We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Melody Lane Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Raton
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We picked this motel while on the road, so didn't know what to expect. It was a little off the beaten path, but it was unique, a little rustic and good value for the price. Our room was very large and clean and the steam shower was a special experience. The manager was extremely helpful in directing us to places to eat and providing full instructions on the amenities offered. Microwave and fridge were provided and we needed the fridge for our drinks and snacks. The free Wifi was a little slow. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
39
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angola, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We happened upon this small friendly motel late one night driving from Denver to Phoenix. You have to call them directly to reserve but that turned out to be very easy. The rates were so very low we were suspicious, but we followed the advice or other reviewers and took a chance, and it was excellent. The room was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, and service top notch by the innkeeper, I believe her name was Connie. This not a big fancy place, not at all, not even a little bit, but it felt very safe and it was clean and comfortable. It was late, dark, and bitterly cold. The room warmed up quickly and it was so quiet we got an amazing night's sleep. If you are traveling with kids or on a budget this place is great. If you just want a safe low cost place to stay, this place is great. It isn't gorgeous or new, but it's very comfortable and clean. I would stay there again. I was pretty impressed by how pleasant, clean and comfortable it was. We didn't know a soul in NM and picked this out of the blue as we were tired as we neared Raton, which was to us just a place on the map. It turned out to be a really pleasant experience. LOW rates. Includes a standard cereal, toast, juice and coffee breakfast. Very accommodating and good natured innkeeper, and we probably woke her up on our arrival but she never let on. Don't judge the place by the "old motel" style.

Room Tip: Inside corner by the soda machine. One parks outside the room and it's just a few feet from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very clean, quaint and quiet place to stay that's off the highway. The steam shower is a nice touch after a long day in the car on the way to the mountains. There's no restaurant on the property so you have to drive up the main drag, but Connie will give you some good recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This little motel offered us great service and a comfortable, exceedingly clean room on our stopover from East Texas to Keystone. A no-hassle, welcoming check-in, when we were so tired, was great! Nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Looks like your standard motel from outside but give it a chance. The proprietor was extremely nice and informative. He gave me a room with a steam bath. I was skeptical. After two steams in my little bathroom sauna I was sold. The linens were clean, no stains. The bathroom had obviously been thoroughly scrubbed and was spotless. They take pride in their property, and as a former hotel manager I very much appreciate that. I didn't try breakfast ( I opted for my second sauna in the morning) but I wouldn't be surprised if it was something good. As I said, give this place a try. Total came to 44 dollars with tax. Worth every cent.

Room Tip: Steam room, obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My family was traveling from Western Colorado to Eastern Tennessee for my Father-In Law's funeral. This Motel was such a welcome and wonderful surprise to come across! After comparing many higher priced motels in Raton, I decided the reviews made this one worth a look...The outside may look a tiny bit dated, but this is a great place and adds to the charm! Skip the chain Motels and the higher prices!! The warm greeting right away from Connie was just the beginning. The room is really large for a motel, with lots of room to roam around, the roof is pitched so it really feels spacious! The heater worked great and warmed the room in no time! Then....there's the steam shower!...Oh the steam shower!! My daughter got in and when she came out she said it was like a water park ride! It had wonderful pressure and instant and un-ending hot water. You have to adjust it so the curtain doesn't blow away! :0) Best shower in a motel I've ever had...Really! The beds were very comfortable with a nice assortment of pillows. The cleanliness is top notch...very clean and well cared for!! It's just off the highway (and easy to find) so it's quiet. One of the best "Mom and Pop's" around...When I checked out in the morning, Connie gave me a big hug and gave condolences on my father-In Law's passing. She is such a sweet, wonderful person and that was the icing on the cake. Truly a hidden gem! I'll stay there again and again when we pass through Raton and tell others to do the same!!!

Room Tip: Just choose this motel...bet all the rooms are great! Pull up right to your front door and its easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This motel is a very good deal. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also far enough off the highway so you don't hear the traffic noise from the highway. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay, this is it! Spend a few days and go visit Sugarite Canyon State Park! You won't be sorry you did!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Melody Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Address: 136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Raton
#4 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Melody Lane Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Budget Host Melody Lane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Melody Lane Hotel Raton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Melody Lane Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.