We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It's an American Institution"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Denny's
430 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740-2345
(505)445-1386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Raton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
PA
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“"It's an American Institution"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stopped for more than a continental breakfast from a hotel or a McWhatever sandwich while on a long drive. You really can't go wrong with Denny's breakfast since you can find or create any kinda "Slam" you can imagine ... they even had Pancake Puffs! Service and Food Delivery was relaxed but that was okay. Quality was good and what was expected. I would recommend it for breakfast and it was an easy off and on at the interstate exit or on the way to Capulin Volcano NM.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    14
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's a Denny's, not a steakhouse but I thought their pot roast was very good and you can't go wrong with a Denny's breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Would eat there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Busy when we arrived, but was seated and served reasonably quick. Food was pretty good and price was great. Our waitress was courteous and prompt. I would eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were driving 600 miles yesterday and stopped in Raton for lunch. Normally Denny's is pretty quick, without being "fast food" like McDonalds or Wendy's. I think my mistake was ordering the "Endless Chili & Salad". I'm convinced I was being "slow rolled" so I wouldn't have time for a 2nd serving. It took about 45 mins for the waitress to bring us our food. The bowl of chili looked as though it had been sitting under a heat lamp for at least 15 mins, as there was a crust on top! The 2nd bowl was better, but it still took a long time even after asking the waitress a second time for our food! Really, how long does it actually take to dish up a house salad and ladle some chili into a bowl? Overall, I think lunch took about 1 1/4 hours!
I have eaten at this particular Denny's on previous trips, and had good food and fairly quick service. This time I was very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Got in to Raton late in the evening. The options in Raton aren't the greatest, so we chose Denny's which was across the street from our hotel. My husband and son ordered breakfast, and I reluctantly ordered a salad--thinking it was a mistake. To my surprise, my salad was fresh and excellent! In addition, if you are a member of AARP, you get 20% off of your tab--a nice perk! Our server was outstanding--service was worthy of a five star restaurant! We will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.