We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, Great, stay we will diffentely pick the best again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yadkinville, North Carolina
1 review
“WOW, Great, stay we will diffentely pick the best again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The staff was very freindly and helpful. They will help make your stay very enjoyable. The facilitys were all clean and serviceable.

Room Tip: Paln early to make sure you get a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    76
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
157
97
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed one night, passing through Raton. This is an old Holiday Inn "Holidome" that has been completely refurbished, inside and out. Looks and feels like a new property. Everything was better than expected - completely non-smoking throughout, comfortable beds, good hot breakfast, friendly staff. A desk clerk told me they are sold out every night in the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great bed; spacious room; great pool; restaurant complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here on the way to Colorado a week ago and it was okay. Stopped again on the way home to Texas and couldn't wait to check out. We were put in the separate building outside for pet owners, even though we don't have pets and told there just wasn't anything available inside. I highly doubt that since it was 7:00 o'clock on a Monday evening when we checked in. We were kept awake all night by slamming doors and vehicles in the parking lot, not to mention the a/c doesn't work worth a flip. Got up the next morning and went to the sink to brush my teeth, only to find that there were black ants all over everything. Went to breakfast (which is served from 6:00 - 11:00) at 7:15 and when we ordered sausage were told they were all out. We waited 45 min. to get that awful breakfast which was highlighted with hash browns, aka, leftover frozen french fries that were cut up and when my husband got to the end of his cup of coffee he was pleased to find it full of coffee grounds. When we checked out we had to argue with the clerk to be given a receipt. This place is the pits. Motel 6 would have been better, and a lot cheaper!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwratongm, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
First, we apologize for the poor experience you encountered with your second visit to our Hotel. It’s always unfortunate when you have a pleasant experience the first visit and a poor experience the next. The Hotel was in fact down to its last room when you checked in. We had been sold out for several nights in July, including the night of your stay. We apologize that you did not get the room that you preferred. This is our first year operating the Hotel, which opened as a Best Western Plus on October 29, 2010. Unfortunately, we have no historical operating statistics to trend. This 100% occupancy has put us to the test, requiring us to recognize and address the problems you encountered. There are no excuses! Thank you for your comments. We will use these comments to address changes in various department. We have also contacted the Contractor that performs the monthly pest control to see if he’s ever noted a problem with ants. The room you stayed in has been occupied 25 out of the 28 days in July and this is the first time a comment was made about something like this. We will do our best to ensure that these issues are not repeated and hope you will consider giving our Best Western Plus Hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellston, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We enjoyed our one night stay very much! The BW Plus term must be for the awesome breakfast. We ordered our eggs how we like them and got to chose between pancakes or waffle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rooms in separate building are pet friendly with tile floors. We had a ground floor room and could not hear any activity from other rooms. (I hate it when I hear another room's shower run or toilet flush.) A hot breakfast in the morning was included with the room. We had a reasonably priced dinner in the hotel's Mulligan's Restaurant. We spent a second night here when we passed through Raton on our way home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Beautiful hotel rooms and atrium. What a perfect location for the wedding reception. The rock, tile and greenery areas were just beautiful background settings for the reception. From breakfast to dinner, the restaurant offered excellent food and service. Our families stayed for 5 nights, enjoying the pool, exercise room and luxurious rooms. Parking was easy, too. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.