We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Sands to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Sands
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went for an overnight trip to Raton, stayed here for the first time. Check in was quick the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was no extra toilet paper rolls available in the room, had to go to main office to ask for some. Also the iron is locked onto the ironing board which makes it a little difficult to iron. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Driving back from Tucson with my 83 year old Dad and 6-year old twins we rented two rooms. A small suite and a regular room with a queen bed. When we arrived we were greeted at the front desk by Thomas who was very friendly and extremely helpful. We got in late so didn't get to use the pool although next time the twins want to make that a goal since the pool looked really nice. The suite was 2 rooms, one with a queen bed and a living room area with a fold out couch and love seat. We all slept very comfortably after a nice dinner at the Sands Restaurant on the property. The beds were comfortable, even for the grand-twins sleeping on the fold out. The one issue I can see is that the A/C is in the living area and the heat control is in the bedroom so for people who might want to shut off the bedroom area it might be difficult to keep the bedroom cool in the summer and the living area warm in the winter. That wasn't an issue for us and we will stay at Americas Best Value Inn Sands on our next trip to that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a couple of friends through Colorado and New Mexico we stayed at Raton's Americas Best Value Sands motel. It was very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and informative and let us look at some rooms before we booked them. Its located next to a great restaurant, the Sands, and in a quiet area but still on the main road. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymon, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just stayed at the America's Best Value Inn Sands at Raton, NM, last week. Only stayed for July 4. (It's a great place to stay to view the community fireworks display from the parking lot too. The show was REMARKABLE!) I've stayed here before several times, and it's my go-to place when I'm in town to hit the Whittington Center. The property seems old, but the rooms are modern. GREAT beds in large rooms. Cable TV is good, and it's quiet too. The on-property restaurant has been recently remodeled too. Room rates are extremely reasonable. Manager Tom is great...conscientious and organized. I like! I'll be back! No reason to stay elsewhere in Raton!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Co
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just completed our 2nd stay at the Sands this year. As I stayed before its a good room at a great price, it's dated but clean and kept up. Besides it reminds me of the motels my family stayed at when I was a kid. Let the wanna be elites stay at the chain places I am happy here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This appears to be an old motel from outside appearance but do not let that fool you. Parking lot needs attention but with all the snow year in and year out it shows its age. Outside building appears to be freshly painted. Rooms are very large and in excellent condition. Nice and clean with comfortable mattresses and fluffy thick new towels. Extra care is taken with the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Co
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

For the money this is the place to stay in Raton. Our room in the luxury wing was large, clean and met all of our expectations. It's location was close to the interstate and central to other highlights if the area. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Sands

Address: 300 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Sands 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.