We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Content” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Melody Lane Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Completely Content”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently visited Raton, New Mexico on our way back to Austin, Texas. We were able to stay at your motel while passing through town and had an fantastic experience. Everything from the manager to the rooms, this place is great! Consider this motel for your next stay in Raton, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
47
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've stayed at some very fancy expense account hotels; the service, cleanliness and friendly atmosphere at the Melody Lane surpassed them all. I wish I could have taken that incredible shower home with me. Kudos to Tim for being "The Host With The Most!"

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This year in late May was my third stay in four years. My daughter and I were near the end of a five thousand mile western U.S. trip. This motel is everything a tired traveller could want,clean comfotable and safe (always law enforcement, fish and game officers, and NRA shooters staying overnight , consequently shady characters go elsewhere). Very friendly, good showers, good beds. Next morning there was good coffee, a newspaper to read, and friendly conversation with Tim the manager. Tim obviously takes a lot of pride in doing things right and told me about the incentives he gives his staff to do good work. We drove an extra 100 miles that day to stay at Budget Host in Raton and I highly recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

First off, the staff was excellent. Great personality & very accommodating. Recommended restaurants, advised on the local wildlife & places to visit, etc. Very pet friendly as well. The room was very clean, and the decor took us back a few decades (made me want to grow a beard) but was fun. The old school "Steam bath" in our room was awesome. Assigned parking for each room was also a nice touch - it's great to know that if you leave and come back later you'll still be able to park right in front of your room. The rooms were quiet, no noise from the neighbors in ours. Only drawbacks were limited continental breakfast offerings, and the bed was of the very stiff variety, which may be great for some but not for us. Also, it was difficult to contact the hotel directly, every number I found for it seemed to go to Expedia.

The area is home to several "Dumpster Bears" so be sure to take any food items inside your room with you.

Room Tip: Our room had a steam bath which apparently is not included with every room. Almost all the rooms how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our room was clean and spacious. We had a nice King bed with a shower that could also function as a steam room. It was a little too intense for my husband and I, but it was a fun little feature. He only has a few rooms like that which he gives on first-come-first-serve basis. Otherwise had all the basic necessities you may want: microwave, fridge, large vanity with hair dryer, and clean linens. The owner is very informative and lively with tips. We had difficulty with out GPS and he was able to give us excellent directions. It's not right off the interstate but it is pretty easy to get to from there. It may not look like much on the outside, but the owner has several repeat customers who stay with him during their travels. The breakfast was simple: oatmeal, muffins, bread, coffee, milk, tea, and juice (maybe some others). Not luxury but well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

If our friends hadn't recommended this hotel, we would've driven right past it. It is not a fancy hotel, by any means, but you will be pleasantly surprised once you enter your room. The friendly manager got us set up in a very nice room and the price was unbelievably inexpensive-just make sure you call the hotel directly when booking. The rooms were immaculate and we should know--we stayed there on two different occasions during the same trip. This is definitely an older hotel but the rooms were cleaner than many four star hotels we've stayed in.

Again, you can't beat the price and the fact that the rooms were incredibly clean and it was very quiet. The free continental breakfast was a nice surprise also. We will definitely stay here again. Oh, and I almost forgot, they allow pets for a nominal fee. That was the best part for us. They even have a little grassy area specifically for dogs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My family is from Raton and there are not a lot of wonderful places to stay, but this place is clean, quite and nice- all you really could ask for in a cheap motel. Nothing fancy, but just nice.
Also, there are GREAT steam showers in the rooms that are pretty wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Melody Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Address: 136 Canyon Drive, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Raton
#4 Business Hotel in Raton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Melody Lane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Budget Host Melody Lane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Melody Lane Hotel Raton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Melody Lane Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.