We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Raton
Cody, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I reserved this hotel while eating dinner in Clayton, NM. They only had a couple of King beds left. I reserved one. When we got there a couple of hours later they told us they only had a pet friendly handicap king room left. Was that going to be Okay? I was concerned but husband said we would take it. Inside it was very clean. The floor was tile throughout and there was no bad smells at all. The roll in shower worked great as long as you make sure the curtain in inside of the shower! Nice large HDTV. Very comfortable bed too! Pleased with a good night's sleep. Good buffet breakfast with fresh made waffles or pancakes to order.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    60
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
129
87
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We'd had a very difficult day of travel, with both of our cars breaking down, requiring us to wait by the side of the road for almost 4 hours -- with two kids and a dog! By the time we rolled into town, we were all exhausted and discouraged. To top it off, it was my son's 9th birthday.
When the staff at check in asked about our day, I told them about our travels and they were very understanding and compassionate.
After talking to them, THEY WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND!! We ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant (delicious!) and as we were leaving, the staff came in, carrying a cake and a bag of presents!!! Not only did they bring presents for my son's birthday, but brought a bag of presents for my daughter, too! My husband and I were so overwhelmed and appreciative.
This hotel treated us like family. I would highly recommend this hotel on that fact alone, but can also highly recommend it due to the meticulously clean facilities, delicious food at both dinner and the complimentary breakfast, beautiful pool and facilities.
If you're ever in the area of Raton, NM, I would HIGHLY recommend staying here!
THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart to Kymbra, Bernadine, and all the staff who made our stay the best yet! God bless you all!

Room Tip: We used a room on the outside loop of the hotel, as it was pet friendly. Very quiet, with quick and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is outstanding. The breakfast is one of the best in the nation for the Best Western brand. However, there is NO hot tub. A hotel of this caliber should have a hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very clean and new updated room, staff nice and helpful. Beds comfortable, inside door that opened to patio with pool close by, heated pool. All areas clean, nice gym and laundry services. Full breakfast great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

To find such a comfortable hotel in a small remote community was a pleasant surprise to a couple of tired travelers. Having a full service restaurant and bar on the premises made the experience even better. The staff was courteous and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet even tho our room opened to a large indoor space where the pool was located. Loved the large wooden sculpture in the lobby too. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My daughter and I stayed there the night before her check-in at Philmont Scout Ranch, the same as the year before. This stay was just as impressive as last year's stay. The staff was courteous and helpful. Although we didn't have any of our other meals in the restaurant, we did enjoy the complementary breakfast. Food was good, and there was good selection: scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereals, juices, coffee, bagels, breads, and pastries. When returning later in the summer to take her home, I'll likely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinder, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were going to stay at the Quality Inn next door but it didn't look clean AT ALL. We came to the Best Western and are so satisfied the staff is very friendly!! The only con is that we got here fairly late and the pool closed at 9. Other than this, the hotel is amazing! One of the best hotels I've stayed at in a while that offers a friendly staff like the ones here at Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.