We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Last minute circumstances forced a change in hotels but was fortunate tp choose the Best Western in Raton. Obviously they have recently updated and renovated the hotel from top to bottom. Staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful. Slightly high on price, but you get what you pay for. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadine B, Hotel Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the care put into our recent renovations and it always makes us happy to know that the updates have been noticed and enjoyed. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in the area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    70
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
146
94
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at Best Western Raton for one night on our way from Colorado to Oklahoma. Rooms were clean and decorated really nicely! Bathroom was small but clean. We were happy to find that although there is a door to the outside, there is also an interior door that lead to the pool area & the rest of the hotel, so we didn't have to go outside in the rain to eat or go to the pool. Breakfast was great! A lot of choices and hot food. We would stay here again if we are ever in Raton.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadine B, Hotel Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We would be honored to have you as our guest again when you are back in the area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is by far the best of the Best Western Hotels. Lets start with great parking as I was towing a trailer. All rooms have two entrances, one to the inside and one to the outside so you can get directly to your vehicle and also go anywhere in the interior of the hotel from the other door. It was quiet and spacious as well as comfortable and super clean. The have a good restaurant and the Front Desk Staff as well as the bar and Restaurant folks are so helpful you begin to wonder what you did right. I give this place one of my highest ratings and have stayed there twice in the last two month. Now I time my trips so that I can always stay with them when traveling through New Mexico.

Room Tip: I found all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Breaking up the drive from DFW to Colorado, we chose the Best Western Plus-Raton based on tripadvisor reviews. Excellent choice. Our car could be parked right outside our door. Delicious dinner at hotel: tortilla soup, Irish stew, brisket, whipped sweet potatoes, veggies.... all hit the spot after a long drive. Open concept dinning area is very pleasing and we could watch the storms roll in. Sports played on 2 large TVs with low volume. Comfortable, well appointed rooms. Will definitely be back.
Fabulous employees Patrick was both our waiter at dinner and was running the front desk the next morning at 5am. Lynda welcomed us with courtesy and checked us in with total accuracy per our phone requests.
A very satisfying full breakfast buffet was included with our room rate.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having been going to Colorado for yrs and yrs you will soon learn that north of Amarillo the hotels become slim pickins in terms of quality.We drove about 10 hours from Texas and decided to pass Dumas and Dalhart and push on to Raton. We were thrilled to find the Best Western as a wonderful place to stay.It was clean ,quiet , and had a wonderful breakfast the next morning.For our money it was far and away the best choice to stay. I dont think you can go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

After driving 11+ hours on a family road trip we stopped at this hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. Dinner at the restaurant was good and there are ample selections at the free breakfast. The pool is indoors in a large area and the chlorine smell is very strong but you do not smell it in the rooms. Stayed here twice and would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is like an oasis in a back woods setting. More like a luxury resort than a hotel. Great staff, great food, comfy beds. Only drawback is that everything was shades of brown and I don't like brown. A little red here or there would have been great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.