We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price - but don't expect an early check in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1640 Cedar Street, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Raton
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price - but don't expect an early check in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed here one night in early September. I arrived at 2:00 p.m. local time hoping to rest a bit before heading to see family for a wedding reception, but was told that they absolutely do not check in anyone early and that it was a corporate policy. I have never had this happen to me at a hotel before when I have arrived early. I cannot believe that at one hour before the scheduled time that they would not have a room available. When I came back exactly an hour later the clerk indicated that I should "take my time" heading to my room as they were still vacuuming. Since the reception began at 4:00 I didn't dawdle and found my room "finished."
Overall the room was clean and the hotel was in good condition. The room wasn't exceptionally large, but I liked the window seat in the room. Continental breakfast was typical fare of cereal and pastries. Don't expect much more. For the price it was generally a good value, but I was dismayed with the early check in policy. It was also supposed to have free wi-fi, but it did not work at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    32
    10
    13
See reviews for
123
81
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Just got back after spending a night at the hotel. The beds were nice and firm, unlike many other places where one can almost end up on the floor. Though small the room was immaculate. My one complaint was the breakfast. Alot of carbs-danish, bagels, waffles (prepackaged). Ran out of orange juice., Front desk was very helpful. We had a fantastic rate and if going up to Colorado again I'd stay there. The acoustics could be better. We heard a baby crying in another room and sometimes footsteps from the room above.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Spent one nite while traveling at Microtel in Raton. What a pleasant surprise. Hotel appeared new, although I believe recently totally renovated. Exceptional value, good service, quick check in without filling out any paperwork, no check out necessary, good breakfast and very clean. Would highly recommend while traveling located at I-95 intersection Raton to Clayton, NM.

  • Liked — newness , cleanliness, easy checkin/out, readily accessible
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

My wife and I stopped here while passing through town on I-25. The room was reasonably sized and mostly clean. The continental breakfast was decent, except for the all-too-common, individually-wrapped muffins.

  • Liked — Location convenient to I-25
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

An old favorite of ours for a business trip between Dallas and Denver twice a year. This year they have new management and have refurbished all of their bedding - new mattresses, new fluffy pillows and more. This property has a friendly staff and is well maintained. The high speed internet is tops. TV selection very good for the region.Convenient to travel services. The breakfast, though modest, is well stocked and appealing. The breakfast area is kept spotless. The off season internet rate is a bit high, but contact the property. For the non-business traveler this motel is located very close to Capulin National Monument and Sugarite Canyon State Park - both worthy of a short visit.

  • Liked — Convience and cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque,nm
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I called several nights in advance to book our stay, then when i got to the hotle i was told that my comformation number did not exist! after they finally found us a room they then told me that there was no such direct bill set up for my company even though a co worker of mine had already checked in that day...and another co worker stayed the week before. The staff was dis respectful and rude. After all that half way through the week we were told that the reason our keys wouldnt work to our rooms was because they said we hadnt paid for our rooms!!! ughh it was an offel experience and i will be discussing with our boss about changing hotels in this town as soon as i get back from this trip!!!

  • Liked — nothing i was made to feel un welcome.....
  • Disliked — the staff. they are rude,disrespectful, and lazy.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

What a great find.
I booked this hotel because it looked like it was convenient to the interstate. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. This is not your usual Microtel, I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Address: 1640 Cedar Street, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Raton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#4 Family Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Raton Hotel Raton
Microtel Raton
Raton Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.