We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Sands to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Other reviews were right on. This place was super clean, very quiet and so reasonably priced. The room smelled nice and fresh. Bathroom was spotless. The room was huge by today's standards. we had two double beds and tons of room to walk around. And, it had two sinks with a big countertop. I have never seen this in any hotel, no matter the price! The breakfast was nice, plenty to eat, and a very clean eating area. If we ever go this way again, we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
25
15
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very large nice room. It was clean and quiet. The bed was really comfortable and nice sheets and pillows. The price was very reasonable. It was the first time we had stayed at this chain and we will again. The staff was welcoming and friendly too. The breakfast was basic continental.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
378 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stopped here while driving from Texas to Colorado. The roads were bad and a lot of hotels were sold out. This one is pet friendly. We slept OK & the room was clean. Wouldn't stay here longer than 1 night though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohocton, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a very nice and clean hotel. Yes, it is an older style as we have found with Americas Best Value Inns, but it was very pleasant and friendly. The price is right, the room was very large and one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. We would stay here again. The parking lot was large enough for our equipment trailer.

Room Tip: Nice clean place for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A good deal for a nice room. I think. I did find one empty packet of peanuts that seemed to have missed the wastebasket about halfway into our evening there but wasn't sure if my husband was responsible for it and forgot to ask. Sheets were clean (love it when they are white), carpet had seen better days but was okay. The door to the room would not shut properly. You had to really lean into it to shut it, but we did get it shut eventually. Decent room amenities for the price -- lotion and in-room coffee as well, and the coffee was a bit stronger than usual which was nice. Also two pillows to a bed. LOTS of hot water, but the bottom of the tub was a bit wobbly, not sure what was going on? The water from the faucet also tasted good (not always the case). The people at the font desk were nice, although the older lady tended to get a bit chatty. Oh, if you're looking to get some work done online, forget it, they have three networks, but the signals on all were very weak and kept kicking us off. Good price though and overall, fit our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Thomas at the front desk was awesome!! Room was clean. Light cont breakfast and in room coffee! Location was good, easy on/off freeways/highways. Many dining choices nearby. Would stay here again if I ever pass through again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went for an overnight trip to Raton, stayed here for the first time. Check in was quick the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was no extra toilet paper rolls available in the room, had to go to main office to ask for some. Also the iron is locked onto the ironing board which makes it a little difficult to iron. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Raton
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#2 of 10 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Address: 300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Sands 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.