. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express, Raton and for sharing your experience with others. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the accommodations, the free hot breakfast in the morning, and the service that you received.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    49
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
74
58
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We go through Raton several times a year on the way to Colorado and always stay here. The rooms are comfortable, the rates affordable and the staff extremely friendly, especially Chickee Lee!
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We sincerely appreciate being your hotel of choice in the Raton area, as you travel to Colorado. Our guest feedback is very important to us as we strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time.

Chickee Lee and the rest of the staff looks forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Every year we spend Thanksgiving at Raton. We usually stay here at Holiday Inn Express. We have never been disappointed with this hotel and the crew working here. Everyone is always helpful and friendly. When I checked in, the front desk employee had upgraded our room to a suite. Thank You very much.
The rates were great. Room is nice and clean. Kids (9 & 13) enjoy the snacks every evening including, cookies, sandwiches & fruit. We also enjoy are morning breakfast. The kids enjoy the warm indoor pool.
Definitely will stay here as often as I can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty to our Holiday Inn Express, and thank you for sharing your experiences with others. We were very pleased to see how much your family enjoys a swim in the indoor pool, the evening complimentary snacks and the delicious breakfast to start your day off right.

We look forward to seeing your family again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Raton is not an attractive town,but the Holiday Inn Express makes up for this somewhat by it's location and it's genuine effort to be hospitable. The staff recommended the Oasis Restaurant fir dinner. Not very good! Maybe there just isn't a good restaurant in Raton. If you have to spend a night in Raton, the Holiday Inn Express is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We were pleased to see that our location suited your needs perfectly when traveling through Raton recently. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, we appreciate our guest feedback.
We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to a family members funeral and stayed at this hotel. I found this to be the very best experience staying at a hotel that we have ever had. The customer service skills of the front desk employee was exemplary. He was so good at making us feel comfortable. He upgraded us and called after we were in our room to make sure we had everything that we needed. The personal touches that he provided and the attention to detail of all the employees was above and beyond our wildest expectations. I would recommend anyone staying at this motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are very sorry for the circumstance that brought you to Raton recently, and sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your experience at our hotel. It was so rewarding to read how the service that you received exceeded your expectations, as we work very hard towards that goal.
We hope that should you travel to Raton in the future, you will stay with us again.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

the Holiday inn express in Raton NM was great, service was great, rates were great. it is nice and clean. they offer snacks every evening including, cookies, sandwiches, fruit. the pool is open 24 hours a day which is awesome and unheard of.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
How rewarding it was for the staff to read your comments, we thank you for sharing your experience at our Holiday Inn Express, Raton with others. We were pleased to see that our 24 hour indoor pool, and evening manager's reception were just what you were looking for.
We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Raton, NM was very nice and accommodating. The pool is open 24 hours a day, there is a nice putting green and the service was top notch! The rooms were nice as well. The complimentary breakfast the following morning was nice in that, though the coffee of my choice was being refilled when I was up to get it. Once I sat down and in was replenished, the person who had refilled it asked me if she could get me coffee and whether I wanted cream and sugar. I volunteered to get up and pour my own, but she was happy to bring it to my table. Very nice customer service and pleasant stay in this small town. Though the hotel is off the freeway, it's a little tough to get to at night... You have to take the last right, before the road actually turns into the freeway, which is a little hard to see at night. But once we were there, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your kind comments, we were very pleased to read about the excellent service that you received in the breakfast room in the morning. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations, thank you for sharing your experience.

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Raton

Address: 101 Card Avenue, I-25 Exit 450, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#2 Family Hotel in Raton
#3 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Raton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great Hotel in Raton? Enjoy a western experience in Raton, New Mexico at the Award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton. Located in the mountains of Northeastern New Mexico the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton offers exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable lodging to travelers on I-25 and Highway 87. We now have 34 new luxury suites including two-room Kid's Suites and private spa suites. Our guests are welcomed with a complimentary evening Priority Club social and our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are open 24 hours for play and relaxation at any time. Enjoy the new Express Start complimentary breakfast bar featuring the famous cinnamon roll. Our new meeting/banquet room comfortably seats 40-75 people and we would love to host your next retreat meeting or seminar. Conveniently located equidistant (220 miles) from Denver, Albuquerque, and Amarillo. We are just one and a half hour from some of the finest snow skiing in the world, and the outdoor enthusiasts will love the viewing opportunities for deer, elk, bear, mountain lion and other species. Trout fishing at Lake Maloya in Sugarite State Park is only 8 miles away. Famous Vermejo Park Ranch is only 34 miles west of our hotel. While in Raton it is well worth a stop at our new Visitor's Center and Chamber office located one mile north of our Hotel.Come and enjoy the pure Enchantment of our Hotel and our wonderful community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Raton Hotel Raton
Holiday Inn Raton
Raton Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.