We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Raton, NM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Raton
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Place to stay in Raton, NM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stopped in Raton on our way out of Colorado the first week of June. For many years, we used to stay at the older Best Western Sands across the street. This new Best Western Plus is a fanatastic place to stay. The rooms are large and the beds are superb! The whole area is clean and fresh. The free breakfast was very good and waite staff very friendly. The manager was there to greet and speak with the customers that morning we were there. I will make it a point of reference to now stay there each time heading to Colorado.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    61
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
129
87
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way into Colorado, and are we glad !! This hotel gave us a whole new perspective of Best Western hotels--it's a real centerpiece for the Raton area ! Immaculate and excellent front desk service.Very large and impressive common areas and convention/group meeting facilities as well.Likely nothing like it in this general area.
The price of our very spacious 1st floor King room was most reasonable--and did include a freshly prepared buffet hot breakfast including excellent real scrambled eggs !! All hotel personnel we came in contact with were very professional and seemed genuinely happy in their job, which definitely speaks well for owners/management as well. We did have dinner in the restaurant--really well-prepared barbeque plate and chicken-fried steak--even by Texas standards ! The salad was made with very fresh ingredients, was crisp and cold. A large, full service bar serves almost every beverage you may want--make sure you try the fried pickle spears !
Everything we encountered here was done very well--way above the expectations you may have about a highway hotel/motel location !! Mr Mulligan and his staff are providing a wonderful example of good old American small business ! If you ever find yourself in Raton, do yourself a favor and visit this hotel !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Pizza crust was like cardboard. Salad was with stale croutons and tomato core. Beer was good once I got one from a fresh keg. Best restaurant in town? I don't think so!
We will stay at the motel but the restaurant will not stay on our list. Such a convenient location but such a disappointment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwratongm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
First, thank you for chosing the Best Western PLus Raton Hotel for your stay. Your comments regarding issues you had with the restaurant are appreciated as well. It is always interesting how every person has a different take for menu items and or the preparation or presentation.

For instance, the pizza crust is intentionally made thin, with the toppings also intentionally made thicker than the crust. Our intent is for the toppings to be more of the presentation than a thick crust. A pizza conveyor oven is used to consistently and evenly cook the pizza. Settings for the heat and conveyor time are constantly reviewed to assure a consistent product. It is unfortunate this thin crust pizza was not to your liking.

With the salad, croutons are air dried bread cubes (stale bread). Also, the entire tomato is used, other than the top stem attachment that is left when pulled from the vine. This top stem cap is always removed. When slicing tomatoes for burgers or dicing tomatoes for salads, the entire tomato is used. Apparently a diced piece of the tomato core was too large? We will bring this to the attention of the kitchen staff for refinement.

Finally, kegs go empty and it appears your misfortune to get that final draw from the keg. Glad to hear it was replaced with a fresh draw.

Did you bring your findings to the attention of the server when dining that evening? Whenever comments of this nature are brought to our attention they are logged into a daily report for future reference. We review and refine our operations from these.

Should you ever come through Raton again, please stop in and discuss this expereince with the manager on duty. It is our goal to provide you a more pleasant and gratifying dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was one of the nicest Best Westerns that we've stayed in. Very clean, looks fairly new, location close to the interstate, nice amenities (well equipped room, full hot breakfast, automatic advanced heating/AC unit, indoor atrium and pool, restaurant, bar). I have rated it only 4 stars because the price is significantly higher than other places in Raton and seems high compared to similar places in other smaller towns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwratongm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with the Best Western Plus Raton Hotel, as well as your comments regarding your experience with us.

Regarding the room rates, we have competitively priced our product relative to comparable properties in a 100 mile radius of Raton, offering similar amenities. For instance, the Best Western Plus Raton Hotel is the only lodging property, of the 20 in Raton, with a full service restaurant and bar. Besides an extensive buffet style breakfast included with each room stay, waffles or pancakes are also included with your breakfast, prepared by the kitchen staff. The "Plus" standards required by Best Western provide each guest with exceptional bedding and room amenities and supplies. The courtyard and heated pool area is expansive and nicely accented with grown trees, where one can stretch out and relax after a hard days work or travel. Various size meetings rooms are also available, with catering, for group get togethers

All in all, we believe we have priced the room rates very competitively to other like kind properties in the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Never been to Raton, NM, never heard of it until about a week ago when I needed to drive from Texas to Colorado. I checked all the hotels in Raton as it seemed like a good stopping point. This was ranked the highest with "2.5 stars".

So, you stop and think to yourself, "okay, 2.5 stars, what's this going to be like???" Well, it an extremely clean place, modern looking, large and open, friendly staff throughout, and reasonably priced. AAA rate was $109 plus it included the freshest breakfast we have had in years at a hotel.

The room was decent sized, clean, large bathroom, very comfortable 2 queen beds, and due to time constraints we ate at the restaurant in the hotel. Reasonably priced, quick service, very tasty food (fettucini alfredo w/chicken, cobb salad, etc).

The hotel has a very large area within the hotel that basically represents an outdoor environment without having to be outdoors. There is a large heated pool (we didn't go in) and a gym that looked decent.

Bottom Line: Without a doubt, if I get back to this area, I would certianly not think twice about staying here and for sure, this place is NOT a 2.5 star hotel. It's at least a 3.5 to 4 star!

Room Tip: Stay here and not some motel hell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a really nice Best Western right on the main street leading to town-easy access from Interstate. Very nice rooms and comfortable beds with a good assortment of amenities-frig., microwave, really good shower gel and shampoo, lotion shampoo, etc. Quiet even though our room faced road. Breakfast is very good, and the attendant will make pancakes or waffles if you request-in addition to the buffet. Housekeepers are on the ball and tidy up your room quickly and unobtrusively. While not really inexpensive, this place is cheaper than the other chains in town and easier to deal with. Good management. We didn't try the restaurant at night but will next time we're here.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main complex. Rooms are very quiet so it's fine to get a room facing the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had only stayed in regular Best Westerns before; this property is in the "Plus" group of hotels so it was nicer than the BWs I have stayed in. It's also relatively new so it was very clean. Our room with two queens was very spacious and had better bedding than most of the BWs I have been in. Room had fridge, coffee maker and large flat-screen TV. The amenities included free wireless, business center with free computer use, indoor pool and an on-site restaurant. This was actually the most pleasantly surprising part of the stay. Restaurants in hotels of this caliber are generally pretty bad. I've been in Best Westerns with just stale pastries for breakfast. This restaurant not only had a free hot breakfast (with homemade cinammon rolls to die for - you pay an extra 3 bucks but it's enough for two people), the dinner was quite good. Our party of four picky people was very happy and we actually went back the second night since Raton has very few good restaurants.

The rooms have an entrance on the outside but also on the inside so you have two doors. This proved very handy - you use the outside door to get to your parking spot and the inside to get to the restaurant, lobby, etc. The windows are on the inside (facing the lobby) which was the only thing I thought was strange - why not put them on the outside so you can get some light? It made the room pretty dark even with the lights on.

The rate was higher than a regular BW - around $130 a night for the weekend we were there - but our friend got us a better rate of about $110 because he's a veteran. Depending on the weekend the rates could be as low as $100. You could stay at Motel 6 for less but this is a lot nicer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.