We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short night if you need a place to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Sands to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Raton
Colorado
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Fine for a short night if you need a place to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stopped here while driving from Texas to Colorado. The roads were bad and a lot of hotels were sold out. This one is pet friendly. We slept OK & the room was clean. Wouldn't stay here longer than 1 night though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cohocton, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a very nice and clean hotel. Yes, it is an older style as we have found with Americas Best Value Inns, but it was very pleasant and friendly. The price is right, the room was very large and one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. We would stay here again. The parking lot was large enough for our equipment trailer.

Room Tip: Nice clean place for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A good deal for a nice room. I think. I did find one empty packet of peanuts that seemed to have missed the wastebasket about halfway into our evening there but wasn't sure if my husband was responsible for it and forgot to ask. Sheets were clean (love it when they are white), carpet had seen better days but was okay. The door to the room would not shut properly. You had to really lean into it to shut it, but we did get it shut eventually. Decent room amenities for the price -- lotion and in-room coffee as well, and the coffee was a bit stronger than usual which was nice. Also two pillows to a bed. LOTS of hot water, but the bottom of the tub was a bit wobbly, not sure what was going on? The water from the faucet also tasted good (not always the case). The people at the font desk were nice, although the older lady tended to get a bit chatty. Oh, if you're looking to get some work done online, forget it, they have three networks, but the signals on all were very weak and kept kicking us off. Good price though and overall, fit our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Thomas at the front desk was awesome!! Room was clean. Light cont breakfast and in room coffee! Location was good, easy on/off freeways/highways. Many dining choices nearby. Would stay here again if I ever pass through again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went for an overnight trip to Raton, stayed here for the first time. Check in was quick the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was no extra toilet paper rolls available in the room, had to go to main office to ask for some. Also the iron is locked onto the ironing board which makes it a little difficult to iron. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Driving back from Tucson with my 83 year old Dad and 6-year old twins we rented two rooms. A small suite and a regular room with a queen bed. When we arrived we were greeted at the front desk by Thomas who was very friendly and extremely helpful. We got in late so didn't get to use the pool although next time the twins want to make that a goal since the pool looked really nice. The suite was 2 rooms, one with a queen bed and a living room area with a fold out couch and love seat. We all slept very comfortably after a nice dinner at the Sands Restaurant on the property. The beds were comfortable, even for the grand-twins sleeping on the fold out. The one issue I can see is that the A/C is in the living area and the heat control is in the bedroom so for people who might want to shut off the bedroom area it might be difficult to keep the bedroom cool in the summer and the living area warm in the winter. That wasn't an issue for us and we will stay at Americas Best Value Inn Sands on our next trip to that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a couple of friends through Colorado and New Mexico we stayed at Raton's Americas Best Value Sands motel. It was very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and informative and let us look at some rooms before we booked them. Its located next to a great restaurant, the Sands, and in a quiet area but still on the main road. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Address: 300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Sands 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.