We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bargain!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Melody Lane Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Bargain!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

Best of the Best Bargain Motels!! Friendly hosts, spotlessly clean room, appeared freshly remodelled & even had fridge & microwave. Comfortable bed & lovely wood ceilings. Highly recommend as one of best bargains we have ever enjoyed in this price range.

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable & bargain priced
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Great budget motel for overnight traveler with car
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
47
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Tx
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

We loved the Budget Host! Wasn't thrilled at first and booked it as was the last motel available in Raton on a busy spring break weekend. Completely satisfied. Bedding was in good shape and beds were comfortable overall. Room was very clean and plenty warm. Parked steps from the door to the room. Steambath built into shower was tons of fun. We told the kids that the motel could be used as a movie set if anyone needed an authentic 1960's / 1970's period motel. That's not to say though that everything is not in top shape and condition. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, WY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

I stayed at this hotel based on reviews from this site and I really enjoyed my stay. There is a steam bath in the room, I didn't use it but my Husband did and he really found it relaxing (he does have a warning not to touch the nozel the steam comes from it gets very hot). The hotel is family run and very quite, I would guess that most of the guests I saw were over 55. The continental breakfast was basic but fresh. If your looking for a clean quite place this is the spot.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

We had a great stay here!

Clean, comfortable, great price.

The hosts were very friendly and accomodating.

There's a nice patch of grass with a double covered swing and a table with four chairs in the courtyard of the building.

It was lovely to sit and watch the sunset over the mountains of Raton while the dog stretched her legs on the grass.

There was no coffee maker in the room, however an endless pot was available in the breakfast room early in the morning - I think it was at 6am.

We have stayed in other motels in Raton, but this one is a keeper and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2004

We travel through this area several times a year and always stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean with amenities you would expect from a moderately priced hotel. What sets this place apart from all others is two things. #1 They allow pets, specifically cats. The first time we went through Raton, we were exhausted and couldn't find a single motel that would accept our cats. Finally, we found this one and have been going there ever since. #2 The people who manage the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. One time we were there right after a terrible wreck had closed the interstate and they had been up until 4 am that morning. Nevertheless, when we pulled in they were cheerful (although tired), and more than willing to help us in any way they could. Oh, and they had a really cute black Cocker Spaniel puppy that I just adored. Please if you are going to stay in Raton, do yourself a favor and go to the Melody Lane Motel - You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Didn't know what to expect from a Budget Host, but this place was great. The bathroom (along with the rest of the room) was exceptionally clean. Room, while dated, was comfortable and unexpected at the price we paid. Our friends paid double what we did at the Holiday Inn Express, and said our room was much cleaner than theirs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, OK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2004

Nice rooms but bathroom had no plugs or outlets. Could use an exhast fan as after showers water condensation fell from the ceiling. Nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Melody Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Address: 136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Raton
#4 Business Hotel in Raton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Melody Lane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Budget Host Melody Lane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Melody Lane Hotel Raton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Melody Lane Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.