We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mid-priced hotel you can find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1640 Cedar Street, Raton, NM 87740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Raton
TUCSON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best mid-priced hotel you can find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is the best mid-priced hotel we have ever stayed in.
Beautiful room, spotless.
Friendly staff.
This is the chain to stay in and we will book other micro hotels when we travel.
The owner when out of his way to insure we were happy with everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    109
    32
    10
    13
See reviews for
122
80
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RIO RANCHO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel seems fairly new, rooms are clean and pleasant. The hotel doesn't offer a lot of extras, but that's okay - it's still a fine value. Travelers won't be disappointed. The coffee in the beakfast room was the only thing that wasn't of good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLO WEST
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

AWESOME. The Hotel General Manager Steven and his Hotel Staff were Amazing. the entire stay met our needs as MICROTEL INN and SUITES was our HOSTING HOTEL for our event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Room was clean and easy to cool, restaurants and fast food were with in a reasonable distance from the motel. They allow pets which was a great help to me not having to look for somewhere to put her. The area was quiet and allowed for a wonderful nights sleep. Wifi was non existent but needed sleep not Internet access. They had a nice choice of food for the continental breakfast. Would stay again if traveling through this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_ratonnm, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. I am glad you enjoyed that we are a pet friendly hotel and liked the location. As far as the internet, fortunately, we recently installed a new internet system with 6 new wireless access points, twice as many as before, and changed our internet provider. Unfortunately, when the new system was installed, we were having issues with the firewall. The downfall, during this time, was no access to the internet. This has since been resolved.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Probably would have been better if 1. they hadn't screwed up our reservation (specifically asked for the single queen suite and was charged for that but had to have the reservation changed upon arrival when we found we'd been charged for the suite but got the standard 2-bed room), and 2. they had wifi. Yes, they SAY they do, but now two nights into a 4-night stay and NO WIFI. Have had to drive across the street and sit in the Quality Inn parking lot to get necessary work done which requires wifi or some other form of internet service. Bet they'll still charge me the full rate, though, in spite of the fact that they don't have all the advertised amenities. And when the little desk clerk gets snotty about it, that doesn't help, either. Maybe good for a one-night stay, but I wish I'd reserved elsewhere where advertised amenities were actually available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_ratonnm, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. We value all guest comments and use your feedback to help improve our weaknesses and keep our strong points consistent.
Fortunately, we recently installed a new wireless system with 6 wireless access points, twice as many as we had before. Unfortunately, when the new system was installed, we were having issues with the firewall. This has since been resolved. The downfall, during this time, was no access to the internet. For this I apologize. With our new system in place, connecting to WiFi is no longer an issue.
Last but not least, I do apologize for the confusion on your room. Unfortunately, your room type was overbooked because the internet overbooked the room type at the same time the front desk person booked this room type. In the future, if you book with us directly versus using a 3rd party vendor, you are more likely to receive the room type you request.
We would love to accommodate you again in the future, and have you be able to enjoy our new internet service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has never been updated. The furniture is original, 10 years old. The furniture is old, dirty and stained. The carpet is torn. We stayed for 10 days, as there were no other rooms available in the town for our entire stay. There were no bath towels available when the hotel was full, we were offered a bath mat instead. We were Charged higher than the quoted price upon checkout by manager, yet he said that if the price had been challenged when checking in the employee could have honored the lower price. He, caimed that as manager could not honor the lower the price at checkout. The wi-fi never worked, nor did it work 3 years ago when we last stayed here. Breakfast was never replenished. If 50 scouts ate at 6am, then nothing remained for a later arriving guest.

We were refunded the price difference two days after leaving. This failed to amend the other problems with this hotel! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The staff under the manager were gracious and apologetic for the inadequacies. We have stayed here nearly yearly since this hotel opened. So sad to see it slide and to have the manager be so blasé.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_ratonnm, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. Based on your review , your stay was not up to par nor to the standards we keep for the hotel and for our guest.
Some of the issues you encountered during your stay were in the works of being resolved. The furniture you’re referring to, the desk chairs and luggage benches, were recently purchased but the fabric stains real easily. We are in the process of figuring out a reupholster fabric for these.
As for the towel situation, I apologize. We had recently placed an order on linens which unfortunately got placed on back order because we chose to go with higher quality linen, and was received after your stay.
Finally, we recently switched internet providers and added 6 new wireless access points throughout the hotel, twice as many as before. During this time, we started to have problems with the firewall, which made connecting to the internet trying at times. This has since been fixed.
I welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further. We want every guest to be satisfied with their stay. Please feel free to contact me at 575-445-9100. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and make good on the issues you encountered on your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had never stayed at a Microtel Inn before but got a good price at this one through a Priceline Express Deal. I was extremely happy with the hotel and suite and would definitely stay at Mictrotel again in the future based on my experience here.

When I arrived I had been allocated an ADA room which, according to the friendly girl at reception, always seems to happen for Priceline bookings. She immediately allocated me to a king suite and I could not ave been happier. The place had a homey feeling with several spots places to relax, space to work and all amenities. The Internet connection was good, coffee supplies generous and, even if I had paid full price, I would have considered it good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Address: 1640 Cedar Street, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Raton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#4 Family Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Raton Hotel Raton
Microtel Raton
Raton Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.