We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a snowy day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Raton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Raton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Raton
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Card Avenue, I-25 Exit 450, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littleton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“After a snowy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had had a terrible drive from Childress Texas to Raton. We'd battled two blizzards, and getting stuck once. So when we checked in, we told the nice desk clerk what we had been up to, and he found us a room. And not only a room, but a suite. Nice touch, from a caring desk clerk.

Of course, the breakfast was wonderful, and a good way for us to make the trek on home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your suite, and that you were able to relax after a stressful drive.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    49
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
75
58
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pet friendly hotel but those rooms are downstairs and walls and floors are paper thin! I had asked the clerk to not put anyone above us if at all possible, but no such luck. Floors were dirty, bathroom door frame was rusted. Bedding was updated and street noise was non existent. However to get a more restful night you might try the Best Western in Raton instead. Hotel restaurant (Mulligans) food is fabulous and I bet the rooms are built better!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback, and are working hard to address the issues you experienced to insure we strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again when traveling to Raton.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This location stands alone one exit south of the "main" exit for Raton, where most of the other hotels are located. It is a short drive into the rest of Raton if you want to check out the local restaurants etc. This HIE is a bit different in decor and presentation than most HEI's I've stopped in, but it makes a good impression with its western interior decor. Breakfasts and evening snacks are a step above the average in my experience. The most notable impression would be the very high standard of cleanliness at this location, someone knows how to run a housekeeping department here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. Our guest feedback is very important to us, as we strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the service that you received.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We walked into the hotel about 1:30 am. Quickly got a room. Front desk staff was so nice - they took the time to find the best room for us (a lot of kids). We stayed in a room with 2 doubles and a sofa bed.
Kids loved the free breakfast with the pancake machine. Breakfast ends kind of early at 9:30.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that you found the accommodations to be comfortable, and that your family enjoyed the complimentary breakfast offered in the morning, particuarly the freshly made pancakes.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a road trip passing through Raton. It's a nice, fairly standard HIE. Good king bed, sofa, nice TV, and a good bathroom.

Decent hot breakfast included with oatmeal, waffles, and buns, fruit, yogurt, cereal.

One problem was the sound - the walls are not well insulated. I could hear others in rooms next to mine, and even woke up to snoring next door in the middle of the night. It's right beside the Interstate and could hear the traffic most of the night. Another issue was the Internet connection was flakey and quite slow. Finally, the pillows were small and a little lumpy. I know other HIEs have great pillows with a selection of soft and hard - but not here.

The young guy at the desk was very good and check in was blazing fast.

It was nice, clean, and of course, has one of the best showerheads around!

At $110/night it's pretty pricey, but for what you get and the breakfast it was OK.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments after your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, and the staff to be both friendly and professional.

We hope to see you again the next time you travel to the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travel with a border collie so sometimes it is hard to find nice places. This one takes all the stars and more. The room was great for a dog (tile flooring). We were just one room away from the outside door. There was a large field for the dogs. The room was very comfortable. It did not smell like old pet. The staff was always ready to help. The breakfast staff was ready to help me carry breakfast back to the room. We lefted Denver in a snow storm and was glad to make as far as Raton. The staff just made eveything go smoother.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We appreciate your feedback after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read that our pet friendly rooms suited your needs perfectly, and that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with a welcoming staff.

We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parachute, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel was very nice and comfortable. Front desk staff and breakfast staff was nice as well. Only trouble we had was extremely slow housekeeping service and rude woman housekeeper. We were a stayover and it took until about 2 or so the next day for our room to finally be cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express Raton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issue you had with the housekeeping staff. We take our guest's feedback very seriously, and the issues you mentioned have been addressed with the staff.

We hope you will consider staying with us again when traveling through the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Raton

Address: 101 Card Avenue, I-25 Exit 450, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Raton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#3 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Raton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great Hotel in Raton? Enjoy a western experience in Raton, New Mexico at the Award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton. Located in the mountains of Northeastern New Mexico the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton offers exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable lodging to travelers on I-25 and Highway 87. We now have 34 new luxury suites including two-room Kid's Suites and private spa suites. Our guests are welcomed with a complimentary evening Priority Club social and our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are open 24 hours for play and relaxation at any time. Enjoy the new Express Start complimentary breakfast bar featuring the famous cinnamon roll. Our new meeting/banquet room comfortably seats 40-75 people and we would love to host your next retreat meeting or seminar. Conveniently located equidistant (220 miles) from Denver, Albuquerque, and Amarillo. We are just one and a half hour from some of the finest snow skiing in the world, and the outdoor enthusiasts will love the viewing opportunities for deer, elk, bear, mountain lion and other species. Trout fishing at Lake Maloya in Sugarite State Park is only 8 miles away. Famous Vermejo Park Ranch is only 34 miles west of our hotel. While in Raton it is well worth a stop at our new Visitor's Center and Chamber office located one mile north of our Hotel.Come and enjoy the pure Enchantment of our Hotel and our wonderful community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Raton Hotel Raton
Holiday Inn Raton
Raton Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.