We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Melody Lane Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Akron, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed almost a week - very reasonably priced, simple, clean, quiet and some of the best service we've experienced. Connie, in the office, went above and beyond to help us with any request we had - big or small. Even anticipated things we hadn't thought of. We had to cut our stay short due to a family emergency and she refunded our unused portion of our reservation, with no hesitation. Will definitely stay again and will recommend to friends with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    33
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
41
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

my husband and I stayed here on our way home from colo. the room was big clean and quite. the ceilings and 1 wall was done in wood and I loved it for we had just been looking for cabins in colo so it had a cabin feel to it. American owned and very nice lady. We will go back and stay again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arapaho
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and stayed here on our way home from our seven week motorcycle tour and we were well pleased with the property. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The rooms were very quite, didn't even here the people next door leave the next morning. The breakfast was the typical cereal and toast with juice and coffee, the breakfast room was one of the larger ones we saw while on our trip. Would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here en route to a sporting completion in Ft. Collins and liked the place enough I stayed again on the return home. The place is at the north end of downtown in a hard to find location. Most Raton motels are at the south end of town as are most restaurants. The Melody Lane is a boxy looking place with little charm. However the rooms are very spacious. I had lots of room for my sporting gear. The bed was softer than I like and there was no coffee maker. The continental breakfast was muffins, cereal, toast juice and coffee. However, the rooms and breakfast were a good value considering the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a great find thanks to other reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Loved the "retro" interior. We stayed on they way up to Colorado and liked it so much we stayed on the way back. Really enjoyed our visit and will stay again.

Room Tip: Nice retro rooms. Quite comfortable and quiet. Love the "host" dog Lacey who greeted us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I can see why this place gets great reviews: it's a blast from the past type motel, reasonably clean and nicely run at a great price. But there is absolutely NO CHARM to be had here. The exterior looks like a prison exercise yard, at least in the separate annex where we were...in the "last room left," we were told on the phone, though we saw only three more cars total, all night--the place was a ghost town. Front desk clerk was personable and helpful, and with a little futzing with the lights, removing the shiny, creepy bedspread, etc the room became tolerable, with the cozy roar of the little window unit AC (for which one of the two tiny windows in the dark room had been sacrificed). The sloped wooden ceilings are charming. But the thing I couldn't conjure away was the everlasting smell of Old Motel. You know that odor.

If price is your guide, you can't go wrong here. But I woke up many times during the night thinking I'd have paid $$$ more for a breath of fresh air and some higher thread count sheets.

Room Tip: Pack an air purifier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Room was comfortable, and the owner, a wonderful, friendly woman, was rightfully proud of the old time steam bath amenity.. you should definitely try it. Breakfast fine, place was quiet and great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Melody Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Address: 136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Raton
#4 Family Hotel in Raton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Melody Lane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Melody Lane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Melody Lane Hotel Raton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Melody Lane Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.