We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank You!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The rooms are clean and the bed was perfect. The restaurant and lounge were also a pleasant surprise. I will stay there everytime the opportuinity arises.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    91
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
182
119
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We travel a lot & this hotel is a gem on an otherwise desolate journey. Rooms are luxurious, comfortable, clean, and quiet. The restaurant and bar are exactly what we need at the end of a long day and they offer a wonderful breakfast to jump start any day.

The FREE breakfast included and offered at this hotel is very good. It's not one of those, like other hotel breakfast buffets, with microwaved eggs... This Best Western serves a HOT and FRESH breakfast that you order off of a menu! They offer an array of choices (FRESH & HOT eggs, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage, and so on) along with the usual bagel, toast, and cereal selections.

One thing we're guaranteed it a good night's sleep coupled with good food. There isn't a better place to stay within a 2.5 hour drive of this hotel. Next time we're here at the end of the month, I'll take some pictures to share.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The staff was very freindly and helpful. They will help make your stay very enjoyable. The facilitys were all clean and serviceable.

Room Tip: Paln early to make sure you get a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed one night, passing through Raton. This is an old Holiday Inn "Holidome" that has been completely refurbished, inside and out. Looks and feels like a new property. Everything was better than expected - completely non-smoking throughout, comfortable beds, good hot breakfast, friendly staff. A desk clerk told me they are sold out every night in the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great bed; spacious room; great pool; restaurant complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here on the way to Colorado a week ago and it was okay. Stopped again on the way home to Texas and couldn't wait to check out. We were put in the separate building outside for pet owners, even though we don't have pets and told there just wasn't anything available inside. I highly doubt that since it was 7:00 o'clock on a Monday evening when we checked in. We were kept awake all night by slamming doors and vehicles in the parking lot, not to mention the a/c doesn't work worth a flip. Got up the next morning and went to the sink to brush my teeth, only to find that there were black ants all over everything. Went to breakfast (which is served from 6:00 - 11:00) at 7:15 and when we ordered sausage were told they were all out. We waited 45 min. to get that awful breakfast which was highlighted with hash browns, aka, leftover frozen french fries that were cut up and when my husband got to the end of his cup of coffee he was pleased to find it full of coffee grounds. When we checked out we had to argue with the clerk to be given a receipt. This place is the pits. Motel 6 would have been better, and a lot cheaper!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwratongm, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
First, we apologize for the poor experience you encountered with your second visit to our Hotel. It’s always unfortunate when you have a pleasant experience the first visit and a poor experience the next. The Hotel was in fact down to its last room when you checked in. We had been sold out for several nights in July, including the night of your stay. We apologize that you did not get the room that you preferred. This is our first year operating the Hotel, which opened as a Best Western Plus on October 29, 2010. Unfortunately, we have no historical operating statistics to trend. This 100% occupancy has put us to the test, requiring us to recognize and address the problems you encountered. There are no excuses! Thank you for your comments. We will use these comments to address changes in various department. We have also contacted the Contractor that performs the monthly pest control to see if he’s ever noted a problem with ants. The room you stayed in has been occupied 25 out of the 28 days in July and this is the first time a comment was made about something like this. We will do our best to ensure that these issues are not repeated and hope you will consider giving our Best Western Plus Hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellston, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We enjoyed our one night stay very much! The BW Plus term must be for the awesome breakfast. We ordered our eggs how we like them and got to chose between pancakes or waffle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.