We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DRAUGHT STRICKEN, WAIT UNTIL ALL LAKES ARE FUNCTIONAL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vermejo Park Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Raton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vermejo Park Ranch
40 Miles W Hwy 555, P.O. Drawer E, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Raton
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“DRAUGHT STRICKEN, WAIT UNTIL ALL LAKES ARE FUNCTIONAL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Vermejo Park Ranch, in years past, has been the ultimate destination for fishermen, wildlife observation, horseback riding, hunting, & relaxation. The food is still exquisite, and the bartenders excellent. I stayed in one of the suites across from the main house, it was fine. The other suites in the area are more plush (fireplaces, etc). The draught, over the last 12 months, has taken quite a toll on almost every facet of the ranch, especially the fishing lakes/ponds.
There were two of the main fishing lakes closed, until further notice. The lakes that were still operational, in their opinion, we very low and crowded. The wind blew, which was not a fault of the resort, but it makes launching in an already low lake more difficult. All my previous trips were absolutley perfect, and I would return in a moment, if the lake levels return to their previous levels. We shot skeet for the first time, and had a blast, very challenging/hard course, especially if the wind is brisk. The staff, every one of them, were top shelf, and treated us like family

Room Tip: For a first time guest, look at the room before moving your luggage. For a group of over 5, go look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermejoParkRanch, Public Relations Manager at Vermejo Park Ranch, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It's so great to have return guests and thank you for the honest feedback. We too have been frustrated by the lack of moisture and with three years of little-to-no snow pack and below average rainfall, the landscape has indeed suffered! I'm sorry for your unfortunate and disappointing June trip.
Vermejo is so pleased (and rather shocked!) to announce that in the last two months, we have received close to 7 inches of rain! It is another world here now! We've experienced flash floods, next-to-over-night abundance of wildflowers and greenery and have even opened up two of our diversions to start filling lakes. Although not to their historic levels, our lakes are alive and thriving! Additionally, the afternoon thunderstorms have been keeping our temperatures slightly cooler than last season, keeping the trout happy and hungry.
Our monsoon seasons are unpredictable. There is no way of knowing if we will experience similar events next season. Please know that we are here to make your stay as successful as possible and on behalf of Vermejo Park Ranch I invite you to return. We so appreciate your multi-season visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Joined our son on his bear hunt. As always we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The food was outstanding this trip and service was excellent. Just to comment on a previous review about the accommodations, the cottages were built on the ranch in the early 1900's. All have been remodeled and renovated to modern standards while keeping true to their original character. We have always appreciated the authenticity of the cottages and find them very comfortable. If you prefer new, then the Costilla lodge is first class.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermejoParkRanch, Public Relations Manager at Vermejo Park Ranch, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Although a bit tardy, Vermejo wants to thank you for your support and positive comments! We are gearing up for another (and earlier!) bear hunt in just a few short days. We look forward to hopefully hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I just completed my 6th stay at Vermejo! The ranch is stunningly beautiful! Ted Turner returned the Ranch to its natural state...no fencing and beautiful grassland meadows filled with wildlife surrounded by stunning mountain views. This trip I saw literally hundreds of cow elk and their calves as well as three gorgeous bull elk in velvet, several eagles, many deer, buffalo, chipmunks and a bear. I go to Vermejo to fish and the fishing opportunities are amazing. There are a number of great fishing lakes both large and small and stream fishing as well. I have always caught fish at Vermejo...usually in excess of a dozen a day. The meals and accomodations are wonderful. You can look forward to five star meals each evening, a wonderful breakfast buffet and lunch either packed to go with you fishing or you can come in for a nice lunch on the patio. Vermejo is a very old lodge full of wonderful history thus the rooms are older but very spacious and comfortable. They are in older homes...very nice. I LOVE staying there!!

Overall, a GREAT place to vacation!!!!!

Room Tip: Casa Minor is my favorite place to stay there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maryland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My first trip to VPR was back in 2008 when I was high bidder for a turkey hunt donated by VPR to the Wild Turkey Federation. Upon arrival I was amazed at the scenery. It is such a beautiful place. On my turkey hunt I took 2 turkeys and spent my afternoon's fishing. In 3 afternoon's of fishing in mid April I caught 66 trout. The food, service, employees, everything, is absolutely amazing. Having had such a wonderful experience I went back to VPR in 2010 and took my 20 year old son. We spent 3 days fishing. Caught some great trout. We saw many black bears, which as luck would have it were all brown colored. We saw tons of buffalo, mule deer and elk. I will return yet again one day. It's a great place. I'm thankful to Mr. Ted Turner for keeping this portion of the west as it once was!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed and fished at Vermejo many times and it keeps getting better. Ted Turner has made this ranch more like a National Park, with elk, buffalo, bear, deer, and we even saw a mountain lion. Fishing is always good and of course the scenery is gorgeous. This trip we stayed in Costilla Lodge for the first time. It was fabulous. The food and service were excellent. After having traveled thruout North Dakota, Montana, and Wyoming, I can still say Vermejo is my favorite of all.

Room Tip: Check with the lodge they will make a special deal for your 1st nite if space is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Unquestionably one of the most incredible scenic ranches in the United States. For an Orvis endorsed property the accommodations are below that of a Holiday Inn Express. If you are an avid big game hunter this is one of the premier places for a trophy. They need to improve the accommodations to market this as a year around property and one that caters to different interests.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermejoParkRanch, Public Relations Manager at Vermejo Park Ranch, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your contribution! You are right- in the past Vermejo Park Ranch (VPR) has operated solely as a hunting and fishing retreat designed for those that were more interested in spending time in our great outdoors than in their rooms, and because of this, forgave our sub-par accommodations. In the last few years VPR has recognized this and are working on upping the anty. Not only have we started renovations on our guest housing, but our programming has taken several new and exciting turns! We still offer hunting and fishing during select seasons but we also have much, much more.
As of 2011, VPR has a winter guest season, Winter Escape, featured at Costilla Lodge in January, February and March. Activities such as snowshoeing, Nordic skiing, ice fishing, cooking courses, and photography tours are offered.
We have many similar programs slotted for the 2014 summer season including photography tours and for the extreme outdoors person, a 4 in 5 tour: hike 4 major NM peaks in 5 days!
Programs like these are all tied into our summer Outdoor Exploration program which focuses on engaging in the historic and natural diversity offered in this part of the U.S.
I can understand your hesitation to return, but should you be seeking something a bit more unique (and with softer towels!), I encourage you to try us on once more. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We didn't really know what to expect when we booked three nights at Vermejo Park Ranch but liked it so much, we stayed an extra night. Most of the guests at this Ted Turner property were there to fish. We were there to enjoy the birds and animals and the awe inspiring views.

We went out every day with a guide, James Reedy, who is the only guide that takes guests who want to bird into the field. We saw bears, coyotes, elk, bison, and were permitted to help catch prairie dogs which are being relocated as part of an effort to revive ferret populations on the ranch. James is a wonderful guide who patiently explained the history and archaeology of the ranch as well as the natural history. He graciously accommodated our request to be our guide on our extra day even though it meant giving up his day off. He is quite passionate about the out of doors and we enjoyed being with him each day.

We also visited with the bison herd manager and the forester which was really a marvelous opportunity for we three easterners to learn alot about animals and plants and ecosystems not in our own back yards.

The chef at Vermejo is marvelous - we looked forward to his dinners each evening which we ate on the veranda. At the evening meal, you fill out a card indicating what you would like to eat for lunch the next day. A bag lunch is prepared and your guide picks it up for you. There are unlimited amounts of treats, water, and snack food available throughout the day.

The rooms are comfortable although in such a setting, we seldom spent any time in them preferring to be out of doors.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vermejo Park Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vermejo Park Ranch

Address: 40 Miles W Hwy 555, P.O. Drawer E, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a high-end Adventure Lodge featuring a variety of activities for outdoor enthusiasts- hiking, wildlife viewing, fishing, and land management tours are the tip of the iceberg. Located 40 miles west of Raton, Vermejo Park Ranch, NM is the ideal blend of modern-day comforts and unspoiled natural beauty. With 100 years of ranch-resort operation, our professional staff can accommodate adventurers of all skill levels.From short grass prairie to alpine tundra the ranch property spans 900 square miles of enchanting Rocky Mountain bliss. Fitting for family or business, couples or friends, we welcome all age groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vermejo Park Ranch Hotel Raton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vermejo Park Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vermejo Park Ranch to your Saves list